Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:30 AM   #1
johnnyfox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Will my old 24" imac memory work in the new 27" imac?

Hi guys - can anyone help me please? My old 24" iMac died on me (kernel panic and probable hardware failure). I am getting the new 27" iMac (I guess the i5 quad, as I use Aperture a lot).

I have 2 memory sticks (1GB and 2GB) from the old 24" which I want to use in the new 27", to increase the memory from 4GB to 7GB.

However, the old memory sticks are 667 speed (Kingston KVR667D2S5) - will they work together with the 1066 mhz ddr3 sdram in the new macs? As there are 4 slots, there is space, but does the memory have to be the same speed? Will it slow it down?

If I cannot use it, I will probably give it to a friend with an old imac - but maybe there is some use I can get out of the broken machine.

Thanks!
JF

Last edited by johnnyfox; Oct 25, 2009 at 09:38 AM. Reason: typos and spelling
johnnyfox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:34 AM   #2
rfrankl
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Nope.
rfrankl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:43 AM   #3
johnnyfox
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Any reason it won't work - is it because the slots are physically different, or because the speed is different?
johnnyfox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2009, 09:45 AM   #4
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyfox View Post
Any reason it won't work - is it because the slots are physically different, or because the speed is different?
The speed and the slots are different. The 667Mhz RAM is DDR2 and the new iMac uses DDR3.
belvdr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know of a video for a DIY SSD install in the new 27" iMacs? wangkom iMac 2 May 17, 2011 11:50 AM
27" iMac Arriving Today! [Update] It's Perfect - Photos Inside! Locker iMac 12 Nov 24, 2010 05:35 PM
Which is faster My Quad 2.5 Ghz G5 or the new 27" imac? Little Endian PowerPC Macs 7 Nov 3, 2009 01:46 AM
Will This Video Card By Nvidia Work In The New MacPro's? monogee Mac Pro 7 Mar 14, 2009 10:45 PM
Will my old powerbook ram (g4) work in my friends IBM thinkpad? debo Macintosh Computers 1 Jan 20, 2005 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC