Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:32 PM   #1
BigWilly1231
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Help with what to do with a G5?

First post but I have been reading the forum for a while. I have a question. I just bought a Mac Pro and currently have no need for my dual 2.0 G5. It still works (sorta). It would power up then shutdown but if I cleaned the permissions it would work again. Im sure you know the routine.

The question I have is what should I do with the old machine, I mean how much is it worth if I sold it with No Hard Drive. I used the hard drive as a 3rd Hard Drive in my new Mac Pro

I know the machine works because I used it every day. I just needed an upgrade.

Any suggestions would be very helpful.
BigWilly1231 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:50 PM   #2
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Try the mac2sell.net website.
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:51 PM   #3
Dr.Pants
macrumors 65816
 
Dr.Pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
You can sell it, part it out, keep it for a redundant workstation, backup, or use it for a low-performance rendering machine.
__________________
MacPro 4.1 | Powermac 11.2
Dr.Pants is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 06:58 PM   #4
senseless
macrumors 65816
 
senseless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
It will still run OS9, for applications that won't run under 10.
senseless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 07:06 PM   #5
Scippy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere
You could always turn your G5 into a Media Center or something.
Scippy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2009, 09:52 PM   #6
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by senseless View Post
It will still run OS9, for applications that won't run under 10.
Well, it'll run Classic, not OS 9. If a G5 could boot OS 9 I'd buy one to replace my Cube.
goMac is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:39 AM   #7
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scippy View Post
You could always turn your G5 into a Media Center or something.
I don't recommend that.
The G5 makes to much noise, uses lots of power and is not capable of running Full HD content which doesn't make it a good HTPC.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:55 AM   #8
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
i was going to recommend a closet file server. but as its not stable i wouldnt recommend it.

i was also thinking of selling it or giving it to charity, but again as above. sell the working parts.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, GA-Z87X-UD4, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 5 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 06:59 AM   #9
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by richthomas View Post
i was going to recommend a closet file server. but as its not stable i wouldnt recommend it.
Why do you think that it's not stable?
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 07:22 AM   #10
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
cause he said it would turn off after powering up.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, GA-Z87X-UD4, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 5 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2009, 08:30 AM   #11
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Oh I missed that, sorry.

In case that the G5 still runs without issues, it would make a very good fileserver, even though it needs a lot power.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC