Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2009, 11:32 PM   #1
BCulp543
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
iMac G5 problems powering up.

Here are the specs for my particular iMac:

http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/app...tag=mncol;psum

Now, here is my problem.

everything had been running fine for years now. and one day I went to restart it because it was running a bit slow. it shows some strange symbol (being a folder with a question mark in it) followed by the smiling square symbol, which before that time i had never seen before. After that it then booted up normally. The next reboot I did, nothing happend. wont boot up at all.

Now I am sure there is more information that anyone who can help me fix this problem would need so youll have to excuse my lack of knowledge on the topic.

Basically I am trying to narrow down the issues, which hopefully not to come to the conclusion that it is not the logic board as I am suspecting it is after a few other things I have read.

------------
Now. I got it to power up (via the power button on the inside of the computer, stayed on for about a day then went to use it and it was off and same problem, the computer died out again. cant get it to turn on with the normal power button nor the one inside the computer. Should I expect the Motherboard? or perhaps something else? Id take it in to apple but if its something I can diagnose with the help of some of you and fix myself, it would be much more economical seeing that I am a struggling student.
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 11:37 PM   #2
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
.

Last edited by BCulp543; Oct 29, 2009 at 12:08 AM.
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:23 AM   #3
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The folder with a question mark on it means the computer is looking for, or can't find the startup disk. Though I've never seen the smily face before.

Tell me, when you tried to start up and it didn't work, did you see the grey screen, the boot chime, and/or the folder with the question mark?

By the way, that dot you did is bumping your post, making it go to the top, with the post adding no info or value. That is against the rules, please don't do it.

Cheers!
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:25 AM   #4
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
the dot wasnt to bump the post..i wrote something else and decided to erase it. however, at this points nothing happens anymore. when I press the power button it makes a very slight noise and does nothing. the backlight doesnt come on, it just makes a very faint noise as if it were trying to boot up but cant, also the #1 LED light on in the inside on the motherboard and only the #1 light
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:42 AM   #5
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hmmm, if it sounds like its trying to start up it might be a HDD problem. Try booting it from an external drive...
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:44 AM   #6
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Hmmm, if it sounds like its trying to start up it might be a HDD problem. Try booting it from an external drive...
I cant even get in to change the start up drive
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:45 AM   #7
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
iMac G5 often had bad caps.
Search the web for iMac G5 cap replacement and you'll find instructions.
Hope you'll like to solder
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 12:48 AM   #8
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
iMac G5 often had bad caps.
Search the web for iMac G5 cap replacement and you'll find instructions.
Hope you'll like to solder

uh oh. I dont but i know some people who do...im not precise enough for soldering on anything computer related.

any idea, roughly, what this might cost at apple or an independent repair shop?
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 05:30 AM   #9
bobob
macrumors 65816
 
bobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCulp543 View Post
any idea, roughly, what this might cost at apple or an independent repair shop?
I had the same problem and I didn't even bother to find out the cost.

I got my iMac G5 in Sept '04 when they were first released, and I figured that the death of my G5 was just Apple's way of letting me know it was time to buy a shiny new 27" iMac.

bobob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 06:21 AM   #10
capecod565
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cape Cod
I had a similar problem with my 20 inch G5. It blew 4 power supplies and 4 motherboards, though the symptoms were different each time.
Luckily I had bought AppleCare and the 4th time it happened, Apple extended my warrantee for another 6 months.
Also lucky for me, there is a tiny independent Mac store here in our little town, and they fixed it for me for nothing, Apple paid for all 4 powersupplies and motherboards.
Then I got the Kernal Panic screen
and my warrantee had expired. My little store diagnosed it, and I got on the phone with the Apple Tech reps, took several days and many conversations, but they sent me this lovely brand new iMac with a 24 inch screen.
This issue with the powersupplies and motherboards was a 'known issue' for some iMacs within a certain serial number range.
I was in the store yesterday and looking, well, I should say, drooling at the new 27 inch iMacs.
Jane
capecod565 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 10:25 AM   #11
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCulp543 View Post
uh oh. I dont but i know some people who do...im not precise enough for soldering on anything computer related.

any idea, roughly, what this might cost at apple or an independent repair shop?
Replacement caps are $25 and apple will probably charge $800 for a new mobo, since they don't solder.

Check this link: http://jimwarholic.com/2008/07/how-t...le-imac-g5.php

Look at pics and see if your caps are bulging or leaking, it's easy to see
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 05:54 PM   #12
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
Replacement caps are $25 and apple will probably charge $800 for a new mobo, since they don't solder.

Check this link: http://jimwarholic.com/2008/07/how-t...le-imac-g5.php

Look at pics and see if your caps are bulging or leaking, it's easy to see
thanks ill check it out
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2009, 07:04 PM   #13
BCulp543
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
Replacement caps are $25 and apple will probably charge $800 for a new mobo, since they don't solder.

Check this link: http://jimwarholic.com/2008/07/how-t...le-imac-g5.php

Look at pics and see if your caps are bulging or leaking, it's easy to see

the caps all appear to be normal. Im not sure if photos will do any justice. but maybe youll see anything I dont.

::::::edit::::::
heres a few more

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SANY0044.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	201053  
BCulp543 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 08:01 AM   #14
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Those does indeed look normal.
Did you check the caps inside the PSU, they can fail too, although it's usually the mobo caps that goes first.

edit: a detailed repair guide here for the PSU: http://jimwarholic.com/2008/11/apple...issues-and.php
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not Charging or Powering on tobeasoldier MacBook Pro 4 Jan 27, 2014 10:41 PM
Display not powering down luftx OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Oct 25, 2013 07:20 AM
iMac G3 Not Powering On. Goftrey PowerPC Macs 8 Jun 28, 2013 10:05 AM
iMac Error Message when Powering Down Aj2488 Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 29, 2012 07:03 PM
Powerbook Not powering up -ASH- PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 13, 2012 10:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps