Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2009, 09:22 PM   #101
doccelo
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thanks for the updates. Keep them coming in!
__________________
MacPro 1,1 (2,1) :: (2x) Intel Xeon X5355 SLAEG 2.66GHZ 8M 1333MHZ Quad Core | HIS Radeon 4890 with Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler | OS X Mavericks 10.9
doccelo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 10:44 AM   #102
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
If anyone's looking to pick up the HIS 4890, now would be the time as they're back in stock. They're ridiculously easy to flash for OS X.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 06:43 AM   #103
Trudel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Success! :-)

Hi everyone!

I successfully flashed my new Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB. I followed the instructions from mfka on page 3 of this thread and it worked like a charm.

If there are any other people from germany who would also like to get this card and flash it, here is what I got:

Bought the card here: http://www.mindfactory.de/product_in...DDR5-PCIe.html

I got the cable (only needed one, I already had one from my X1900XT) from a friend who works at the Apple reseller mStore. He said that any mStore would order the cable for you if you ask. It was actually specified as a cable for the nVidia Quadro FX 4500, but it turned out to be exactly same as the one I had from my X1900XT.
mStore:http://www.mstore.de/

Useful specs:
- mac pro 1,1 with OSX 10.6.1
- Model: HD4890 1G GDDR5 PCI-E HDMI/DVI-I/DP
- PN: 288-1E115-D20SA
- SKU: 11150-11-20R
- RoHS: A093800028080

Additional feedback: Before ordering I tried to find out wether the card I wanted to order would have Hynix or Qimonda ram on it. I contacted Sapphire support and sent them the PN and SKU numbers from the retailers website. They replied that they needed the RoHS number to determine this. The RoHS number is printed on the box, so a retailer who has the card in stock should be able to give you the number and you can ask Sapphire support before ordering.
Btw, you don't have to remove the cooling unit to determine the ram manufacturer! I could clearly see the Qimonda-logo on the ram chip on the bottom right of the picture mfka posted.

Many thanks to everyone who contributed to this noble cause , especially Cindori (donation on the way) for his flash-app and Peloche for the working rom!

Last edited by Trudel; Nov 20, 2009 at 08:15 AM.
Trudel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 06:59 AM   #104
mfka
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Congrats Trudel!

As i said before, Sapphire NE seems to be best buy GPU for .
__________________
-
MacPro 2.1, 3 GHz, 10 GB RAM, 80 GB SSD, 4TB RAID0, Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 New Edition
MacBook Pro 6.2, 2.66 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB 7200, Hi Resolution Anti Glare
mfka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 04:15 PM   #105
supercooled
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
If anyone's looking to pick up the HIS 4890, now would be the time as they're back in stock. They're ridiculously easy to flash for OS X.
I'm looking at the Sapphire HD 4890 equipped with HDMI. Did anyone successfully get it to work with the HDMI in terms of say plugging in an HDMI device like a gaming console and using 3rd party software to record the input?

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...id=VDC.243.272

One crucial thing I forgot to ask is; will this work in Windows as well without incident? I'm thinking about picking this card up strictly to play Windows games in native or through CrossOver.

Any cautions against this?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8Ghz | MBP 2.16Ghz | iPhone 8GB
flickr

Last edited by supercooled; Nov 22, 2009 at 04:26 PM.
supercooled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2009, 10:05 PM   #106
kbonnel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In a nice place..
Hi, sorry I am confused. You want to plug in a gaming console into the HDMI of the 4890? Can you do that? I didn't realize some video cards accept input. (that would be kinda cool).

As far as flashing the Sapphire to work in OSX, Yes it works fine. Just a couple of posts up is a success story, and in the larger ultimate there there are a few people (including myself) who are using this adapter.

NOTE: I am not sure if the HDMI port works on the sapphire, as this is not an option in the Apple 4870 video card, which is a major factor in the ROM/Driver for the 4890. It may work in Windows though. (I used my flashed 4890 in Windows all the time to play games, works great!!!)

K

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercooled View Post
I'm looking at the Sapphire HD 4890 equipped with HDMI. Did anyone successfully get it to work with the HDMI in terms of say plugging in an HDMI device like a gaming console and using 3rd party software to record the input?

http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...id=VDC.243.272

One crucial thing I forgot to ask is; will this work in Windows as well without incident? I'm thinking about picking this card up strictly to play Windows games in native or through CrossOver.

Any cautions against this?
kbonnel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 09:37 AM   #107
supercooled
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbonnel View Post
Hi, sorry I am confused. You want to plug in a gaming console into the HDMI of the 4890? Can you do that? I didn't realize some video cards accept input. (that would be kinda cool).

As far as flashing the Sapphire to work in OSX, Yes it works fine. Just a couple of posts up is a success story, and in the larger ultimate there there are a few people (including myself) who are using this adapter.

NOTE: I am not sure if the HDMI port works on the sapphire, as this is not an option in the Apple 4870 video card, which is a major factor in the ROM/Driver for the 4890. It may work in Windows though. (I used my flashed 4890 in Windows all the time to play games, works great!!!)

K
Thanks for the reply. In terms of the HDMI port, is it an outty? So I take it you plug a male to male cable to use an HDMI display like an LCD TV. That would mean this card is capable of 3 displays
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8Ghz | MBP 2.16Ghz | iPhone 8GB
flickr
supercooled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 10:23 AM   #108
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
no, I believe you can only have 2 displays at the same time
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 10:51 AM   #109
kbonnel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: In a nice place..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
no, I believe you can only have 2 displays at the same time
That is my understanding as well, and I believe the HDMI does not work in OSX since the drivers were never setup to use HDMI (Apple's 4870 card only had DVI and MDP, so no HDMI functionality). I assume it works in Windows though.

K
kbonnel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 10:57 AM   #110
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
hdmi = dvi

and dual dvi works in snow leopard
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 10:58 AM   #111
supercooled
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
How come the picture shows two HDMIs and one DVI?

EDIT: I think it's HDMI, Display Port and DVI.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8Ghz | MBP 2.16Ghz | iPhone 8GB
flickr

Last edited by supercooled; Nov 24, 2009 at 11:07 AM.
supercooled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 03:23 PM   #112
djulz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Original Roms

Hi, I have a little problem flashing my sapphire 4890 and did the mistake to loose the original Rom.
HD4890 1GB GDDR5 (21150-00-20R)
PN:288-1E115-00SA / SKU#21150-00 (written on the card)
http://www.sapphireitaly.com/content/view/610/73/

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presenta...000101&pid=219
On the Box its displayed SKU-21150-00-20R
Has anyone backuped this Rom?
Thanx!
djulz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 03:47 PM   #113
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
why that question is pointless:

your card does not work with the roms in the rom pkg (that is meant for that model), hence you probably have some variaton in your card. any rom that people upload will, if they had a succesful flash, not be the original rom of your card.


for the 2nd time, try reflash with original from from pkg and use injector. if it works with the original rom and injector / or windows, you have other issues.
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2009, 01:13 PM   #114
shesmu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ukraine
Successfully flashed HIS 4890 (H489F1GP) on 1st gen Mac Pro, OS 10.6.2.
Exact card specs: http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-435.shtml


Natit didn't work (black screen on OSX startup), so I've used Winflash. Also had to install the QE_CI patch from ATI Flashing Tool. After this everything seems to work fine.

Great thanks to authors!
shesmu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2009, 02:24 PM   #115
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
did you use ati flashing tool 1.2?
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2009, 02:54 PM   #116
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
That looks identical to my card, shesmu. Same box, too. Though I had an NVIDIA card that I could use while flashing the 4890, so I didn't need Natit.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 10:34 AM   #117
shesmu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ukraine
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
did you use ati flashing tool 1.2?
Yes, 1.2.
shesmu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2009, 10:39 PM   #118
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
I have success too!

XFX ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB
Mac Pro (first gen 1,1)

Piece of cake!
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 12:29 AM   #119
supercooled
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I think I've run out of borrowed time. My computer will no longer show any image after it boots. Unbeknownst to me, it started to do this about a month ago but I thought nothing of it because the 2600XT card I got since day 1 never really performed flawlessly but consulting these forums, other people also exhibited similar issues. Well, about a month ago, booting up the machine and getting an image was very touch and go. I changed it from one 16x PCIE to another, thinking it was some mythological voodoo that made my machine temperamental. Today, despite how many times I've hard boot the machine or slot swapping, I get no image whatsoever.

So my question is: if I pick up a new card, am I able to flash it? i.e plug in the new card and edit what needs editing, reboot and voila.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8Ghz | MBP 2.16Ghz | iPhone 8GB
flickr
supercooled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 01:00 AM   #120
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpaz View Post
I have success too!

XFX ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB
Mac Pro (first gen 1,1)

Piece of cake!
Nice! What are you going to do with the 4870?
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 07:15 AM   #121
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
Nice! What are you going to do with the 4870?
I don't know.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2009, 04:26 AM   #122
velaperamo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hi,

Im newbie. I have a mac pro 2x2.8 Quad-Core with 10.5.8 os X and 8800 GT. Id like to put Ati 4890 and buyed this Sapphire (Overclock edition) to flash it. This is a valid/compatible graphic card or not ?

I have only a few days for return this.

Sorry again for my english.
Thanks a lot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0268.JPG
Views:	15
Size:	247.4 KB
ID:	205708   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0269.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	233.0 KB
ID:	205709  
velaperamo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2009, 09:15 PM   #123
chrash
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I posted in the Ultimate 4890 thread, but figured I'd leave a note here as well. I managed to get a Diamond 4890 (model A4890PE51G) working in my Mac Pro (1,1). I've seen one report about it not working, but everything went smoothly for me. The card appears to be a stock ATI reference board. I flashed the card with the HIS image from Cindori's rom collection using my Windows XP bootcamp parition. My understanding is that the HIS rom is from a reference board as well, so I am not anticipating any problems. If someone would like to make a mac modified version of the Diamond rom that I saved a copy of, let me know. Photo of the card/box:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Diamond 4890.png
Views:	19
Size:	437.6 KB
ID:	205954  

Last edited by chrash; Dec 5, 2009 at 10:11 PM.
chrash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2009, 09:16 PM   #124
robmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Xfx Hd 4890 Zsfr

I picked up a XFX Radeon HD 4890 ZSFR today at Best Buy to replace my GTX 285 Mac Edition. The 285 has been a disappointment, and underperforms in OS X.

I'm going to be backing up the ROM in a few minutes and flashing it. I'll write back here after I've got it working (or run into problems). Some others have gotten this card working in another thread, so I'm thinking I should be able to do the same tonight.
robmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2009, 12:11 AM   #125
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by robmac View Post
I picked up a XFX Radeon HD 4890 ZSFR today at Best Buy to replace my GTX 285 Mac Edition. The 285 has been a disappointment, and underperforms in OS X.

I'm going to be backing up the ROM in a few minutes and flashing it. I'll write back here after I've got it working (or run into problems). Some others have gotten this card working in another thread, so I'm thinking I should be able to do the same tonight.
That's the one I had. I got shadow glitches when I played Modern Warfare 2 in Windows Vista. I hope you have good luck with it. I returned mine.
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: ATI Radeon HD Radeon 5770 (any good for gaming?) cluelessguy Mac and PC Games 2 Oct 16, 2013 01:53 PM
Ati Radeon 6950 dtechlogic Mac Pro 6 Jan 21, 2013 03:11 PM
Ati Radeon 5870 upgraded to Ati radeon 6950 dtechlogic Mac Pro 6 Dec 8, 2012 10:20 PM
ATI Radeon HD 4650 in 1,1? GXPvince Mac Pro 0 Sep 3, 2012 10:40 PM
ATI Radeon 9800 XT jbarley PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 16, 2012 03:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC