Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

clr900

macrumors regular
Original poster
I think we should all flood their irc channel, maybe we could prevent some people from getting caught up in the scam. I just went there and got banned after calling them scammers. 😛
There were a lot of people in there but no one else saying it was a scam. A lot of people were asking about references and stuff.
 
clr900 said:
I think we should all flood their irc channel, maybe we could prevent some people from getting caught up in the scam. I just went there and got banned after calling them scammers. 😛
There were a lot of people in there but no one else saying it was a scam. A lot of people were asking about references and stuff.

um, details? I have no idea what you're talking about? sorry...
 
Sorry I didn't want to get banned for talking about freeipods.com
But if you go there, there is an irc link for a chat channel.
 
clr900 said:
Sorry I didn't want to get banned for talking about freeipods.com
But if you go there, there is an irc link for a chat channel.
It's that referer # that'll toast your tail.

Basically compare this Gratis site to the others, there has to be a reason this site is NOT like the others.

Here was the canned response...

It's "supposed" to be a Gratis site.

IF this is really a "Gratis Internet" site and not a rip-off, then why doesn't the guy add this site to the front page of www.FreeDVDs.com www.FreeCDs.com www.FreeVideoGames.com www.FreeGiftPlanet.com

The other sites are quite clear about how you earn the points, freeipods.com looks like a rip-off with no explanation about "how" you earn the free ipod -- beside the "participate in an on-line offer" which smells a lot like "buy me"

If it is a Gratis Internet site -- he made it look like exactly like an illegal pyramid/matrix scheme, which could sink the entire company and all the sites.

And it's odd since he has electronics on one of the other sites, while this one doesn't look or act like any of the other sites.

When the site looks odd, it's usually a pure rip-off using somebody's good name.

---

The cancel the account later and you won't have to pay, doesn't really help.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.