Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2009, 02:32 PM   #1
dhart535
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Running adblock plus on firefox completely ineffective

I just recently purchased a Macbook pro and have downloaded firefox as my web browser. I installed the add-on adblock pro, and it is without a doubt 100% ineffective; I view web pages and when I place the mouse on top of the icon it tells me it is active, however below it notifies me that it has blocked 0 out of 150 or however blockable items on the given page. I mean absolutely nothing is prevented, I found a similar add on for safari, and the same results, nothing blocked. I must be doing something completely wrong, or something so blatantly obvious, but I really am clueless.
Does anyone have any suggestions?
dhart535 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 02:46 PM   #2
psxguru
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
You got a subscription active? Force an update?
Failing that, start adding your own wildcard filters as you go.
psxguru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 02:52 PM   #3
dhart535
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
No I have no subscriptions, I don't know what could interfere with those functions, something seems inherently wrong. I literally just bought the computer yesterday.
dhart535 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 02:55 PM   #4
psxguru
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2006
I'm just using the EasyList (USA) subscription in ABP, works for most ads. I also have my own custom filters as well.
psxguru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 02:55 PM   #5
Kate.
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhart535 View Post
No I have no subscriptions, I don't know what could interfere with those functions, something seems inherently wrong. I literally just bought the computer yesterday.
Subscriptions are what tell Adblock how to work. When you first install it, it asks you to choose a subscription. Otherwise, you have to block ads manually.
Kate. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 03:06 PM   #6
dhart535
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I'm not given any option to choose a subscription when downloading, I just click ok and then it asks me to restart firefox after it's installed.

I found that easy list subscription online and now I am seeing results, and yes I understand the logic that there must be a list out there, I just assumed that abp would already carry it. Bad assumption,
thanks guys and gals

Last edited by ergdegdeg; Oct 31, 2009 at 03:07 PM. Reason: merging consecutive posts
dhart535 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 03:12 PM   #7
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
After you install Adblock Plus and Firefox restarts, it pops up a browser window asking you to select a subscription.

Most of the times I've done this, that window ends up getting hidden behind another Firefox window, so it's easy to miss. And if you're like me and command-Q when you're done browsing, it closes all Firefox windows, so you'll really never have seen it.

Glad you got it up and running!
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2009, 03:26 PM   #8
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
If you pair Adblock with NoScript you'll be able to eliminate even more ads.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shockwave doesn't for on Firefox in OSX?!! orvn Mac Basics and Help 3 Sep 30, 2011 03:25 PM
Trackpad 2 finger pinch on Firefox Politis MacBook Pro 6 May 12, 2011 05:54 PM
Anyone running Adblock Plus on Firefox; help please bsheridan Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 May 30, 2008 11:46 AM
How do I change the status colour in Tab Mix Plus on Firefox? Braby Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 21, 2008 07:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC