Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2009, 06:18 PM   #1
TurboRiceCooker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
iPod 2nd Gen PC version used with a Mac?

Disregard this post, go to my next one!

I just bought a 2nd gen iPod off ebay and to my luck, it was a PC version. I upgraded the hard drive to 30GB and tried to restore it using iTunes on my iMac. Thing is, it's not showing. I'm tried to format the iPod using disk utility but it just hangs in the middle. So am I gonna have to sync this iPod with a PC then? It's gonna be a pain in the ass to transfer all of my music to my VMWare partition....
__________________
iMac 24" | 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme | 4GB RAM | 500GB
PowerBook G4 | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB
iPhone 3G 16GB White | 3.1 Jailbroken
R.I.P. 1995 Toyota Supra SE-T

Last edited by TurboRiceCooker; Nov 9, 2009 at 07:45 PM. Reason: Noob post, real problem is in my next post!
TurboRiceCooker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 07:44 PM   #2
TurboRiceCooker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Ok so the hanging problem is due to the hard drive, it's not supported by this iPod. I put in the original 10GB to try again. The problem with this is it doesn't show in iTunes. The iPod functions fine, I can listen to the previous owners music, etc. Disk mode works fine, I see it on my desktop as a hard drive and I can transfer files to and from it fine. Likewise on windows. Just doesn't want to show on iTunes!!
__________________
iMac 24" | 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme | 4GB RAM | 500GB
PowerBook G4 | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB
iPhone 3G 16GB White | 3.1 Jailbroken
R.I.P. 1995 Toyota Supra SE-T
TurboRiceCooker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 07:51 PM   #3
macsarethebest
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
try a going into diagnostics: Hold down the menu and canter button until the screen goes blank, then immediately switch to holding down the rewind and center button. the apple logo should appear, and you should be able to run diagnostic tests. I haven't used this model, but if the scroll wheel doesn't work to navigate the menus, us the ff/rw buttons. good luck!
__________________
Obamopoly: The object of the game is to destroy American capitalism by having the government take over everything!
Want to play? No??? Too bad, you're already playing....
and just don't know it.
macsarethebest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:01 PM   #4
TurboRiceCooker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Alright I will try that as soon as my... PISMO POWERBOOK G3 FINISHES SYNCING WITH IT!
Gah, so after fiddling with it on my iMac and my Windows box, I was saw my Pismo PB sitting on my shelf, so I thought what the hell. I plug it in, iTunes requests me to restore the iPod. So I'm currently filling up the obscenely large 10GB space Old technology goes well with old technology it seems lol.
I'll report back once I get into diagnostics mode and hopefully get it to sync with my iMac.
__________________
iMac 24" | 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme | 4GB RAM | 500GB
PowerBook G4 | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB
iPhone 3G 16GB White | 3.1 Jailbroken
R.I.P. 1995 Toyota Supra SE-T
TurboRiceCooker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 12:32 AM   #5
TurboRiceCooker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Unexpected turnaround, I just sold that iPod to my friend for twice what I bought it for. I didn't even have it in possession for 4 hours lol. With that money I bought myself a real 2nd gen off ebay in pristine condition. Hopefully now everything will work out!
__________________
iMac 24" | 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme | 4GB RAM | 500GB
PowerBook G4 | 1.67GHz | 2GB RAM | 100GB
iPhone 3G 16GB White | 3.1 Jailbroken
R.I.P. 1995 Toyota Supra SE-T
TurboRiceCooker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 06:37 AM   #6
macsarethebest
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Good for you!
__________________
Obamopoly: The object of the game is to destroy American capitalism by having the government take over everything!
Want to play? No??? Too bad, you're already playing....
and just don't know it.
macsarethebest is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easiest/Best Version Control System to use with Eclipse? oxfordguy Mac Programming 0 Nov 19, 2011 10:01 AM
iPod touch 2nd gen screen flickers after iOS 4.2 jailbreak celticpride678 iPod touch Hacks 2 Nov 10, 2010 10:38 PM
iPod 2nd Gen stuck on Restoring iPod software. Aar0n iPod touch 4 Jun 22, 2010 01:29 PM
FreeAgent Go HD: bought PC version inadvertently instead of Mac, can I still use it? diehldun Mac Peripherals 7 Jan 16, 2009 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC