Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2009, 01:14 AM   #1
tjsdaname
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: cedar rapids IA
need some info on a powermac G5

I have always been in love with the power mac G5's
so, I am going to sell my G4 mac mini to buy one. I was wondering if I would be better off buying a single 1.8 and buying 2 gigs of ram. or, buying a dual 1.8 and only having the 1gb of ram???



Thanks,
__________________
27 imac, White Macbook, Powermac G4 MDD, Powermac G5
tjsdaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 02:16 AM   #2
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Avoid the slow singles like the plague. Dual 2.0 should be minimum.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 05:21 AM   #3
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
The dual 1.8 should be good and rams for G5s have gone down in price so I think it's okay to add ram. I was using a dual 1.8 before and works fine. Plus the single 1.8 only has 4 slots and can only support up to 4 gigs ( as far as I know ) The dual 1.8 supports up to 8 gigs. Take note I think Apple released another dual 1.8 model that only supports 4 gigs. Not sure about this.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 07:07 AM   #4
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
After you decide to get a G5, I suggest that you actively search for a back-up video card. These are becoming harder and harder to find - especially if you want one of the beefy 256 type cards for larger monitors. If your card fries out and cannot be replaced - you have a non functioning system.

btw - if you have the software for the G5 already, I think it is a great computer to handle decent size files for the prices that are going on the used market. Of course you do know that more and more software is being written now for the Intel Macs. Us G5 owners are being left behind. For me this isn't a problem because my current software can do everything that I need it to do.

Good luck.

Mike
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 07:18 AM   #5
treo360
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
OP I sent you a message.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.1 early 2008 2.8 octo 4gb ram 1.5tb HD
treo360 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 10:31 AM   #6
tjsdaname
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: cedar rapids IA
well, I can get a dual 1.8 with 1gb of ram and a 160gb HD for 349$
I think thats a pretty good deal...

but if I do get it, I wont be running any real apps on it....
it will be for web browsing and file storage, thats really all....

use my macbook for everything else
__________________
27 imac, White Macbook, Powermac G4 MDD, Powermac G5
tjsdaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 10:35 AM   #7
splitpea
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Among the starlings
Get the dual and look around for inexpensive memory. An extra 1GB costs almost nothing secondhand; 2GB is around $70-80 new.
splitpea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 10:46 AM   #8
MacStu09
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Hey, I'd go with the dual 1.8 . And ram is nowhere near as expensive as that last post says. Unless you buy "apple ram" than maybe. I put 8gb of ram in my G5 for $79 . All brand new on newegg.
MacStu09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2009, 10:51 AM   #9
splitpea
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Among the starlings
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacStu09 View Post
Hey, I'd go with the dual 1.8 . And ram is nowhere near as expensive as that last post says. Unless you buy "apple ram" than maybe. I put 8gb of ram in my G5 for $79 . All brand new on newegg.
Wow, then RAM prices have dropped considerably in the past 3 months, since I also bought from NewEgg. Granted, I went with a brand name rather than the cheapest available since I'd rather not worry about failures. Also, the 400MHz DDR (for the older G5s, of which I believe the dual 1.8 is one) costs about 40% more than the 533MHz DDR2. See here.
splitpea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 01:43 PM   #10
wpc33
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
CPU is way more important than RAM, in G5's. I have 4GB of RAM, and a dual 1.8GHz. I cannot play 1080p, and a lot of 720p gives me grief. If you must get a G5, like I did, don't expect anything grand from less than dual 2GHz. Even then, see if you can swing a quad, or something w/PCIe.

I even have the fastest Mac AGP GPU, a flashed 7800 w/256MB and fast drives.
Focus on the CPU!
__________________
Mac Mini, 2.26GHz, 4GB, X25-M G2 80GB PowerMac G5, Dual 1.8GHz Powerbook G3 Pismo, 400MHz
wpc33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 01:46 PM   #11
Bennieboy©
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboy©'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboy©
get a dual cpu, singles are sluggish, for the money for a 1.8Ghz you should be able to find a 2.0Ghz, i know it's not a huge difference in clock speeds but ya will notice it, specially when doing cpu intensive work
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboy© is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 02:28 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
$349 is quite a bit for the machine you specced out. I'd get a low-end Intel Mini for that price and will actually be faster. If you are going to buy a G5, I'd suggest any of the dual-core versions as they have the cheaper DDR2 memory and PCIe graphics, DDR 400mhz memory is still around $25-50 for just 1gb of name brand memory and you have to buy/install in matching pairs.

If you do get the DDR model, make sure it has 8 memory slots so you can just throw a bunch of cheap small dimms in there. Pitch the crappy FX5200 graphics card on ebay and buy ATI 9800 Pro PC card and flash it yourself and make a few bucks back too. The best upgrade to do that pays for itself .
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 04:05 PM   #13
Dr. Steve Brule
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsdaname View Post
I have always been in love with the power mac G5's
so, I am going to sell my G4 mac mini to buy one. I was wondering if I would be better off buying a single 1.8 and buying 2 gigs of ram. or, buying a dual 1.8 and only having the 1gb of ram???



Thanks,
Go for the dual 1.8!
Thats what I'm running and it runs like a dream.
Pick up some ram off new egg for cheap and you'll be very happy!

Plus the dual 1.8 has 8 RAM slots and the single only has 4
__________________
PowerMac G5, Dual 1.8GHz, 3 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD
Dr. Steve Brule is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 05:09 PM   #14
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Steve Brule View Post
Go for the dual 1.8!
Thats what I'm running and it runs like a dream.
Pick up some ram off new egg for cheap and you'll be very happy!

Plus the dual 1.8 has 8 RAM slots and the single only has 4
I've had a few dual 1.8s and two had 8 memory slots while the other had 4 slots.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 05:46 PM   #15
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
I would not get a G5 these days (again). For server issues ok, but nor for every days work.

They are slow. Compared to the Intel processors extremely slow.
I had a Dual 2.0GHz (DualCore Late05) with 8GB DDR2 Ram and a 6600 with 256MB RAM and that machine always suffered from it's lack of processor capabilities. They were almost all the time on 100%.
Neither 720p was not playable at all on a 30", nor did almost every YouTube video.

Switched to a Quad afterwards, which run like a dream compared to the dual machines. Sold it, though. It consumed more electricity than it was worth the computing power.

If you want a fast and cheap machine for every day use, get a Mac Mini with Intel Core2Duo processor. Believe me, they are faster than the G5 duals. Much faster.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 06:27 PM   #16
treo360
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
The Core duos are indeed faster, but it is FUD to say that the G5's can not play 720p video smoothly or that it is too slow for everyday use.

Up to May of last year I was using my G5 dual 1.8 for my animation assignments using maya, and for watching 720 .mkv files without worry or slowdown. This with the stock fx 5200 and 3 gb of ram.

As of now it is my server and media center for my movies and audio.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.1 early 2008 2.8 octo 4gb ram 1.5tb HD
treo360 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 06:54 PM   #17
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by treo360 View Post
The Core duos are indeed faster, but it is FUD to say that the G5's can not play 720p video smoothly or that it is too slow for everyday use.
I can just reflect my personal experience with that machines, same as you probably do.

My Dual G5 was not able to play 720p smoothly and that's a fact.
That may correlate to the big screen or the OS (10.4) I don't know.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2009, 07:30 PM   #18
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
My G5 can play 720p no problem.... For everyday use G5s are still good. Hell I still use my 12" powerbook everyday and it does what I need it to do.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2009, 01:27 AM   #19
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
720p totally depends on the video type. MKV, no way. AVI, MOV or MP4, no problem.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"show item info" not showing all of info skiz MacBook Pro 4 May 4, 2013 11:53 PM
iTunes remembering info in "Get Info" ccvid Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Sep 13, 2012 04:26 PM
Why Activity Monitor and Finder's Get Info gave different info? su0301 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Aug 6, 2012 09:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC