Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 9, 2009, 12:15 AM   #1
EffDeeEll
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Windows Vista + Boot Camp, Internet not working!

I've installed the drivers, and when I start up in Windows, neither the internet or the wireless pick up.

Using Windows Vista Home Premium.

The little wireless icon in the tray just has the big X, so it's literally picking up nothing. I also can't connect via ethernet.

What do I do? Thanks.
EffDeeEll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2009, 09:17 PM   #2
twerk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I'm having the same problem...
__________________
21.5" Aluminum iMac i3 3.06 GHz, 4GB RAM
15" Aluminum Macbook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4GB RAM
iPad 1G 32GB
iPhone 4
twerk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 05:21 PM   #3
Stridder44
macrumors 68040
 
Stridder44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by EffDeeEll View Post
I've installed the drivers, and when I start up in Windows, neither the internet or the wireless pick up.

Using Windows Vista Home Premium.

The little wireless icon in the tray just has the big X, so it's literally picking up nothing. I also can't connect via ethernet.

What do I do? Thanks.
Sorry, but just to make %100 sure, you installed the Boot Camp drivers off of the Snow Leopard/Leopard DVD?
__________________
iPhone 5
MacBook Pro 2.53GHz/320GB HDD/4GB RAM
iMac G4 800MHz/80GB HDD/512MB RAM
Stridder44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:52 AM   #4
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
There can be all kinds of issues. It depends which version of Bootcamp drivers you use, which machine, which kind of firmware (EFI32 or EFI64) and which kind of Windows (32bit/64-bit).

Most problems lately happen with Bootcamp 3.0 from the SL DVD. For some systems the chipsets do not install properly. You can go to drivers/Intel/chipset and rectify that manually if it is an Intel chipset. If you know your missing device driver from Windows device manager you can find it in most cases manually on the SL DVD. Just don't mix the 32-bit OSs and 64-bit installers.
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2009, 11:04 PM   #5
Frozone
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
I'm having a very similar issue. I need to use MS Access to create a few databases for a CIS class. I'd rather do these at home instead of my school's library, so I figured I'd install the copy of Vista I have laying around.

So, I got it installed, and then installed the drives from the Mac OS X Leopard disk and all seems to be fine until I try to connect to the internet. A big red "X" shows up over the network connection thing in the bottom right corner.

I poked around and tried to "manually" install it, but no luck. (Not that I know exactly what I'm doing...)

Any help would be much appreciated!

I'm on a 13" MacBook Pro that I bought back in July.
Frozone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 05:37 PM   #6
ThePowerOfTheMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Behind your back
Send a message via Skype™ to ThePowerOfTheMac
I have the same problem, except the internet DOES work but is very very slow.
__________________
 iMac (Mid 2007, 2 GHz, 2GB ram),  iMac G3 (Summer 2001, 600Mhz, 640MB Ram), Lenovo IdeaPad S10-2, Samsung Captivate
ThePowerOfTheMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 06:26 PM   #7
ThePowerOfTheMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Behind your back
Send a message via Skype™ to ThePowerOfTheMac
Ok, it is faster now, but it is still slow.
__________________
 iMac (Mid 2007, 2 GHz, 2GB ram),  iMac G3 (Summer 2001, 600Mhz, 640MB Ram), Lenovo IdeaPad S10-2, Samsung Captivate
ThePowerOfTheMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ran Repair Disk on Boot Camp partition and Windows won't boot sneak3 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 May 26, 2014 08:22 AM
Need Working Drivers for Macbook 2,1 running Windows 8 (64-bit) using Boot Camp 5 (Mo z0oinks Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Apr 24, 2014 03:17 PM
6,1 specs for working Windows boot camp installs? jenzjen Mac Pro 6 Jan 25, 2014 03:39 PM
Boot Camp Frustration/HOW to dual boot Mac/Windows calvindsy Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 18 Aug 17, 2013 05:41 PM
Slow WIFI Internet in Windows 7 Boot Camp after Windows Update abercrombie Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Aug 11, 2013 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC