Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:08 AM   #1
Bgggvvbbnng
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
PowerBook G4 won't boot up, plz help

Powebook G4 won't boot up. Safe mode doesn't work. Reset pram. Went onto single user mode. At first there was a modification and then I ran it a second time until it said HD was ok. Now what? Still not booting up operating system.
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:16 AM   #2
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
ive seen some rare issues where the hdd prevents the computer from booting. though disconnecting it to test that threoy isnt the easiest thing for a user to do.

what happens if u try and boot from dvd?
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:20 AM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
How far into the boot cycle does the computer get?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:21 AM   #4
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
ive seen some rare issues where the hdd prevents the computer from booting. though disconnecting it to test that threoy isnt the easiest thing for a user to do.

what happens if u try and boot from dvd?
at college so don't have my DVDs. Any chance my hard drive is wiped out?

Btw just ran fsck again, it showed both "the volume Microsoft HD appears to be ok" and "file system was modified"
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:22 AM   #5
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
How far into the boot cycle does the computer get?

Grey screen, apple logo and perpetual turning wheel

is ctrl-V worth doing?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:29 AM   #6
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
When I reboot from single user it has to terminate an "iousbc composite device." Is that normal?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:31 AM   #7
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
sounds like a corrupt OS.

which can either be the OS itself, and just needs a reinstall. or the hdd is dieing, taking the OS with it.

if you somehow have access to another known good operating system (someone else's mac, externall hdd with it installed, etc). connect it up by firewire, boot holding down 'option' and see if it boots up. if it does, check the hdd with somesort of diagnostic tool like tech tool
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:33 AM   #8
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
at college so don't have my DVDs. Any chance my hard drive is wiped out?
If you're worried about your data, you could try going into Target Disk Mode by holding 'T' and then hooking it up to another computer via FireWire.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:34 AM   #9
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
sounds like a corrupt OS.

which can either be the OS itself, and just needs a reinstall. or the hdd is dieing, taking the OS with it.

if you somehow have access to another known good operating system (someone else's mac, externall hdd with it installed, etc). connect it up by firewire, boot holding down 'option' and see if it boots up. if it does, check the hdd with somesort of diagnostic tool like tech tool
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:35 AM   #10
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
It is worth a try nonetheless. Your data is probably still in tact.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:41 AM   #11
nebarik
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgggvvbbnng View Post
If hdd is corrupt, then using my laptop in hard drive mode to try to salvage data is probably futile right?
not necessarily. your computer is still trying to boot from something, evident by the apple logo.so if your hdd is failing, there still some files on it that are reading correctly. if you dont have your files backed up already, any attempt to save as much as you can will be worthwhile

of course, best case senerio is maybe the os has directory errors or some such and just need a archive reinstall
nebarik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:42 AM   #12
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebarik View Post
not necessarily. your computer is still trying to boot from something, evident by the apple logo.so if your hdd is failing, there still some files on it that are reading correctly. if you dont have your files backed up already, any attempt to save as much as you can will be worthwhile

of course, best case senerio is maybe the os has directory errors or some such and just need a archive reinstall
Apple store / genius bar will likely or unlikely provide me with the necessary DVDs to do an archive install?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2009, 02:35 PM   #13
Bgggvvbbnng
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Update

now it loads past the grey screen to a blue screen and stops there. Mouse arrow is showing. Every 30sec or so, it alternates b/w this screen and a darker blue screen for 1-2sec. Thoughts?
Bgggvvbbnng is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help! PowerBook G4 Won't start up no sound black screen ninawolf PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 14, 2012 05:53 PM
PowerBook G4 won't boot past grey screen. Help Please. Stephen Dowling PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 17, 2010 10:31 PM
powerbook G4 won't boot up properly micart671 PowerPC Macs 4 Mar 12, 2008 10:11 PM
Powerbook G4 won't start up. Help! dionido PowerPC Macs 7 Sep 3, 2007 10:34 AM
near new Powerbook g4 won't boot jaysmith PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 22, 2006 05:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC