Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2009, 07:31 PM   #1
ukhousemafia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
iMac shuts off durning start up after the apple logo

Hello, when i start my imac it shows the apple logo, then the circle starts spinning and after a couple minutes it just shuts off. Please help

BTW i have windows on it as well so when i hold option it lets me open windows but not os
ukhousemafia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 07:34 PM   #2
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Can you boot into the Mac OS X Install DVD by holding down the "C" key at startup?
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2009, 09:29 PM   #3
ukhousemafia
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
No it does the same thing when i hold down the C
ukhousemafia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2009, 09:28 PM   #4
dandaman2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
with the disk or did you try it w/o disk?
I might go ahead an try an archive-install. sorry 'bout your imac, that is a terrible position to be it; I'm quite the tinkerer and have been in that position plenty. I've even started keeping my reinstall disks in my laptop bag!
__________________
~Dan
Samsung Galaxy S Phone (Captivate); MacBook Pro 15" w/ HiRes Antiglare, 8GB RAM, and I sprung for the 512GB SSD for durability; 32GB iPad 2
dandaman2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2009, 06:18 PM   #5
ukhousemafia
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Oh no I didn't do it with a disc. Is this the disc that I got with the i MAc ?
ukhousemafia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2009, 09:09 PM   #6
dandaman2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Why yes, exactly that disk. Hold down C during start up; this will force the mac to boot to the disk. If it's successful I think you'll want to do a reinstall.

Since it's a bit to late to backup, you're going to want to go to "advanced" on the screen where you select your disk, and select "Archive and Install."

There are those who would say to be sure you uncheck "Keep settings and applications" (likely not the exact phrasing as this is all from memory ). I usually do because chances are, the root of my issues is in the systems folder and not in my account's library folder.

Click continue and finish the reinstall, then restart.

If you follow these steps and the computer does not start up after reinstall or doesn't start up from the disk, let us know and we at MacForums will be happy to help.
__________________
~Dan
Samsung Galaxy S Phone (Captivate); MacBook Pro 15" w/ HiRes Antiglare, 8GB RAM, and I sprung for the 512GB SSD for durability; 32GB iPad 2
dandaman2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 04:13 PM   #7
ukhousemafia
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Ok so I used my MAcBook install disc and it said I can't use it and I can't find my iMac disc, can I still do a reinstall without a disc ?

Last edited by ukhousemafia; Nov 20, 2009 at 07:25 PM.
ukhousemafia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 10:02 PM   #8
dandaman2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
No, you can't. You need your iMac disks. If you've done a 10.x upgrade at somepoint (i. e. Leopard to Snow Leopard) you may use that disk as well.
__________________
~Dan
Samsung Galaxy S Phone (Captivate); MacBook Pro 15" w/ HiRes Antiglare, 8GB RAM, and I sprung for the 512GB SSD for durability; 32GB iPad 2
dandaman2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2009, 10:23 PM   #9
Mike Macintosh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Washington State
Send a message via AIM to Mike Macintosh Send a message via MSN to Mike Macintosh Send a message via Yahoo to Mike Macintosh
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukhousemafia View Post
Ok so I used my MAcBook install disc and it said I can't use it and I can't find my iMac disc, can I still do a reinstall without a disc ?
Nope, you need to have your iMac install disc or have a upgrade disc like Leopard or Snow Leopard, I say buy one of those from Apple and then try your situation again, but without these discs your pretty much screwed.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 2.66GHz (late 09) | iPhone 3G 8GB | iPod 5G (1st with Video) 60GB | Powerbook G4 12" 1.5 GHz
Coming Soon: 15" Macbook Pro (Early 2011) | iPhone 4
Mike Macintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:48 PM   #10
Fifia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Mine does the same and I tried everything without the disk(which failed) and I lost this disk in my messy office. If there is a way to fix this without the disk, I'd be very happy. If not, I will continue my search. And also, mine is an iMac.
Fifia is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iBook G4 Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard shuts down after apple logo amll PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 21, 2013 01:31 PM
Apple logo wont start iPhone 3GS martin5504 iPhone 4 Jun 29, 2013 03:59 AM
Iphone 4 shuts down and stuck on logo when on power mandrack111 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Dec 9, 2012 05:41 PM
MBP Shuts down on start up. D-Macs Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 28, 2012 02:37 PM
Slow Start (BEFORE the apple logo) pappysven MacBook Pro 4 Sep 11, 2012 02:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC