Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2009, 03:20 AM   #1
PaulAshcroft25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Error Code 9 Iphone 3gs 3.1.2 Restore

I posted another thread but had no joy. I have tried to restore within Itunes and I get error code 9. I have tried it both in recovery mode & DFU. My phone was jailbroken with Blackra1n and I had Winterboard installed. I'm going to take back to Apple store in UK because when out of recovery mode, the iphone keeps trying to boot but doesnt. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE off an alternative or maybe a fix....thanks.
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:13 AM   #2
rcolombari
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulAshcroft25 View Post
I posted another thread but had no joy. I have tried to restore within Itunes and I get error code 9. I have tried it both in recovery mode & DFU. My phone was jailbroken with Blackra1n and I had Winterboard installed. I'm going to take back to Apple store in UK because when out of recovery mode, the iphone keeps trying to boot but doesnt. PLEASE CAN SOMEONE off an alternative or maybe a fix....thanks.
I hardly believe they will support your iPhone due to the jailbreak
rcolombari is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:31 AM   #3
PaulAshcroft25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Yes but how can they tell if it wont switch on?
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:32 AM   #4
johnrs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham - UK
I doubt that he will walk in and say "can you help me with my JB iPhone"

You will just have to hope that they cannot get it working while your there.

Have you tried to restore from another computer. I had a problem with the wife's iphone when I JB with blackra1n and it got stuck at the "USB - iTunes" screen and when I restored it I kept getting an error (sorry I cannot remember which error) Did think 3 times and each time got the same error at the end.

I then tried on another PC and it worked fine

EDIT: while its on the back screen and you plug into your PC does it detect your iphone but you can do nothing with it??

Good luck
johnrs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:38 AM   #5
PaulAshcroft25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Yes my friend I have tried on a Desktop PC Vista & also a Dell Laptop vista with no joy. Ha, obviously I'm not going to say its jailbroken but surelu if I cant get it to switch on and it just reboots to the apple logo in a continious cycle...surely the apple store wont either. Second option is, I have insurance excess is 50 can I just say I have lost it?
And yes it does detech Iphone when in recovery or DFU mode but restore doesnt work. I have tried Several IPSW's aswell and each of them come up with Error 9.
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:41 AM   #6
johnrs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nottingham - UK
I would be inclined to just take it to the apple/phone store you got it from
johnrs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 04:42 AM   #7
PaulAshcroft25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Yes I have Appt. booked for tomorrow, but luckily enough I work just right by the apple store so I'm going to go across on my lunch hour in hope they have a cancellation....God I'm lost without the phone.
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 05:46 AM   #8
rcolombari
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulAshcroft25 View Post
Yes but how can they tell if it wont switch on?
Maybe they will ask you to let there your iPhone (as it is happening to me with my camera problem) and for sure they will somehow access it.
rcolombari is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 05:59 AM   #9
PaulAshcroft25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
***LESSON LEARNT***
I took my phone over on my break, was greeted with a fella in store...luckily enough there was a cancellation so was dealt with promptly. Told him my issue, he inspected it with his little torch thing for water damage etc. Tried to restore using his MAC laptop and he still got the same problem. Problem solved, I have a new Iphone on order and will be in in a couple of days. When I get this, how do I make sure it doesnt happen again. When I install Cydia etc, what do I need to do, I only got Winterboard, downloaded a couple of themes, had a cracked version of Tom/Tom neither of them I believe to be the cause.
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 06:15 AM   #10
rcolombari
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulAshcroft25 View Post
***LESSON LEARNT***
I took my phone over on my break, was greeted with a fella in store...luckily enough there was a cancellation so was dealt with promptly. Told him my issue, he inspected it with his little torch thing for water damage etc. Tried to restore using his MAC laptop and he still got the same problem. Problem solved, I have a new Iphone on order and will be in in a couple of days. When I get this, how do I make sure it doesnt happen again. When I install Cydia etc, what do I need to do, I only got Winterboard, downloaded a couple of themes, had a cracked version of Tom/Tom neither of them I believe to be the cause.
Good
rcolombari is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 06:22 AM   #11
PaulAshcroft25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Very Happy indeed.........was ******** myself incase I was screwed with a ****ed up Iphone ha. So with this new one do you with it will have OTB 3.1.2?
PaulAshcroft25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2009, 12:05 AM   #12
airfrancisco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Same thing happened to me until I changed the size in "root partition size" in PwnageTool and finally it restored. I would suggest changing your partition slightly higher, if there is an option in blackra1n.
airfrancisco is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FIXED] iPhone 3GS stuck in pwned DFU - Restore error 1600 guideo iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Nov 14, 2014 09:12 AM
Help me please! iPhone 4 fails to restore via iTunes, error code -1 goingmad iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Feb 9, 2013 09:59 AM
iPhone: iPhone 3GS itunes can not restore error -1 BDog21 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jan 28, 2013 05:41 AM
iPhone 3GS restore error (-1) amalprasad iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 12 Dec 1, 2012 11:24 PM
iPhone 3GS Stuck in DFU, Error Code 2001 ForumViewer iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Sep 19, 2012 09:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC