Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:18 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Vonage Mobile Offers International Calling for iPhone and iPod Touch






VoIP provider Vonage today announced the launch of Vonage Mobile, offering low-cost international calling for the iPhone [App Store, Free], iPod touch [App Store, Free], and BlackBerry. The iPhone application permits calls to be made via Wi-Fi or cellular connection, while the iPod touch application is obviously limited to Wi-Fi calling only.
Quote:
With Vonage Mobile you can call around the world from home, a Wi-Fi hotspot, or while traveling around the country. Vonage Mobile is easy to use. There are no access numbers or new phone numbers to give to friends and family. Simply enter an international number or select a contact from the existing contacts on your iPhone or Blackberry and hit send. Vonage does the rest.

This app will give customers exceptional per-minute rates to any country they want to dial. In the fourth quarter 2009, we will enhance the app to include the popular Vonage World plan that was introduced for home service in August. This enhancement extends the ability to make unlimited calls to over 60 countries for one flat monthly fee to mobile users, giving customers the choice to pick the plan that fits them best.
iPhone users calling international numbers via the Vonage Mobile application on a cellular network are automatically connected to Vonage's network and utilize only domestic airtime minutes on their carrier while paying Vonage's international rates for the calls from a prepaid, automatically refillable account.

Article Link: Vonage Mobile Offers International Calling for iPhone and iPod Touch
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:31 PM   #2
gocardsfan1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Wow that's awesome. I can't believe AT&T allowed Vonage to use their network to make calls. The only problem is that you are still using minutes from your plan with AT&T while you call using Vonage.
gocardsfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:35 PM   #3
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gocardsfan1 View Post
WThe only problem is that you are still using minutes from your plan with AT&T while you call using Vonage.
But it's perfectly understandable, as you are using AT&T's network to make a domestic call to Vonage's servers. If you don't want to use your minutes, you'll have to connect via Wi-Fi.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:40 PM   #4
80s Fan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
OK, so let's say you are an American traveling abroad. How would this work for calls back to the U.S.? Would it even work? And if so, is it the same as described above --- your calls count against your AT&T plan?
80s Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:43 PM   #5
gocardsfan1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCowboy View Post
But it's perfectly understandable, as you are using AT&T's network to make a domestic call to Vonage's servers. If you don't want to use your minutes, you'll have to connect via Wi-Fi.
I agree, it is completely reasonable for it to work that way. It does, however, take away from the usefulness of the Vonage app, because you would still have to pay your plan with AT&T, unless you have wifi access all the time of course.
gocardsfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:52 PM   #6
wallinbl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Why can we have this, but not have Google Voice?
wallinbl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:52 PM   #7
MattWylde
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I've used Vonage in the past and it was HORRIBLE!! They have terrible customer service, the phone calls would often be VERY POOR quality (so much that the calls were unbearable), there were long delays between speaking and hearing what was spoken (enough that you had to wait until the person was done speaking completely before you could even try to respond to them), and the service was not cheap.

I will never ever use Vonage again. RIP-OFF!!

You are much better off using Skype or Google Voice.
MattWylde is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 12:53 PM   #8
somberlaine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
how come Apple didn't reject this app based on the claim that it duplicates the iphone core functions? google voice app would work in the same fashion.


I just set up the account unfortunately there is no way to tie it to my home vonage account. I can understand why someone would get vonage mobile without having a vonage home phone but at least they should give their current customers the option to tie vonage mobile to their home service.
__________________
iMac Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 10.6
8GB iPhone Edge; 16GB 3GS
somberlaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:07 PM   #9
Angelo921
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Does anyone know what the rates are to call to Greece? Landline and cellphone?
Angelo921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:08 PM   #10
countrydweller
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Skype to skype is free, looks like this isn't possible with vonage, is it?
__________________
iPhone 4 32GB
countrydweller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:09 PM   #11
ogxjason15
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by somberlaine View Post
how come Apple didn't reject this app based on the claim that it duplicates the iphone core functions? google voice app would work in the same fashion.


I just set up the account unfortunately there is no way to tie it to my home vonage account. I can understand why someone would get vonage mobile without having a vonage home phone but at least they should give their current customers the option to tie vonage mobile to their home service.
You can tie it with your Home Vonage account. Just sign up using your Home Vonage Phone number. It will make you choose a Pin and it will call your home phone number to confirm. I have already tried this, and all the calls made on my iPhone also shows up on my Vonage Account Management page.
ogxjason15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:24 PM   #12
somberlaine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelo921 View Post
Does anyone know what the rates are to call to Greece? Landline and cellphone?
landlines $0.02
mobile $0.23

under account, you can see rates for every country
__________________
iMac Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 10.6
8GB iPhone Edge; 16GB 3GS
somberlaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:27 PM   #13
gara56
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelo921 View Post
Does anyone know what the rates are to call to Greece? Landline and cellphone?
Go to the VonageMobile site for the rates.
gara56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:28 PM   #14
techiegirl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Is this just for international calls? Would I be able to make US calls for free from my touch?
techiegirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:34 PM   #15
gara56
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by countrydweller View Post
Skype to skype is free, looks like this isn't possible with vonage, is it?
First of all Skype isn't Vonage when it comes to Vonage Mobile. I haven't tried Vonage Mobile yet, but we're talking about making calls to landlines and cellphones--not to another Skype user like you would if on a desktop computer. The only way I know it's free is if you both are logged on the network at the same time and can see each other. The question I have is that if Vonage Mobile allows you to make an international call using the 3G network (like I think it said on the Vonage site, but disputed by people who actually tried)--I would expect Skype to update its existing iphone software to do the same. I just don't see ATT allowing this to happen, because it would allow people to choose a more affortable option to ATT's overpriced rates. ATT is just killing its competition for long distance services.
gara56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:34 PM   #16
somberlaine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogxjason15 View Post
You can tie it with your Home Vonage account. Just sign up using your Home Vonage Phone number. It will make you choose a Pin and it will call your home phone number to confirm. I have already tried this, and all the calls made on my iPhone also shows up on my Vonage Account Management page.


How did you manage that? My first instinct was to use my home account logon information but i got a message saying that i cannot sign in using it and that I must create a new account.
__________________
iMac Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 10.6
8GB iPhone Edge; 16GB 3GS
somberlaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:35 PM   #17
libertyforall
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
So is multi-presence included or an extra cost? I hope there is a BroadVoice app coming soon, or maybe X-Lite free SIP client?! ;-)
libertyforall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:40 PM   #18
gara56
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by techiegirl View Post
Is this just for international calls? Would I be able to make US calls for free from my touch?
If true--this would apply to international calls only. I would see the point of using it for domestic long distance calls especially if you have that free (with your minutes) on most domestic plans anyway.
gara56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:45 PM   #19
ogxjason15
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by somberlaine View Post
How did you manage that? My first instinct was to use my home account logon information but i got a message saying that i cannot sign in using it and that I must create a new account.
You have to create a new login account. Use your Home Vonage Phone number to register instead of your iPhone number. It will ask you to enter a PIN (Enter Anything). It will then call your Home Vonage Number and ask you to enter that PIN.

That's is....it will be linked...

As of now, you can only make Free Calls within the US. It seems like it doesn't use any of your carrier minutes when you use 3GUnrestrictor...someone please confirm.
ogxjason15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 01:48 PM   #20
somberlaine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogxjason15 View Post
You have to create a new login account. Use your Home Vonage Phone number to register instead of your iPhone number. It will ask you to enter a PIN (Enter Anything). It will then call your Home Vonage Number and ask you to enter that PIN.

That's is....it will be linked...

As of now, you can only make Free Calls within the US. It seems like it doesn't use any of your carrier minutes when you use 3GUnrestrictor...someone please confirm.
Thanks!
__________________
iMac Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 10.6
8GB iPhone Edge; 16GB 3GS
somberlaine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 02:20 PM   #21
ogxjason15
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I can confirm that 3GUnrestrictor lets you make calls on the 3G Network without using your carriers minutes!
ogxjason15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 02:21 PM   #22
room237
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Queens, NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallinbl View Post
Why can we have this, but not have Google Voice?
Exactly!! And I'm surprised that VOIP calls can be placed using just a cellular connection. This does essentially the same as Google Voice would, minus the voicemail feature.
room237 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 02:21 PM   #23
elgrecomac
macrumors 65816
 
elgrecomac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Well..

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallinbl View Post
Why can we have this, but not have Google Voice?
I bet Google's attorneys are asking the same question....
elgrecomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 02:38 PM   #24
rld1971
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by somberlaine View Post
how come Apple didn't reject this app based on the claim that it duplicates the iphone core functions? google voice app would work in the same fashion.


I just set up the account unfortunately there is no way to tie it to my home vonage account. I can understand why someone would get vonage mobile without having a vonage home phone but at least they should give their current customers the option to tie vonage mobile to their home service.
I think this will be similar to what iSkoot used to (does?) with Skype: it connects you through the wireless (voice, not data) to the network (i.e. at some point they bridge you over). I.e. you go: wireless (AT&T minutes) -> Vonage number# -> VOIP.

This is good for AT&T and Apple: AT&T minutes are still used; more consumers will be willing to buy the iphone and plans (with data!); it's a no-brainer.

Btw, when abroad (on voice, not wifi)... you will be charged your regular minutes + any roaming charges. Also, hopefully there's an access # in the country where you are (and also I assume that there are no data network charges).

I'm amazed that iSkoot hasn't done it yet! (I used to use it on my Nokia e71).
rld1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2009, 02:59 PM   #25
iphones4evry1
macrumors 65816
 
iphones4evry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California, USA
"iPhone users calling international numbers via the Vonage Mobile application on a cellular network are automatically connected to Vonage's network and utilize only domestic airtime minutes on their carrier while paying Vonage's international rates for the calls from a prepaid, automatically refillable account."
Wow. It looks like some brilliant employee at Vonage came up with a legal work-around. Call Vonage local, and let them do the long-distance. Brilliant.
(I really don't see how this will hurt AT&T's income anyhow. I don't know anyone that uses their cell phone to make international calls; everyone uses calling cards or a landline (or both))


Quote:
Originally Posted by gocardsfan1 View Post
Wow that's awesome. I can't believe AT&T allowed Vonage to use their network to make calls. The only problem is that you are still using minutes from your plan with AT&T while you call using Vonage.
Who cares? I have 4000 rollover minutes every month, 5000 night and weekends, and unlimited mobile-to-mobile. I don't think this will be a problem.
iphones4evry1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
China Mobile offers iPhone ashleyjames389 iPhone 1 Dec 26, 2013 06:17 AM
International Texting on T-Mobile iPhone 5 without International Texting Plan? ET iPhone Home iPhone 7 May 2, 2013 02:26 AM
What do you guys do for international calling/ international roaming erandall38 iPhone 7 Mar 3, 2013 04:31 PM
Best texting/calling app for iPhone/Ipod Touch Mrudich iPod touch 3 Jan 22, 2013 09:56 PM
iPod Touch 5 Giveaway - International AT101ET iPod 0 Jan 3, 2013 12:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC