Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 7, 2009, 08:40 AM   #26
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
congrats to SteveMoody for 5 million!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 08:24 AM   #27
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Got #7 spot on the team!

Now it gets much harder, a month and a half at least.

The team is doing great with 230k PPD 
we should maintain our rank at least, but I have a feeling many windows teams have not discovered the bigadv units yet. Rumor is if GPU3 is stable, it might make it to Linux.
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 10:18 AM   #28
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
Got #7 spot on the team!

Now it gets much harder, a month and a half at least.

The team is doing great with 230k PPD 
we should maintain our rank at least, but I have a feeling many windows teams have not discovered the bigadv units yet. Rumor is if GPU3 is stable, it might make it to Linux.
congrats. i sure hope GPU3 makes it linux. that would really get us some more points
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 08:00 PM   #29
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog
Got #7 spot on the team!

Now it gets much harder, a month and a half at least.

The team is doing great with 230k PPD 
we should maintain our rank at least, but I have a feeling many windows teams have not discovered the bigadv units yet. Rumor is if GPU3 is stable, it might make it to Linux.
The higher you get the lonelier you are I'll be there soon enough...

I was thinking bigadv units weren't available on windows, just Mac and linux, maybe I misread that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
congrats. i sure hope GPU3 makes it linux. that would really get us some more points
If gpu3 runs well on linux a lot of people will start getting more points I suspect - like me - I just haven't had time to mess with gpu2 for a while so I hope they get it out soon!!
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 08:04 PM   #30
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
bigadv are not available on windows but many are running virtual machines...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 08:09 PM   #31
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
bigadv are not available on windows but many are running virtual machines...
Aha! I knew it, those widozers breaking the rulz again!
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2009, 09:51 PM   #32
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Well it is not supported, same as running GPU on Linux... Only difference is that they are so many doing so that they figured it out...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 05:03 AM   #33
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
Well it is not supported, same as running GPU on Linux... Only difference is that they are so many doing so that they figured it out...
it's not supported?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 01:30 PM   #34
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
We just had a monster record day, 430k points!

We now average 258k per day, slightly above our current rank.
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 01:33 PM   #35
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
it's not supported?
Not officially. But enough people tried it to make it run nicely.
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 06:12 PM   #36
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by SciFrog View Post
We just had a monster record day, 430k points!

We now average 258k per day, slightly above our current rank.
very nice! we should move into #58 in less than a week hopefully
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 11:48 AM   #37
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
congrats to mc68k for 7 million!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 02:00 PM   #38
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
^ thanks, it's pretty crazy, sometimes i get as much output a day as i would in a month a year ago!
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 06:25 PM   #39
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
It is almost becoming that unless you do bigadv units, why bother...
The top end iMac now gets as much as 7 times the top previous generation iMac...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 07:38 PM   #40
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
^yeah almost seems unfair to ppl that want to compete but dont have access to high end hardware. i guess if you look at it from an aggregate standpoint then low point crunchers make a bit of a diff.

the amount of power sucked from the wall per unit would be WAY less i would imagine. from an environmental standpoint it wouldnt make sense
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 08:57 PM   #41
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68k View Post
^yeah almost seems unfair to ppl that want to compete but dont have access to high end hardware. i guess if you look at it from an aggregate standpoint then low point crunchers make a bit of a diff.

the amount of power sucked from the wall per unit would be WAY less i would imagine. from an environmental standpoint it wouldnt make sense
That's why I dropped the G5 after I saw how little it was doing against the Mac Pro and even the low end amd's, it just wasn't worth it in terms of the electric bill.

And speaking of electric bills... I'm just kind of guessing here but I think folding is costing me about $50 a month
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti

Last edited by lordonuthin; Nov 18, 2009 at 09:02 PM.
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 10:45 PM   #42
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
I'm just kind of guessing here but I think folding is costing me about $50 a month
holy crap dude, thats why i fold at work. since big adv i shut off my 4ghz hackie folder

how many machines do you have running?
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 07:16 AM   #43
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
5 here at home, although the mac pro must use as much power as the four other combined...
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 02:16 PM   #44
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
man i wonder how many watts it runs at full load

http://forums.macnn.com/65/mac-pro-a...upply-wattage/

^ this thread has some diff opinions on the PS wattage, some ppl saying 1KW some saying 1.5KW
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 10:51 PM   #45
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc68k View Post
holy crap dude, thats why i fold at work. since big adv i shut off my 4ghz hackie folder

how many machines do you have running?
8 and I would never be allowed to do any folding at work, even though I work in IT at a large biotech firm...
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 01:01 AM   #46
fobfob
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Folks, I'm trying to run FAH on my i7 iMac. I put in "-bigadv -smp 8 -local " into the 'extra parameters' tab of the Settings app. I've got 8 processes going and it all looks good.

Apart from entering "3446" as the team number, do I need a passkey?
fobfob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 02:08 AM   #47
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
yes get a passkey for bigadv

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/FAQ-passkey
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:32 AM   #48
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by fobfob View Post
Folks, I'm trying to run FAH on my i7 iMac. I put in "-bigadv -smp 8 -local " into the 'extra parameters' tab of the Settings app. I've got 8 processes going and it all looks good.

Apart from entering "3446" as the team number, do I need a passkey?
yes, you need a passkey to get the bonus. and you won't get the bonus until you have 10 units with that passkey.

but please let us know how long it takes to do a frame. i would like to know how that machine does
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 07:45 PM   #49
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yes, you need a passkey to get the bonus. and you won't get the bonus until you have 10 units with that passkey.

but please let us know how long it takes to do a frame. i would like to know how that machine does
That sounds like a great machine that could do better than my new mac pro according to the front page here at MacRumors
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 12:18 AM   #50
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordonuthin View Post
That sounds like a great machine that could do better than my new mac pro according to the front page here at MacRumors
i know. that's why i want to see how it does
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally got my 8 digits OrangeSVTguy Distributed Computing 3 Nov 25, 2013 12:15 AM
Finally I have my 5s Dominicanyor iPhone 7 Oct 29, 2013 06:12 PM
iPad Mini: Finally! AdonisSMU iPad 20 Nov 20, 2012 11:10 PM
FINALLY got the 5 Joewat64 iPhone 6 Sep 22, 2012 12:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC