Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2009, 07:10 PM   #1
helios16v
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth
Powerbook G4 RAM Help?!

hello everyone, i have a powerbook g4 DLSD/HR(dual layer super drive/high resolution) 1.67GHz aluminum laptop. standard 80gb hard drive and upgraded 1gb stick of ram when i bought it making 1.5gb

i was checking online and on everymac.com it says this laptop can only go up to 2gb of ram max but on tiger direct i found the exact fitting ram for this laptop that comes in 2gb chips?

does this mean everymac.com is just out dated because this was said when only 1gb pc2 4200 ram sticks were made or can the powerbook not handle 4gb of ram and thats why its only 1gb sticks max?
the reason i was thinking this is wrong is because it says it takes pc2-4200 ddr ram. my mac under "about this mac" says 1.5gb ddr2 sdram. there for everymac.com is wrong when it said it uses ddr ram because my mac has ddr2 ram.

i was just going to buy a single 1gb stick for this and max the ram out but once i found out i can double what i was going to have i decided its worth asking about it.

thanks to anyone who can help
-Ben
__________________
OS X 10.8.4, Mac mini, 2.5GHz Dual-Core i5, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6630M, 500GB HDD
Ubuntu 13.04, 13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz Dual-Core i5, 4GB RAM, 640GB HDD
iOS 5.1.1, 32GB, iPad 1 (Jailbroken)
helios16v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 06:05 PM   #2
HBeagley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Max RAM in 1.5GHz PB

I would go to Crucial and download there Mac System Scanner and that will tell you exactly how much RAM your PowerBook can handle.

Also Crucial will sell RAM that runs at the correct Speeds ect.

As not all RAM will work in the PowerBooks my PowerBook G4 12" can only take 1.5GB of RAM.

I think you model has some memory soldered to the logic board as mine has 128MB soldered to the logic board plus the 256MB Module in the expansion slot.

http://www.crucial.com/mac/index.aspx and click "download the Scanner" and it will tell you what you can get for your powerbook.

HBeagley
__________________
12" PowerBook G4, 867MHz, 386 MB RAM, 80GB HD, Mac OS X Tiger iPod Nano 3rd Generation 4 GB
HBeagley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 10:02 PM   #3
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
The 15" powerbook is limited by its hardware to 2 gigs of ram; it will not be able to use more than that. Likewise, the 12" powerbook is limited to 1.25 gigs of ram.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 03:51 AM   #4
helios16v
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth
this just made things even more confusing.
that program said it failed to find blah blah blah so i had to put in all of my laptop info on the webpage that popped up and it said my laptop can only handle max of 2gb and not to exceed 1gb per slot.

so that answers my question.. kinda..
it also says the laptop comes with 512mb pre installed which mine still has the oem ram in it. now the problem is that program/site says i need DDR PC2700

IN the "about this mac" section under more info it says the 512mb stick in this laptop is DDR2 PC2-4200 ??!?

so clearly this is wrong because my laptop can run ddr2 pc2-4200 ram yet im getting different information from other sites?

should i just drop the whole 4gb idea and go for a single 1gb stick of ddr2 pc2-4200 ram to match the other one in here or would this really be work looking into this more?

-Ben
__________________
OS X 10.8.4, Mac mini, 2.5GHz Dual-Core i5, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6630M, 500GB HDD
Ubuntu 13.04, 13" MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz Dual-Core i5, 4GB RAM, 640GB HDD
iOS 5.1.1, 32GB, iPad 1 (Jailbroken)
helios16v is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 04:07 AM   #5
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
The maximum it can handle is 2GB, so it sounds like you would want to buy an additional 1GB PC2-4200 DDR2 200-pin SODIMM (for a total of 2GB). (source: MacTracker & Apple)

Only the DL SD model took DDR2.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 01:36 PM   #6
macstatic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Like the original poster I also have a 1.67 GHz Powerbook G4 with 1.5 GB RAM and would like to upgrade to 2 GB.
I used Kingston's memory tool to find out which memory to buy, but to confuse things even more there seems to be "generic" memory and "system specific" memory (the latter being the most expensive).
I posted about this in another thread where nobody's replied so far, so I'm wondering if someone here knows if I can just go for the "generic" memory and save a bunch in the process?
macstatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 02:12 PM   #7
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Buy the system specific RAM. Macs are notoriously flaky with cheap RAM.
__________________
If your religion is worth killing for, please start with yourself.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2009, 03:02 PM   #8
macstatic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
When I bought the Kingston 1 GB memory module more than 3 years ago I didn't know there was such a thing as "system specific", so I just asked for a 1 GB with the specifications needed. It's worked fine ever since.
If I am to follow your advice and buy system specific memory for it I need to scrap all my existing memory and buy two 1 GB modules.
Do I really need to do that?

PS. The RAM I bought wasn't cheap (and not in the sense that it was a "no-name" brand either).

Last edited by macstatic; Nov 4, 2009 at 12:03 AM.
macstatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 05:10 PM   #9
techkingston08
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Powerbook G4 Maxes out at 2GB

Hi,

Kingston's configuration tool shows this system maxes out at 2GB of memory, see the link below. http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...submit1=Search

Kingston's system specific memory (part number KTA-PB533/1GB) is guaranteed compatible with this laptop. The memory is also covered by a lifetime warranty.

You can currently buy this product directly from Kingston for $37 (as of 11/5).
http://shop.kingston.com/partsinfo.a...o=KTA-PB533/1G
techkingston08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 09:43 PM   #10
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
The 12" Powerbooks had only 128mbs of ram soldered on the board in the first two revisions. when they hit 1.33 and 1.5ghz, Apple put 256mbs on the board. No 12" powerbook could take more than 1 gig extra because they only have one memory slot. Total for last revision powerbook of ram is 1.25gb.

On the 15" aluminum powerbooks, they had two memory slots.

The first revisions took DDR 2700 ram. The final revision which OP owns, takes faster DDR2 ram. I think there is some advantage to having matched pairs of ram, but I could be wrong.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook G4 Ram SawyerTHEBEST PowerPC Macs 8 Feb 17, 2013 04:53 AM
Powerbook 1.67 RAM mike457 PowerPC Macs 10 Sep 21, 2012 08:30 PM
Can't Upgrade RAM (PowerBook G4) Goftrey PowerPC Macs 12 Jul 21, 2012 12:11 AM
PowerBook G4 RAM issues Starfighter PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 4, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC