Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2009, 05:41 PM   #1
ravenvii
macrumors 604
 
ravenvii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melenkurion Skyweir
Wondering: Why doesn't Apple release the API to properly implement menubar items?

Currently apps that use the menubar have to use a hack of sorts. It's obvious they are not equal to Apple's own menubar items. You can't arrange the third-party icons to mingle with the Apple ones. When you click an item of Apple's, and move your mouse to another Apple item, the menu activates normally, but when you mouse over a third party's icon, it doesn't activate. You have to click to deactivate the menu, and click again the activate the third party menu.

I am wondering why Apple refuses to reveal the proper APIs for third parties to use for menubar items?
__________________
59 6F 75 20 73 70 6F 6F 6E 79 20 62 61 72 64 21
ravenvii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:17 PM   #2
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
The "proper" menu items run in SystemUIServer rather than in the applications that provide them, which is a bit of a risky thing to do. Some sort of in-between solution (perhaps something like how DockTile plugins work) seems appropriate. Have you filed a request with Apple for this at bugreport.apple.com?
Catfish_Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 06:22 PM   #3
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravenvii View Post
When you click an item of Apple's, and move your mouse to another Apple item, the menu activates normally, but when you mouse over a third party's icon, it doesn't activate. You have to click to deactivate the menu, and click again the activate the third party menu.
I've never noticed that. Now I'm gonna get annoyed by it However, iStatMenus doesn't behave like this, it activates like a menu item should, but others like Bowtie and Adium don't, like you said.

Quote:
I am wondering why Apple refuses to reveal the proper APIs for third parties to use for menubar items?
Chances are Apple wants to keep things clean and uncluttered.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2009, 09:39 PM   #4
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
It's been like this since the beginning (AFAIK). I guess there isn't enough demand from developers for Apple to change it. Like Catfish_Man mentioned they probably will never open the existing API because each menu is a plugin managed by SystemUIServer and if one of those plugins crash, down goes the entire SystemUIServer process and all those menu items are gone (until it relaunches). I've seen it happen several times with Spotlight being the culprit.

There's no reason they can't come up with some solution for integrating Apple menus with third-parties smoothly. I think they're just lazy
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 12:51 PM   #5
HiRez
macrumors 601
 
HiRez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western US
MenuMeters seems to function "correctly" (it'll drop down its menus after clicking on an Apple menu and moving to MM).
__________________
Go outside, the graphics are amazing!
HiRez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 01:06 PM   #6
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiRez View Post
MenuMeters seems to function "correctly" (it'll drop down its menus after clicking on an Apple menu and moving to MM).
Looks like they use MenuCracker though.
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If Apple doesn't release a new iPod Touch this year. john bacon iPod touch 23 Sep 15, 2013 02:01 AM
If Apple Doesn't Release 6.1 GM By Monday AppleNewsTech Wasteland 18 Jan 25, 2013 06:39 PM
Why doesn't Apple release a gaming controller? Cod3rror iPhone 8 Oct 12, 2012 04:35 AM
Why doesn't Apple release incremental updates? Abazigal iOS 6 6 Sep 10, 2012 08:42 PM
Why doesn't Apple release their Beta to the general public? Mad Mac Maniac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 44 Jun 11, 2012 02:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC