Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2009, 01:02 PM   #1
fouts803
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Apple TV not responding to remote

I just got a used apple tv. It did not come with a remote so I am using one for my macbook. When I start ATV the language choices pop up. When I use my remote the ATV responds with a blink of the white light but will not let me select anything. I synced the remote to the ATV it gave me the appropriate symbol but still nothing.
fouts803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 03:07 PM   #2
fouts803
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Any help?

???????
fouts803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 08:43 PM   #3
johnkountz
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
No idea why your remote is not working, have you verified it works with your Mac?

Maybe power cycle your ATV, then try the pairing sequence again.
You can also press and hold the Menu and Next/Fast-forward buttons for 6 seconds to pair Apple TV and the remote.

When you’ve successfully paired your Apple Remote, Apple TV displays a chainlink () symbol above a picture of a remote in the setting menu. Apple TV now works only with the paired remote.
johnkountz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2009, 09:38 PM   #4
fouts803
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Hi John!

Yeah, it works with my mac!
I have tried everything it seems, unpairing and pairing. I get the symbol that pops up for both! I have powered down and repeated! When I try to use the remote the Atv blinks the white light so it recognizes it but won't do anything. I can bring up the resolution screen but I can't select anything. I can only stare at the select your language screen.
fouts803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2009, 08:50 PM   #5
fouts803
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Angry Aaaarrrrrrrgggghhhhhh

Ok, so I went out and bought a new apple remote today. I still can't get past the select your language screen. So frustrating......... Any other ideas??????
fouts803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2009, 10:13 PM   #6
TimSHB
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkountz View Post
You can also press and hold the Menu and Next/Fast-forward buttons for 6 seconds to pair Apple TV and the remote.
I had a similar problem and, instead of holding next/fast-forward, I held left (rewind). Fixed the issue.
TimSHB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 01:32 PM   #7
cactusgary
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: az
Apple TV not responding to remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by fouts803 View Post
I just got a used apple tv. It did not come with a remote so I am using one for my macbook. When I start ATV the language choices pop up. When I use my remote the ATV responds with a blink of the white light but will not let me select anything. I synced the remote to the ATV it gave me the appropriate symbol but still nothing.
They look the same - but are different functionally - as far as I can see.

My Mac remote will not work with my ATV and vice versa.

You will have to purchase a remote
cactusgary is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2009, 09:36 AM   #8
tom1971
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
This is not a remote problem itself, but rather a problem with the IR driver on your AppleTV.
Most probably it was hacked before and the guy somehow screwed it up.

You basically need to reinstall the firmware on your ATV properly and you should be good to go.
tom1971 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2009, 10:12 AM   #9
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
If you can't force the Apple TV to pair/unlock with the remote, you may have to take it to a local Apple store to have them do a factory software reset on it (something they should be able to do in-store while you wait, though at this time of year you may be in for a long wait...!).
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac • Surface Pro 3 i5 • 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display • iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2009, 10:55 AM   #10
mstrze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Send a message via AIM to mstrze
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
If you can't force the Apple TV to pair/unlock with the remote, you may have to take it to a local Apple store to have them do a factory software reset on it (something they should be able to do in-store while you wait, though at this time of year you may be in for a long wait...!).
You can set an appointment online for your visit before you to the the Apple store so you really won't have to wait. Just register online for an appointment as much as 72 hours into the future, then check in when you get there and you wait maybe 10-15 minutes tops.
mstrze is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way of setting up the remote app without apple tv remote? carlmacdiarmada Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 11, 2014 08:45 AM
Apple TV not Responding! jhonhoang Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Dec 28, 2013 06:07 PM
Apple not responding me? kingapple iPhone 11 Dec 26, 2013 07:06 PM
Apple TV 3 not responding to remote BackTwoMac Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Sep 12, 2013 07:14 AM
Apple TV remote as Wifi remote for other components cray410 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Mar 6, 2013 09:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC