Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 26, 2009, 03:34 PM   #1
Nomadski
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Airport Extreme issues on Windows 7

Ive just bought Windows 7 primarily because I couldnt ever find my Photosmart c6280 printer in Vista, but Windows 7 wont even find my airport extreme router!

Ive downloaded the latest Airport Utility 5.4.2 but it just comes up with Utility being unable to find any Apple Wireless Device. I notice the Utility was last updated in June so dunno if that has something to do with it.

I know this is a Mac forum, but ive posted in various forums with no reply, and I have a feeling it is a Apple software issue, but I know I could be wide of the mark.

My PC is online fine, and W7 sees the printer when I click on the network map, just wont find it, or the apple device, when searching for devices / using Airport utility.

Anyone have any ideas what to check, its a brand new install of W7 Pro on a clean HD.

Thanks in advance
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 05:18 AM   #2
chandru29v
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Response

Try downloading AirPort Utility 5.5.1 for Windows from http://support.apple.com/kb/dl954
chandru29v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2010, 05:30 PM   #3
kevgrieca
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
airport utility 5.5.1

I have a laptop with windows xp and two desktops (one with xp and one with windows 7). If i install airport utility 5.5.1 on my xp desktop, will my windows 7 computer and windows xp computers both work with my airport extreme?

Thanks for your help.
kevgrieca is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 01:38 AM   #4
plaintiger
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevgrieca View Post
I have a laptop with windows xp and two desktops (one with xp and one with windows 7). If i install airport utility 5.5.1 on my xp desktop, will my windows 7 computer and windows xp computers both work with my airport extreme?

Thanks for your help.
in case you still need an answer to this (i hope you don't, but one never knows), the version of Airport Utility you have installed - or, for that matter, whether you have it installed at all - won't affect your ability to connect one way or another. your ability to connect relies on your network adapter(s) and their drivers; all Airport Utility does is allow you to change your Airport base stations' settings from your computer.
__________________
there are three kinds of people: those who can count, and those who can't.
plaintiger is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Create a Windows 7 install disk" winks360 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 19 Aug 22, 2012 03:47 PM
Run Airport Extreme on 5 GHz, and Airport Express on 2.4? williamsonrg Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 29, 2011 09:05 PM
Blue screen issue on Windows 7 PCs when iMac on network extemprod iMac 0 Jan 24, 2011 06:05 AM
Airport Extreme/Hard Drive - Disconnect Issue eurobass Mac Peripherals 2 Dec 25, 2010 08:20 AM
Airport Extreme HD on Windows DJAKO Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 16, 2009 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC