Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2009, 07:37 PM   #1
kyza
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Fail to connect 15" powerbook to 15" macbook pro as a second display?

I've tried to connect my macbook pro and my powerbook with a dvi cable, when I tried to detect display from my new macbook pro nothing happen, does anyone know how should I connect my powerbook as a second display for my macbook pro?

Really appreciate if anyone can answer me! xx
kyza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2009, 08:00 PM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
The only Mac with a video in port is the new 27" iMac via mini DisplayPort.

You PowerBook and MackBook Pro are not able to have a video input via the DVI port.

You can have a look at Screen Recycler, which extends your display via Ethernet.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2009, 08:20 PM   #3
appleguy123
macrumors 603
 
appleguy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 15 minutes in the future
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyza View Post
I've tried to connect my macbook pro and my powerbook with a dvi cable, when I tried to detect display from my new macbook pro nothing happen, does anyone know how should I connect my powerbook as a second display for my macbook pro?

Really appreciate if anyone can answer me! xx
Something wrong withthis other thread you made?
__________________
[Steve Jobs was] brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it. -Barack Obama
appleguy123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2009, 06:21 PM   #4
kyza
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Talking Thanks

Thanks a lot for ur reply, really appreciated it! I will try to check the web, this is my first time in this forum so I am not so sure how things work here, I thought i wasn't working when i posted it last time so i did it again! oopsss...
kyza is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Can I connect a 13" Macbook Retina with a 20" Cinema Display? sap12690 Mac Peripherals 5 Apr 14, 2014 03:19 PM
Resolved: 13" MacBook Pro Retina not display "switch user" after sleep mtbdudex MacBook Pro 1 Mar 1, 2014 01:46 PM
New 27" iMac or Retina MacBook pro with 27" thunderbolt display jga iMac 4 Dec 16, 2012 09:44 PM
Should I buy the Macbook pro 15" w/Retina display or keep the 27" iMac? gentleman00 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Nov 10, 2012 06:04 PM
Made a MacBook Pro with Retina Display Ad (13" and 15") Macdude2010 MacBook Pro 3 Oct 26, 2012 02:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC