Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2009, 07:44 PM   #1
NATO
macrumors 68000
 
NATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
iMac 27" SSD Upgrade - Important Tip!

For anyone interested in upgrading their new 27" iMac with an SSD drive, it's a fairly painless process, I found it to be a little easier than the previous 24" iMac (refer to the teardown guide at ifixit.com if you're interested in the process of taking it apart).

I installed my SSD drive but noticed that when I was installing Snow Leopard the system fans seemed to be running very high. I discovered the 'HDD Fan' was ramped up to over 3200RPM. Remembering back to installing the SSD drive, there is a connector connected to the jumper block of the original hard drive (in addition to the SATA and Power cables). I traced this wire back to the motherboard and discovered that it is marked as 'HDD Temp'. I'm not quite sure how Apple gets a hard drive temperature from the jumper block of the hard drive but after shorting the two terminals of this connector with a little piece of wire the fans behave normally.

So just a tip for anyone else who might be considering installing an SSD drive...
__________________
Genius is perseverance in disguise
NATO is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 07:57 PM   #2
C64
macrumors 6502a
 
C64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by NATO View Post
I'm not quite sure how Apple gets a hard drive temperature from the jumper block of the hard drive but after shorting the two terminals of this connector with a little piece of wire the fans behave normally.
That sounds like a scary thing to do to a (new) Mac. Is that safe? And what if you wanted to put the original SATA drive back?

But congrats on the SSD . Must be running amazingly fast now, no?
C64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 08:04 PM   #3
NATO
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Based on the way the connector was just connecting on to two jumper pins on the hard drive, I figured there wasn't really inherently unsafe in giving that a go. It's a sensor wire rather than something carrying any significant current so I figured it would be ok

If you wanted to put your original hard drive back in it's the same process as before, there's nothing to show that you've had the computer opened up so for warranty purposes etc it's fine.

The system is very fast, I'm totally sold on SSD drives these days (along with a suitable external HDD for stuff like movies etc which you don't necessarily need to have on the SSD).

In retrospect I should probably have turned the computer on first when I took it out of the box to make sure it worked before cracking it open
__________________
Genius is perseverance in disguise
NATO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 08:17 PM   #4
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by NATO View Post

In retrospect I should probably have turned the computer on first when I took it out of the box to make sure it worked before cracking it open
Well since it works, yes, but you should always turn it on as it comes and make sure it is ok.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 08:58 PM   #5
zeigerpuppy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
now the next question...
will a SATA port multiplier allow putting 2xSSD in software RAID in the iMAC

This is likely to max out the SATA throughput , perhaps doubling up the drives by replacing the optical drive (as suggested by ifixit) is better

or... if there is room:

SATA 0 - SSD
SATA 1 -> multipler -> Optical + SSD

This would load balance a lot nicer....

Anyone know more about port multiploers and whether they would work??

I am thinking there would be no reason at all to get a MP Quad for me if this is the case... (esp 'cos the iMac even has socketed CPU and GPU)
zeigerpuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 09:20 PM   #6
darrellishere
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
This is all very interesting! Keep it coming!
darrellishere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2009, 10:32 PM   #7
Inno
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
What brand of SSD was it, and how does it feel compared to the HD your replaced.

SSD's should feel a real pop, are you feeling that pop-pop-pop?
Inno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 09:18 AM   #8
Mac Fly (film)
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ireland
No!!! :(

I cried tears of pain when I read your post, as I don't have a clue what it means. For now I have the pervious 24" and I really really really want to put an SSD in it.

My MacBook Air with its SSD does most common tasks faster than my iMac.
__________________
Yes, I'm getting one.
Mac Fly (film) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 10:02 AM   #9
zeigerpuppy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I haven't done this yet, so take it with a grain of salt....

iMacs are not that hard to upgrade, it's just that you have to take a little time to be careful and have a decent work space and tools.

1) read the ifixit teardown for your model,
eg: http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/iMac-...27-Inch/1236/2
2) get a set of torx screwdriver heads and suction cups from your local electronics store
3) unscrew here, lift glass there, unplug lcd panel cable before pulling up there... (RTFTeardown)

4) unscrew old HDD and insert SSD

Done...

The process may be a little more complicated for CPU and GPU and one needs to consider heat dissipation (and sensors) but there is very little chance of causing problems as long as you don't yank cables out of sockets and and stick with parts that someone else has already found to be compatible...
zeigerpuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 12:04 PM   #10
NATO
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
I put an OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD drive in my iMac, it was picked up straight away by the OS X installer disc.

I would agree with zeigerpuppy, iMacs aren't that hard to upgrade so long as you're careful, slow and methodical (carefully organising the screws you remove so they go back in the right place etc).

And yeah, the iMac is a totally different beast with an SSD - start-up times are practically non-existent, application launching is instantaneous. Very impressive stuff, I wouldn't go back to a traditional HDD for a boot volume ever again.
__________________
Genius is perseverance in disguise
NATO is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 12:17 PM   #11
Zach Schible
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Just wondering. Is it possible to remove the Optical drive on the new iMac and replace that with an SSD. For me this would be great since I can't remember the last time I used a CD/DVD.

Also if this is possible would anyone know if the performance would be worth it?

Thanks & and congrats on you new setup.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 2.93 GHz, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD
15" MBP, 2.0 GHz, 2GB RAM, 320 GB HD
Nikon D90, Nikon D50, Sigma 30mm 1.4 | Nikon 18-55VR, SB-800
ZTS Photography: Life In Focus | www.ztsphotography.com
Zach Schible is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 01:08 PM   #12
zeigerpuppy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
yes, replacing the optical drive is quite easy, especially with this:

http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/12...sure/IF107-081
zeigerpuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 03:43 PM   #13
OldCorpse
macrumors 65816
 
OldCorpse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: compost heap
Fascinating thread - thank you OP for starting it! My biggest objection to the new iMacs, apart from a lack of matte option, was a lack of an SSD option and no easy access to the HDD for the user.

I have been toying with the idea of installing an SSD in the new 27" quad. I'm glad people are doing it, so I can see what experience they're having. I'm still worried by a host of issues - TRIM, what size SSD, and the weird shorting of wires the OP mentioned... hmm, maybe iFixit will have a guide at some point!

Keep it coming folks, anyone else? I'm glad it seems easier to open up this iMac than the previous version.
__________________
OldCorpse
quietly rotting
OldCorpse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 04:23 PM   #14
arjen92
macrumors 65816
 
arjen92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Below sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCorpse View Post
Fascinating thread - thank you OP for starting it! My biggest objection to the new iMacs, apart from a lack of matte option, was a lack of an SSD option and no easy access to the HDD for the user.

I have been toying with the idea of installing an SSD in the new 27" quad. I'm glad people are doing it, so I can see what experience they're having. I'm still worried by a host of issues - TRIM, what size SSD, and the weird shorting of wires the OP mentioned... hmm, maybe iFixit will have a guide at some point!

Keep it coming folks, anyone else? I'm glad it seems easier to open up this iMac than the previous version.
Well, I believe once you removed the glass from the iMac the screen is matte .
__________________
i7, 16GB RAM, 4TB RAID, GTX660 | Macbook Pro 2010
arjen92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 08:58 PM   #15
zeigerpuppy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Just had another thought,
the iMac has a mini-PCIe port for the wireless card.
This can also be used for storage with a mini-PCIe to SATA adapter or directly with mini-PCIe SSD cards.
No sure if the speed will be any good.

http://www.sourcingmap.com/mini-pcie...l?currency=GBP

-- update
these drives are fairly common for netbooks, apparently get up to 100MB/sec read/write
http://www.cdfreaks.com/hardware/pro...SSD-128GB.html

not sure if the imac will boot from this drive??

Last edited by zeigerpuppy; Oct 24, 2009 at 09:23 PM.
zeigerpuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 09:00 PM   #16
amd4me
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Send a message via MSN to amd4me
Thats a really great tip. Thank you very much!
amd4me is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2009, 09:15 PM   #17
Rudy69
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I would upgrade to an SSD drive if it didn't involve removing the glass etc. If I could somehow open it from the back I'd consider it...
Rudy69 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 12:45 AM   #18
Ice Dragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
This does look slightly difficult though then again I am very new at it. Considering the HDDs shipped are only 7,200 rpm, upgrading to 1 or even 2 SSDs seems worth it.
Ice Dragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 07:39 AM   #19
pixelbart
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Zwolle, the Netherlands
I'm a bit disappointed with the fact that there still isn't an SSD option for the iMac. I'd love to have an iMac with an 80GB SSD for OS+Apps and a cool, silent and large (like, Samsung EcoGreen) HDD for /Users. Maybe even with half of the SSD configured to automagically mirror often-used data from the HDD. It would need some changes in OS X, but could work really fast without sacrificing storage space.

With the current iMac, the HDD is by *far* the slowest part of the system.

(btw, how fast is an SSD connected to FireWire 800? Is booting from FW still possible?)
pixelbart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 08:57 AM   #20
macchiato2009
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
opening a new imac by removing the glass really scares me

in addition to all the wires behind the panel itself...

if only there was absolutely 0 risk, i would do it...


do you think that a CMAA would do it if we pay for HDD replacement ?
macchiato2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:23 AM   #21
NATO
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjen92 View Post
Well, I believe once you removed the glass from the iMac the screen is matte .
The LCD panel behind the glass is a glossy panel, very much like the glossy screens on the MacBook Pro before the new glass-fronted MacBook Pros were released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelbart View Post
I'm a bit disappointed with the fact that there still isn't an SSD option for the iMac
I agree, although unlike HDDs which have similar performance between manufacturers, SSDs are a bit of a mixed bag - performance differs wildly between manufacturers and even models made by the same manufacturer. While Apple could theoretically provide a SSD option for the iMac, it seems the fact the iMac uses a 3.5" drive rather than a 2.5" drive, Apple don't seem to think it worth their while to design a suitable bracket for holding the smaller 2.5" drive in place (I used a standard 2.5"-->3.5" bracket myself). Even if Apple did offer it, it would likely be far more expensive than buying it 3rd party, and you wouldn't know what model you were getting and it mightn't be a good performer compared to the likes of the Intel X25 or OCZ Vertex SSDs

Another side benefit of the SSD in an iMac is that you don't have any audible noise coming from the machine. I do have an external HDD connected for storing media and other less frequently accessed files, but it only spins up when required and is off to one side. It's quite nice to have a computer that is absolutely silent!
__________________
Genius is perseverance in disguise

Last edited by NATO; Oct 25, 2009 at 09:28 AM.
NATO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:33 AM   #22
macchiato2009
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
what kind of 3.5" enclosure did you use to install the ssd ?
macchiato2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:47 AM   #23
Inno
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by NATO View Post
The LCD panel behind the glass is a glossy panel, very much like the glossy screens on the MacBook Pro before the new glass-fronted MacBook Pros were released.



I agree, although unlike HDDs which have similar performance between manufacturers, SSDs are a bit of a mixed bag - performance differs wildly between manufacturers and even models made by the same manufacturer. While Apple could theoretically provide a SSD option for the iMac, it seems the fact the iMac uses a 3.5" drive rather than a 2.5" drive, Apple don't seem to think it worth their while to design a suitable bracket for holding the smaller 2.5" drive in place (I used a standard 2.5"-->3.5" bracket myself). Even if Apple did offer it, it would likely be far more expensive than buying it 3rd party, and you wouldn't know what model you were getting and it mightn't be a good performer compared to the likes of the Intel X25 or OCZ Vertex SSDs

Another side benefit of the SSD in an iMac is that you don't have any audible noise coming from the machine. I do have an external HDD connected for storing media and other less frequently accessed files, but it only spins up when required and is off to one side. It's quite nice to have a computer that is absolutely silent!
When SSD's that perform like Intel/OCZ are cheaper and larger next year, or the year after or whenever, that is going to be a wicked stock iMac when they come with one by default.
Inno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 11:13 AM   #24
NATO
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
NATO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by macchiato2009 View Post
what kind of 3.5" enclosure did you use to install the ssd ?
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=37602

I used one of these. You need to mount the adapter bracket in such a way so that the connectors are in approximately the same place as the original hard drive (the SATA and power cables are just long enough to reach that area).
__________________
Genius is perseverance in disguise
NATO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 12:05 PM   #25
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Schible View Post
For me this would be great since I can't remember the last time I used a CD/DVD.
Especially since its not Blu-ray.
It wouldn't be too difficult to find an external USB case for it either.

What would really kick azz is if they offered an SSD option like the xServe where it doesn't displace the stock drive.

Yet another option, for those that use an external sound system like me, is to put an SSD in place of one of the speaker assemblies.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "Quick and Dirty" iMac 27 Inch SSD Upgrade ppayne iMac 3 Mar 23, 2013 11:07 AM
SSD upgrade for 2012 27" iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 5 Jan 9, 2013 11:07 PM
iMac 24" hdd to ssd upgrade SpecialKBerries iMac 4 Oct 2, 2012 04:55 PM
RAM or SSD upgrade more important in rMBP for uni?? wwe2008 Buying Tips and Advice 5 Aug 28, 2012 04:27 PM
iMac 21.5" 2009 upgrade to SSD FoxMcCloud iMac 16 Jun 25, 2012 07:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC