Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2009, 05:56 PM   #1
tardman91
macrumors 6502a
 
tardman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa Area, FL
Time Machine/Time Capsule/Airport Extreme with Verizon FIOS??

I will be getting my new Macbook Pro in the near future and am very interested in using Time Machine to wireless back up my data to an external hard drive. I know I can use Time Capsule to do this, but also hear a mention of just getting an Airport Extreme and my own ext. hd. My question is that I have Verizon FIOS Internet and my modem also functions as a wireless router. How would the Time Capsule/Airport Extreme work with this? Is it possible? I do not believe that the Verizon router supports wireless N, and I would like to take advantage of the faster speeds. If I were to connect a Airport Extreme to the wireless router, would I then have 2 routers to choose from and just use the Airport Extreme to use the wireless N? I'm very confused as to how I could make this work.
Thanks in advance!
tardman91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 06:01 PM   #2
richard.mac
macrumors 603
 
richard.mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 51.50024, -0.12662
Send a message via Skype™ to richard.mac
you would connect the Airport Extreme to the Modem's WAN port with an ethernet cable NOT its LAN port. then enable bridge mode on the Verizon modem which bypasses its router so you can use the Airport Extreme's router with gigabit LAN and wireless-N.
__________________
If you can't innovate, you just imitate, but it's never quite as good as the original
Hackintosh - Core i5 4670K, GA-Z87X-UD4, 7870XT, 16GB RAM, 128GB SDD | MacBook Air 13" 2013 | iPhone 5 16GB JB
richard.mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2009, 06:02 PM   #3
rkdiddy
macrumors 65816
 
rkdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: OC Baby!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tardman91 View Post
I will be getting my new Macbook Pro in the near future and am very interested in using Time Machine to wireless back up my data to an external hard drive. I know I can use Time Capsule to do this, but also hear a mention of just getting an Airport Extreme and my own ext. hd. My question is that I have Verizon FIOS Internet and my modem also functions as a wireless router. How would the Time Capsule/Airport Extreme work with this? Is it possible? I do not believe that the Verizon router supports wireless N, and I would like to take advantage of the faster speeds. If I were to connect a Airport Extreme to the wireless router, would I then have 2 routers to choose from and just use the Airport Extreme to use the wireless N? I'm very confused as to how I could make this work.
Thanks in advance!
I don't have Fios, but it should be similar to uVerse. You can either use the TC or AEBS to extend the network or hardwire your TC/AEBS to the Fios modem and use it as the wireless router.
__________________
Mini: rMBP 15" 2.6ghz i7/16/256GB | 2.5ghz i5/8/750GB
27" TB ACD | B&W MM-1 | 2TB TC | iPhone 5 | iPad 4G

advertising : design : marketing : print : social media : web - www.risencreative.com
rkdiddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2009, 12:59 PM   #4
Macwick
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkdiddy View Post
I don't have Fios, but it should be similar to uVerse. You can either use the TC or AEBS to extend the network or hardwire your TC/AEBS to the Fios modem and use it as the wireless router.
One big catch with FiOS - new FiOS installations now use coax to connect the FiOS router to the ONT outside the house. If that's the case, you obviously can't replace the FiOS router (no coax on the Time Capsule!). If however the technician ran CAT-5 cable to your router, you still have a problem. If you replace the FiOS router with another router, you will lose guide data and VOD on your TVs (assuming you have FiOS TV service). This is because the FiOS router sends data to the STBs via the coax connection. The only solution in this case is to buy a Motorola box (I forget the name of it) that bridges the coax network in your home with the ethernet network.

Hope that makes sense. For these reasons, it's better to just plug the TC into the FiOS router in bridge mode (as was earlier suggested)......
Macwick is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good time to buy Airport Extreme / Time Capsule? i0Nic Mac Peripherals 8 May 22, 2014 11:14 AM
Airport Time Capsule (2013) as Time Machine and external drive? Klatti Mac Peripherals 0 Aug 3, 2013 08:58 AM
New airport time capsule, can the initial time machine backup done via USB? riverwater Mac Peripherals 4 Jun 17, 2013 09:14 AM
AirPort Extreme or Time Capsule ? alexxn Mac Peripherals 5 Nov 25, 2012 10:14 AM
Time Capsule Vs. Airport Extreme Wi-Fi? Gala Mac Peripherals 5 Oct 17, 2012 10:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC