Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:01 AM   #1
b16a2t
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
What is possible to build..with 4 G3 and 4 G4 and 1G5 all in great shape?

Well I thought I would throw this out there. Yes I did some searching but not able to find a satisfactory answer. As broad as the question is, I am hoping for a few broad ideas. Like the heading states, what could you build with 9 machines? An array? A pile of junk? I just feel that somehow connecting all the CPUs, mother boards, graphic cards ... 6 zip drives, 2 CDROM cardridges, 8 DVD drives, could make somthing kinda neat. It's been a long night, so Ill check back and try and post pictures, or a more detailed list if anyone finds the topic worth replying to. Thanks for any input and constructive ideas!
b16a2t is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:04 AM   #2
IronFixXxeR
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Send a message via AIM to IronFixXxeR
Interesting idea. The power consumption ratio to processing power would not be ideal I would guess though..
__________________
- 2009 Mac Pro, 2.93 GHz Quad, 8 GB RAM, 2.64 TB, Radeon HD 4870 - Snow Leopard -
- Cosmos 1000, Intel i7 920, 8 GB RAM, 300 GB VelociRaptor, BFG GTX 260 - Windows 7 -
IronFixXxeR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:12 AM   #3
UltraNEO*
macrumors 68040
 
UltraNEO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 近畿日本
Send a message via AIM to UltraNEO*
How about a very small render farm??
You'll probably need some decent networking hardware to make it all work.

... but to be honest I ain't sure it'll be worth your trouble as those machines ain't the fastest cruncher out there.
__________________
i7-3060X @4.9Ghz/RIVE/16Gb/BDRE/GTX580SLI/RAID5/3008WFPx2 | 光
UltraNEO* | follow me
UltraNEO* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:12 AM   #4
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronFixXxeR View Post
The power consumption ratio to processing power would not be ideal I would guess though..
who cares?
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 11:24 AM   #5
Kissaragi
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Id sell them all on ebay and make some money, the worlds slowest render farm wouldnt be much use.
Kissaragi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 12:47 PM   #6
Dr.Pants
macrumors 65816
 
Dr.Pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
A renderfarm would be pretty cool, even if it wasn't the best out there. If you already have all the machines and work with the right software on another machine, just shove it on XGrid and go do the 9-5.
__________________
MacPro 4.1 | Powermac 11.2
Dr.Pants is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 12:51 PM   #7
Pixellated
macrumors 65816
 
Pixellated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dartford, UK
Do headless folding with them all :P
__________________
16GB iPhone 4 S⃣ ; 27" iMac 12GB RAM i5 2.7 GHz; 16GB iPad 2
Pixellated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 12:57 PM   #8
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002


Guess if you keep it running doing headless folding, you can go have a heated couch for those coming winter months.
__________________
On the seat back in front of you, you will find a “Panic Button”
If you press this button, we will ignore you, and work on saving the passengers who can calmly follow directions.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 12:57 PM   #9
leighonigar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
A little network for all your friends to play games on? Things like voyager elite force are fun and would run well. Or warcraft 3. In terms of CPU power those are all pretty obsolete, allowing for overheads you'd be much better off with one or two quad-core hackintoshes/windows systems. If you're just doing it for the experience then I suppose you could play with networking, and running file/webservers, and as the others say, you could fold on them.
leighonigar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 01:17 PM   #10
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Sell them and get a nice Mini for a decent price.

Should be better for rendering, maybe not in pure CPU power, but in terms of better software support.
Even if you want to play a little with networking, a Mini and some VM's will do better and cheaper, especially if you consider the power consumption of 9 PowerPC Macintoshes.

Personally, I would not like to pay the bills for them if they are running 24/7.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 03:07 PM   #11
macinfojunkie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
1. Give them away to someone who does not have a computer
2. Recycle them
3. Sell them - would they be worth the postage?
4. Make a bonfire!
__________________
'09 MP 2.66Ghz Octo/4*1.5Tb/8Gb/HD4870 - 23''ACD - MBP C2D 2.33Ghz - PM G5 dual 2.0Ghz - iPhone 3Gs - AppleTV - AirportEx

Last edited by macinfojunkie; Oct 13, 2009 at 03:14 PM.
macinfojunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 06:46 PM   #12
Dr.Pants
macrumors 65816
 
Dr.Pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Actually, for a question related to setting up a render farm... Let's say there's an Intel machine on XGrid, sending out rendering info to PPC machines. Does XGrid desciminate between machines and OSes, or does it follow Apple's maxim of "Just Work"ing?
__________________
MacPro 4.1 | Powermac 11.2
Dr.Pants is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2009, 07:09 PM   #13
UltraNEO*
macrumors 68040
 
UltraNEO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 近畿日本
Send a message via AIM to UltraNEO*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kissaragi View Post
Id sell them all on ebay and make some money, the worlds slowest render farm wouldnt be much use.
Considering some of those machines would only have a 10/100Mhz LAN, it would be pretty slow. Even with 1Ghz LAN, I don't think it's all that easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Pants View Post
Actually, for a question related to setting up a render farm... Let's say there's an Intel machine on XGrid, sending out rendering info to PPC machines. Does XGrid desciminate between machines and OSes, or does it follow Apple's maxim of "Just Work"ing?
Assumming the OP was to run Leopard on all of those systems and all the networking is done via a fast switch, you'll still need an application that supports XGrid and there ain't that many to be honest plus different applications requires a slightly different set up.

I know Maya Unlimited, Shake, Compressor and Mental Ray does and maybe Motion as well but that's your lot (i think). Oh, Adobe's After Effects does support Xgrid but you need to install Adobe's own engine there plus it needs a central server for it's data..

In case anyone is wondering, FCP doesn't.
The other option is to use them to crunch/compiling code.
__________________
i7-3060X @4.9Ghz/RIVE/16Gb/BDRE/GTX580SLI/RAID5/3008WFPx2 | 光
UltraNEO* | follow me
UltraNEO* is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I restore OS X to it's pristine shape? comics addict Mac Basics and Help 5 Sep 8, 2013 11:12 AM
Safari in iOS 7: great ideas but not great execution. iphnhelp iOS 7 43 Jul 15, 2013 01:46 PM
Getting in shape ghall Community Discussion 58 Jul 5, 2012 12:17 PM
WWDC 2012 Banners: "Where great ideas go on to do great things." MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 236 Jun 8, 2012 01:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC