Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2009, 07:28 PM   #1
ebonn101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Dragon Age Origins drains my battery...

I am running Vista Home Basic SP1 on my 15 inch 2.66 GHz MBP, 4GB Ram, 320 GB HD, 512 VRAM 9600. Lately, while playing Dragon Age Origins especially, I have noticed that my battery slowly drains over a period of hours (despite the fact that the computer is plugged in). Eventually, the battery totally drains and the computer shuts off. However when I boot into Snow Leopard, everything works fine and there is no issue with the battery at all; it charges fine and maintains its charge while plugged in. Obviously this is a Vista software issue and not a hardware issue. Anyone have or know of a fix? Will SP2 fix this? Thanks a lot...
ebonn101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 07:43 PM   #2
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Does Vista boot if you remove the battery and just use the power cord?
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 07:54 PM   #3
ebonn101
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I will try that and post the result. What doesn't make sense to me is why the computer chooses to drain the battery when it's plugged into the AC adapter just fine (and it's obviously a Vista-only experience).Thanks for the help
ebonn101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:13 PM   #4
Signal-11
macrumors 65816
 
Signal-11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 2nd Star to the Right
Is it only when you're playing Dragon Age or also during times when your system is less taxed as well?

If your system power load is above whatever your power supply is rated for, your Mac will take the extra power it needs from your battery. This is the reason why your Mac will clock limit itself when the battery is removed.
Signal-11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:37 PM   #5
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
... Seriously? Do you really mean to tell me that Apple's power supplies aren't capable of supplying the energy required to run the system? How has Apple got away with that?
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:40 PM   #6
Signal-11
macrumors 65816
 
Signal-11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 2nd Star to the Right
I can't tell if you're joking or not, Nermal. Was that a serious question?
Signal-11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:41 PM   #7
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
... Seriously? Do you really mean to tell me that Apple's power supplies aren't capable of supplying the energy required to run the system? How has Apple got away with that?
This might be the reason they tell you to keep the battery in, even when plugged in all the time. I know about the KB article and the downclocking without the battery.

Though the power adapter should supply enough watts to charge the battery, albeit slowly, and run the system at full load.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:42 PM   #8
PenguinPower
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Errr....why are you not running SP2 of vista to begin with?


Can try this:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1411

Last edited by PenguinPower; Nov 9, 2009 at 08:53 PM.
PenguinPower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 08:57 PM   #9
Signal-11
macrumors 65816
 
Signal-11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 2nd Star to the Right
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
This might be the reason they tell you to keep the battery in, even when plugged in all the time. I know about the KB article and the downclocking without the battery.

Though the power adapter should supply enough watts to charge the battery, albeit slowly, and run the system at full load.
This is normally a non-issue but no, it's not.

If my MBP is running both cores at full bore, with a full load on a discrete GPU with heavy I/O and memory access, my 85W power supply is not enough. Throw in a spinning optical disk and a couple of power hungry USB and FireWire rails and you'll definitely exceed 85W.

Of course this normally never happens - the system will overheat well before then, but depending on your cooling solution, it could definitely happen.

This is true for almost every laptop/notebook/mobile on the market, including the workstation class stuff.

The only mobiles where the units' maximum theoretical power draw doesn't exceed the power supply's maximum output are SPARCBooks, which really aren't laptops at all.

Oh yeah, and some Toughbooks.
Signal-11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 12:16 AM   #10
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
... Seriously? Do you really mean to tell me that Apple's power supplies aren't capable of supplying the energy required to run the system? How has Apple got away with that?
I'm not saying this is the case in this case, but there are different rated power supplies. As of about a year ago, one made for MacBooks and one with a higher rating for MBPs. I wonder what happens if you try to run a MBP with a MB power supply- the battery drains?

Or maybe your power supply is not working properly? You might be able to put a volt meter on it to check it's output. The Apple Store, if one is closeby would probably check it for you too.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Nov 10, 2009 at 11:34 AM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 08:14 AM   #11
JollyRogers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Regardless this is the gaming forum... and Dragon Age: Origins is a great game so far. It is seriously occupying me, the wife, the son and the Mac Pro in boot camp. I set aside Bioshock for this one.

I got it to run via Crossover Games / Wine. However, it ran terrible... so had to boot camp it.

No battery problems here... cause I don't have one
__________________
MAC PRO 2.8G/4G mem/HD4870, MacBook (for work), iPhone 3GS (me) & 4 (wife).
JollyRogers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 07:43 PM   #12
rbf1138
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Can anyone tell me which version of Windows would work best for Dragon Age in Bootcamp with an early '09 15 inch MBP, 256meg 9600? I'd love to just go with XP...
rbf1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 11:29 PM   #13
JackAxe
macrumors 68000
 
JackAxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In a cup of orange juice.
That really depends on the game and the GPU. For higher rez and more demanding games, Vista and W7 do sometimes have an advantage over XP.

I'm playing DA under XP64 and it works great, but it's definitely the slowest OS for gaming on the PC side. You'll be fine with XP, but if you can do W7, you might as well.
__________________
Mac user since the eighties and owner since the nineties.
If only Jobs had won one of his earlier temper tantrums and got his way, because then I could say I was a bicycle user.
JackAxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS-neutral: Dragon Age II Not Working ?? Washac Mac and PC Games 8 Apr 10, 2014 10:20 AM
OS X: Dragon Age Origins $4.99 on amazing today davelanger Mac and PC Games 6 Dec 22, 2013 09:12 PM
OS X: Dragon Age Origins no sound (SOLVED) Washac Mac and PC Games 3 Dec 22, 2013 08:22 PM
OS X: Dragon age origin I dmt Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 20, 2012 06:06 AM
Dragon Age: Origins Calot MacBook Air 0 Aug 20, 2012 11:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC