Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2009, 08:10 AM   #1
smplorig
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New jersey
Send a message via AIM to smplorig
PowerPC keeps freezing and or asking to shut down.

ok i have power mac G5 with a Dual 1.8 processor and 3gigs of RAM from 2003. the machine "was" running on leopard 10.5.8 (i think..it was the latest update but i dont remember) and it was an awesome machine for me. only a month ago i had my first problem, the machine froze, (which it had never done in the 2 years i had it) and i series of messeges appeared in trough the screen over the desktop saying something about...problem with kernel something ..something. i didnt pay much attention and restarted it. It didnt happen again until 2 weeks ago and from that point on it got worst. each time the kernel error had a different name, (as in ..kernel: "something" is corrupted.) then 4 days ago my mac just would not turn on. i tried a few trouble shooting steps to try to come up with a solution and this is what i found out:
its not the RAM: iwas able to test out every single one of them and they all checked out fine.
i switched the hard drive to another mac to see if i had the same error and fair enough i did.
i tried to start up in target mode in order to retrieve my data... that didnt work. it would freeze and ask to shut off.
so i think its the hard drive ..but im not sure. what can i do?
will CCC recover my drive even though its corrupted if thats the case?
also my when my computer would boot up it would be fine so long as i did not make the hard drive run to much, like i could open safari and browse the internet for hours, but the second i opened any other program it would start and a few senconds later freeze. which is why again, i think its the hard drive. i had tried resetting the power management Unit, taking outthe motherboards battery waiting 10 min and putting it back, and even trying to veryfiy the hard drive by using disk utility but nothing has worked. diskt utility will only make the drive freeze the comp. any ideas.?

Last edited by smplorig; Nov 13, 2009 at 08:11 AM. Reason: forgot to add ram amount. lol
smplorig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2009, 02:21 AM   #2
Ktscheinqe
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: No matter where I am, I am here. Except when I have multiple personalities.
i agree that almost all symptoms implicate hard drive.
i guess the hdd is stuck solid, so it appears there's no "consumer" method to retrieve data.
__________________
"Nobody expects the Amish Inquisition!" - anon, but why always anon...
(1) dying g4 agp 400mhz, (1) g3 b&w rev2 350mhz, (some) sinful unmentionables.
Ktscheinqe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 09:32 AM   #3
AZREOSpecialist
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Is this a liquid cooled PowerMac? If so, you may want to check to ensure your coolant isn't leaking and that you haven't burned out one of your CPUs. That happened to me a few years ago and had the entire cooling system and one CPU replaced. Apple paid for it, but otherwise it would have been a $1,400 repair. Good luck!
__________________
2009 Mac Pro Quad Xeon W3580 @ 3.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB RAID 5/RocketRAID 4320, Corsair P256 SSD Boot Drive, EVGA GTX-285
2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
AZREOSpecialist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 12:25 PM   #4
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZREOSpecialist View Post
Is this a liquid cooled PowerMac? If so, you may want to check to ensure your coolant isn't leaking and that you haven't burned out one of your CPUs. That happened to me a few years ago and had the entire cooling system and one CPU replaced. Apple paid for it, but otherwise it would have been a $1,400 repair. Good luck!
*sigh* its a dual 1.8GHz model.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 12:57 PM   #5
AZREOSpecialist
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
*sigh* its a dual 1.8GHz model.
How is this helpful?
__________________
2009 Mac Pro Quad Xeon W3580 @ 3.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB RAID 5/RocketRAID 4320, Corsair P256 SSD Boot Drive, EVGA GTX-285
2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
AZREOSpecialist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 12:59 PM   #6
ClassicII
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Have you tried using disk warrior to test the drive on the other computer?
ClassicII is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2009, 07:11 PM   #7
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZREOSpecialist View Post
How is this helpful?
Because its extremely obvious from the very first 10 words of the first post that the machine is NOT liquid cooled.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 11:05 AM   #8
IronFixXxeR
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Send a message via AIM to IronFixXxeR
I had a similar problem with my G4 Quicksilver. Out of nowhere it was getting random kernal panics.

Reinstalled OS X on a different HDD and solved the problem.
__________________
- 2009 Mac Pro, 2.93 GHz Quad, 8 GB RAM, 2.64 TB, Radeon HD 4870 - Snow Leopard -
- Cosmos 1000, Intel i7 920, 8 GB RAM, 300 GB VelociRaptor, BFG GTX 260 - Windows 7 -
IronFixXxeR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 11:23 AM   #9
smplorig
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New jersey
Send a message via AIM to smplorig
not sure

well i did i fresh install of an older operating system and its runing fine but i am still getting the problems here and then, im starting to think it was one of the processors because it only happens (funnily enough) and its processing a lot of stuff lol. i know there is a way to disable one processor and let one work i know itwill make it run slower but i want tomake sure that is the problem soi can fix it and so i can run it without shutting down for now. also i need leopard..any one know where i can get it??
smplorig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 11:40 AM   #10
AZREOSpecialist
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 300D View Post
Because its extremely obvious from the very first 10 words of the first post that the machine is NOT liquid cooled.
Really? Like we can all remember what machines Apple made 6 years ago? Not all of us are walking encyclopedias of what machines had what features in what year. I'm just trying to be helpful, since I bought my Mac Pro around the same time, it was liquid cooled and had a problem. My apologies for trying to help. Some of you people are so rude.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro Quad Xeon W3580 @ 3.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB RAID 5/RocketRAID 4320, Corsair P256 SSD Boot Drive, EVGA GTX-285
2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
AZREOSpecialist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2009, 04:41 PM   #11
300D
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tulsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZREOSpecialist View Post
Really? Like we can all remember what machines Apple made 6 years ago?
I can remember everything since they released the Centris/Quadra line.

Quote:
Not all of us are walking encyclopedias of what machines had what features in what year.
Have you discovered Googlism yet my child?


Quote:
I bought my Mac Pro around the same time, it was liquid cooled and had a problem.
No MacPro had that. The only Macs ever to use liquid cooling were the PowerMac G5 2.5, 2.7 and quad 2.5 models.
300D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:54 AM   #12
smplorig
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New jersey
Send a message via AIM to smplorig
please stop

ok ppl i need help, u guys are talking about being rude and stuff and yet all u are doing is posting crap about how wrong u all are. Would anyone here please be mature enought actually post something that was ment to be written in this thread? like perhaps how to help me with this issue. thank you.
smplorig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 11:58 PM   #13
vailance
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MY
i had the similar problem, downgrade from leo to tiger , install on other new partition seems fine now.
__________________
Macbook Aluminum 2.0Ghz
iPhone 3GS 16GB Black 3.1.2 JB'ed
Mac Pro 4,1, Quad 2.66Ghz, 6GB Ram, 4 x 1TB HDDs, GTX285 1GB + GT120 512MB, 2 x 18x Superdrive
vailance is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do you like PowerPC? BaddestArvai PowerPC Macs 51 May 7, 2014 09:59 PM
Why are some PowerPC's like this? Intelligent PowerPC Macs 11 Apr 16, 2014 09:47 PM
MacBook Pro freezing, rainbow wheel and manually have to shut down computer! Help! Eos1789 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 11, 2013 03:24 AM
PowerPC A2 rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 21 Dec 21, 2012 08:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC