Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:08 AM   #1
Bgggvvbbnng
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
PowerBook G4 won't boot up, plz help

Powebook G4 won't boot up. Safe mode doesn't work. Reset pram. Went onto single user mode. At first there was a modification and then I ran it a second time until it said HD was ok. Now what? Still not booting up operating system.
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:16 AM   #2
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
ive seen some rare issues where the hdd prevents the computer from booting. though disconnecting it to test that threoy isnt the easiest thing for a user to do.

what happens if u try and boot from dvd?
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:20 AM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
How far into the boot cycle does the computer get?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:21 AM   #4
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
ive seen some rare issues where the hdd prevents the computer from booting. though disconnecting it to test that threoy isnt the easiest thing for a user to do.

what happens if u try and boot from dvd?
at college so don't have my DVDs. Any chance my hard drive is wiped out?

Btw just ran fsck again, it showed both "the volume Microsoft HD appears to be ok" and "file system was modified"
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:22 AM   #5
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
How far into the boot cycle does the computer get?

Grey screen, apple logo and perpetual turning wheel

is ctrl-V worth doing?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:29 AM   #6
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
When I reboot from single user it has to terminate an "iousbc composite device." Is that normal?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:31 AM   #7
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
sounds like a corrupt OS.

which can either be the OS itself, and just needs a reinstall. or the hdd is dieing, taking the OS with it.

if you somehow have access to another known good operating system (someone else's mac, externall hdd with it installed, etc). connect it up by firewire, boot holding down 'option' and see if it boots up. if it does, check the hdd with somesort of diagnostic tool like tech tool
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:33 AM   #8
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
at college so don't have my DVDs. Any chance my hard drive is wiped out?
If you're worried about your data, you could try going into Target Disk Mode by holding 'T' and then hooking it up to another computer via FireWire.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:34 AM   #9
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
sounds like a corrupt OS.

which can either be the OS itself, and just needs a reinstall. or the hdd is dieing, taking the OS with it.

if you somehow have access to another known good operating system (someone else's mac, externall hdd with it installed, etc). connect it up by firewire, boot holding down 'option' and see if it boots up. if it does, check the hdd with somesort of diagnostic tool like tech tool
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:35 AM   #10
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
It is worth a try nonetheless. Your data is probably still in tact.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:41 AM   #11
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
not necessarily. your computer is still trying to boot from something, evident by the apple logo.so if your hdd is failing, there still some files on it that are reading correctly. if you dont have your files backed up already, any attempt to save as much as you can will be worthwhile

of course, best case senerio is maybe the os has directory errors or some such and just need a archive reinstall
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:42 AM   #12
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
not necessarily. your computer is still trying to boot from something, evident by the apple logo.so if your hdd is failing, there still some files on it that are reading correctly. if you dont have your files backed up already, any attempt to save as much as you can will be worthwhile

of course, best case senerio is maybe the os has directory errors or some such and just need a archive reinstall
Apple store / genius bar will likely or unlikely provide me with the necessary DVDs to do an archive install?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:35 PM   #13
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Update

now it loads past the grey screen to a blue screen and stops there. Mouse arrow is showing. Every 30sec or so, it alternates b/w this screen and a darker blue screen for 1-2sec. Thoughts?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro won't boot.. showing prohibitory sign.. Plz help!!! Abhi021 Mac Basics and Help 9 Apr 8, 2014 04:10 AM
Resolved: PowerBook won't boot with onboard RAM jrsx PowerPC Macs 10 Apr 6, 2014 06:12 PM
PowerBook 140 won't boot Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 16 Jan 17, 2014 10:13 PM
Help with PowerBook G4: It won't boot memo90061 PowerPC Macs 6 May 17, 2013 03:23 PM
PowerBook G4 won't boot max•• PowerPC Macs 4 Nov 7, 2012 03:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC