Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2004, 02:42 PM   #1
Butler Trumpet
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dekalb IL
Send a message via AIM to Butler Trumpet
Post here with your worst Mac experience/problem

Okay mine.... a couple of months ago... I turn my old iMac on, and it everything is set back to factory settings.... Weirdest thing ever.... not really sure what happens but it sucked and I spend probably the next 4 hours getting everything back, and it does it again. Finally I say screw it and I reinstall the OS. Then I have to use a 3rd party software to rip all my songs from my iPod back on to iTunes... Such a process. Anyway, its all better now cause i have a new iBook and it rocks.

So now post your worst mac/apple problem and lets hear some horror storries!
__________________
ACMT - Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
Mac OS X Certified 10.5, 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9
iOS Hardware and Software Certified
Butler Trumpet is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 02:46 PM   #2
Ryan1524
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada GTA
sometimes when i'm playing witht he brightness setting, the thing slowed down severely and the brightness control is non-responsive - the control is delayed (badly) and slows the whole thing down. i don't get how brightness can affect the entire system, but it sometimes does.

sometimes i takes a log out and back in before the thing's fixed. and very rarely, an app would quit unexpectedly. lucky most of the time it was just camino, but imagine if it were a huge project. granted camino is still 0.8, but it's still disturbing.

ow and yesterday in the middle of slight slowdown, it somehow logged out on its own. no warning, nothing. it just jumped to the lgin window and all my apps were closed as if i just logged out.
__________________
Ryan - my flickr

Last edited by Ryan1524; Jul 30, 2004 at 02:48 PM.
Ryan1524 is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 03:12 PM   #3
cr2sh
macrumors 68030
 
cr2sh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: downtown
Well... the day I bought my 17" PB the headphone jack had one of the contacts bent... I use the powerbook so much though I never get the chance to mail it in and have it fixed. So pretty much my headphone jack doesn't work correctly.

The rubber feet have also come off.... other than that, everything is peachy.
__________________

MBP (early' 11/2.2/16GB/500GB/hi-res-ag)
cr2sh is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 03:23 PM   #4
neoelectronaut
macrumors 68020
 
neoelectronaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southeastern Louisiana
It's not so much a problem, but I just wish my old USB Logitech Quickcam would work with iChat. I'd like an iSight, but $150 is $50 more than I'd like to spend on a simple webcam.
neoelectronaut is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 04:03 PM   #5
EGT
macrumors 68000
 
EGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
The only problem I have with my mac is the hinge on the screen. Every time i move it after its been sitting for a while there is a loud crack and it is stiff to move for a second or so. If i move it continuously through its full motion it goes away eventually.

Very annoying
EGT is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 04:08 PM   #6
Horrortaxi
macrumors 68020
 
Horrortaxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Los Angeles
My worst technical problem was a dead logic board in my G3 iBook. Nothing special.

My worst Mac problem in general is the steady stream of PC A holes that troll around places like Comp USA looking for a fight. I don't mind the fighting so much, but one day the cops will catch me dumping one of the bodies.
Horrortaxi is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 04:36 PM   #7
TDM21
macrumors 6502a
 
TDM21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I just switched mac to make after 4 years of being ona pc. Now I have to start all over with what software I use.

They should make almost all software on hybrid cds. (I know Adobe does this)
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Pro/2.7GHz i7/4GB Ram/500GB HD
12" PowerBook/1.33GHz/1.25GB RAM/160GB HD/ComboDrive
PowerMac G4/2x1.8GHz/1.5GB RAM/ATi 9800Pro/Poineer 111D
Newton 2100
TDM21 is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 04:37 PM   #8
upperblue79
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Little Rock, AR
Send a message via AIM to upperblue79 Send a message via Yahoo to upperblue79
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoelectronaut
It's not so much a problem, but I just wish my old USB Logitech Quickcam would work with iChat. I'd like an iSight, but $150 is $50 more than I'd like to spend on a simple webcam.
Will this help you out?
__________________
| 15" MacBook Pro 2 GHz | 20" Apple Cinema Display | Harman Kardon Soundsticks | 60GB Black iPod | Sony Ericsson W580i | Casio Ex-S600 |
upperblue79 is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 06:07 PM   #9
blogo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butler Trumpet
Okay mine.... a couple of months ago... I turn my old iMac on, and it everything is set back to factory settings.... Weirdest thing ever.... not really sure what happens but it sucked and I spend probably the next 4 hours getting everything back, and it does it again. Finally I say screw it and I reinstall the OS. Then I have to use a 3rd party software to rip all my songs from my iPod back on to iTunes... Such a process. Anyway, its all better now cause i have a new iBook and it rocks.

So now post your worst mac/apple problem and lets hear some horror storries!
That usually happens when the diskspace is low (~50mb left)


Worst thing that happened with my mac was when a HD i installed suddenly got corrupted, and i had to use lots of my time to recover the data i had on it, lost about 300 holidaypictures and some documents, since then i've backed up more regulary.
blogo is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 06:19 PM   #10
paxtonandrew
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: I Come From A Land Down Under
Send a message via MSN to paxtonandrew
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butler Trumpet
Okay mine.... a couple of months ago... I turn my old iMac on, and it everything is set back to factory settings.... Weirdest thing ever.... not really sure what happens but it sucked and I spend probably the next 4 hours getting everything back, and it does it again. Finally I say screw it and I reinstall the OS. Then I have to use a 3rd party software to rip all my songs from my iPod back on to iTunes... Such a process. Anyway, its all better now cause i have a new iBook and it rocks.

So now post your worst mac/apple problem and lets hear some horror storries!
I had that happen to my iMac, only recently. When I turned it on, i saw the standard 'dock' and it had the original applications in it. It didn't really worry me, as it now just sits there gathering dust, and when it is on, i use network startup, and run it off my PMG4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eple
That usually happens when the diskspace is low (~50mb left)
nope, not in my case, it still has about 2 gigs left on the hdd.

Anywho, my worst Mac experience was when i was living in the US, and tried to update my iMac, i.e. put OS 9.2.2 on it, the US English version didn't work, and because i bought the computer in the states, i needed to do a complete install of the OS, and set it to international english. Worked fine.
__________________
People Trust Holwoo
paxtonandrew is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 07:16 PM   #11
andrewm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Uh-oh...?

My worst experience came long, long ago at the house of a cousin. We were trying to burn a CD on his Quadra (840, I believe) AV (an 80 Mhz machine, for a historical footnote). A burn of a particular CD had failed in Toast, and for some reason I urged my cousin to make one last try at it, as I still believed the CD to be blank. We did, and the computer responded with what one might call a freeze-bomb: a system bomb (remember those?) whose Restart button could not be pushed for lack of mouse mobility.

That was the last time that the computer made a normal startup. The next time, some QuickTime component made bombs at startup; starting up without extensions did bring us to the Finder, where an idea struck me and I made a fatal mistake. Rather than take the opportunity to insert the Mac OS 8 install CD and reinstall the system, I simply copied the System file from the OS 8 CD into the System Folder of the computer. Then I restarted.

From then on nothing worked; we would get an error at the grey screen telling us that the installed system version was not meant to be used on a hard drive.

We never got it to work after that. I feel regret to this very day.

Cheers!
andrewm is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 08:03 PM   #12
Doctor Q
Administrator
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
My worst problem was with a Power Mac 8600 that crashed at seemingly random times for months. I was sooooooooo systematic about finding out whether it was a hardware or software problem. I reinstalled Mac OS from scratch and all my applications, multiple times, yet it kept crashing. I swapped almost every part you can swap. It finally occurred to me (after weeks and weeks) that I had one hardware add-in that I had completely forgotten about - a 2nd network card. I popped it out and never had another mystery crash.
__________________
Oh do pay attention 007. In the wrong hands, this 12-core Mac Pro with three 4K displays, FirePro graphics, and Thunderbolt 2 could be very dangerous.
Doctor Q is offline   0
Old Jul 30, 2004, 08:52 PM   #13
einsteinium
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Back in the days before OS X, I used to have the uncanny ability to crash any Mac within a couple of hours of use. I wouldn't play around with them too much, it was just as if they knew I was willing to delve inside them and they were showing me they were willing to fight back. Fortunately OS X is much better behaved for me
__________________
15" Santa Rosa Macbook Pro, 4GB RAM, 10.5
80 GB iPod, Black
einsteinium is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 12:44 PM   #14
oldfart
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Albuquerque
My Worst Experience on a Mac

Bad RAM !! Man, that can drive you crazy, until you figure it out.

Don't buy the cheap crap and you'll be OK.

Funny though, that would be the only bad experience on a Mac since 1984!!

I repair Windoz machines; Now there's a bad experience!!
__________________
Approach Love and Cooking with reckless abandon!!

Life's too short!!

Last edited by oldfart; Aug 1, 2004 at 02:25 PM.
oldfart is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 01:16 PM   #15
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
My worst Mac experience...

...was ordering the damn thing from John Lewis (UK dept. store) paying up-front, being told that it would be 2 weeks away. Five weeks later, nothing...

Phoned them, 'oh, we don't have any stock in London, there's a model in our Watford store (about 15-20 miles). It'll take a week to get here.
So after cursing, I drove up to Watford in a storm and picked it up myself... got it inside, connected it up and turned it on...

The shrieking of a deranged banshee filled the room, slowly diminishing to the quiet level of a vaccuum-cleaner...

Yep, a dual 1.42 MDD G4... six weeks later, the G5s were announced

To make matters worse, insanity drove me to shell out a lot more more for the full Verax kit.

Mind you, runs like a dream now... but will it be OK for Doom 3?

Last edited by Blue Velvet; Jul 31, 2004 at 01:37 PM.
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 01:49 PM   #16
AssassinOfGates
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A cardboard box.
Send a message via AIM to AssassinOfGates
Using Airport 3.3 or above will cause my computer to crash at random intervals when the network is active. Apple denies the problem exists, yet another user on the Apple discussion boards confirms my beliefs.

Apple will not even take a report from me. I had so many crashes it felt like a Rev. A iMac and OS 9 again -_-
__________________
“Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job.” -D. Adams
AssassinOfGates is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 02:13 PM   #17
JeDiBoYTJ
macrumors 6502a
 
JeDiBoYTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Send a message via AIM to JeDiBoYTJ
my worst mac experience was using an eMac.

its all I had to use at school. a 1ghz 256RAM eMac. I installed Final Cut Pro 4 on it, and it worked fine for a little bit. then after a while, whenever I would go to capture, the picture would freeze... but the computer wasnt "frozen" so to speak. no matter what I did I couldnt get it to close. hitting ESC did nothing, force quitting wouldnt work. the only way out was to hard-restart the computer (pull the plug). FCP would just randomly do that. and on top of that, when I restarted, it puts a HUGE dummy file in the Capture Scratch folder. (like, if there was 41.5gb free on disk, it would make a 41.4gb dummy file). I delete it, and try again. cross my fingers, and it works... and later it doesnt work. sometimes it will consistanly not work, to the point where I have to reinstall FCP.

overall, i've had more mac problems on an eMac than on any other machine (even iMacs work better in my experiences). my friends G4 never had a problem with FCP.

sad thing is, this kid I knew in class bought an eMac for video editing. we all tried to talk him out of it, but he had to buy it because he didnt have enough money for a tower, and he really wanted a mac..... its gonna suck when the display dies on him in a year.
JeDiBoYTJ is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 03:31 PM   #18
7on
macrumors 601
 
7on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Punk Hazard
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxtonandrew
I had that happen to my iMac, only recently. When I turned it on, i saw the standard 'dock' and it had the original applications in it. It didn't really worry me, as it now just sits there gathering dust, and when it is on, i use network startup, and run it off my PMG4.



nope, not in my case, it still has about 2 gigs left on the hdd.

Anywho, my worst Mac experience was when i was living in the US, and tried to update my iMac, i.e. put OS 9.2.2 on it, the US English version didn't work, and because i bought the computer in the states, i needed to do a complete install of the OS, and set it to international english. Worked fine.
I've seen it been done with 2 GB left. OSX generally needs at least 10% of the drive free. For virtual memory I believe. OSX deletes the preference files whenever free space gets low as these are generally safe to remove. THough I wish OSX would warn you first.
__________________
jonshipman.com
7on is offline   0
Old Jul 31, 2004, 06:09 PM   #19
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
My old alu 15" powerbook used to die all the time for no apparent reason. Apple did a special test on the memory I put in, nada. I swapped the sticks of memory, and thats when it didn't crash anymore. So I decided to sell it with only the original stick of apple memory, and sell the rest later. Worked out pretty well. Probably wouldn't have sold it if it didn't crash so much though.
jared_kipe is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 02:12 AM   #20
jacobj
macrumors 65816
 
jacobj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Velvet
...was ordering the damn thing from John Lewis (UK dept. store) paying up-front, being told that it would be 2 weeks away. Five weeks later, nothing...

Phoned them, 'oh, we don't have any stock in London, there's a model in our Watford store (about 15-20 miles). It'll take a week to get here.
So after cursing, I drove up to Watford in a storm and picked it up myself... got it inside, connected it up and turned it on...

The shrieking of a deranged banshee filled the room, slowly diminishing to the quiet level of a vaccuum-cleaner...

Yep, a dual 1.42 MDD G4... six weeks later, the G5s were announced

To make matters worse, insanity drove me to shell out a lot more more for the full Verax kit.

Mind you, runs like a dream now... but will it be OK for Doom 3?
You should have shopped at Micro Anvika. John Lewis or (PJ's) is the best department store in the world for me, but not for technical equipment.

Having said that, I bought my first iPod about 18months only because everytime I went to Peter Jones I saw the little beauty and couldn't resist.

My worst Mac experience is usually the most recent istance of visiting www.apple.com when they have announced a new product that I really want, but can't justify - the last one for me was the G5..

The logic board on my an ibook went, but Apple dealt with that well - actually that's about the only time they did something well. I nearly awlays get emails containing "Thank you for shopping at the Apple Store. The demand for the product you ordered has been higher than anticipated.
We are shipping as quickly as possible, but cannot meet the ship date we previously estimated for you. We now expect to ship your order by..."

So finally, my wrost experience of macs is the inability of Apple to predict stock requirements. The truth is, they don't. They always air on the side of caution at our expense.
jacobj is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 06:37 PM   #21
Butler Trumpet
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Dekalb IL
Send a message via AIM to Butler Trumpet
Very impresive... some of these problems sure suck. I too had the logic board problem... all I can say about that is LAME!!! Ha, but it got fixed fast, for free so thats good. Good respoce everyone!
__________________
ACMT - Apple Certified Macintosh Technician
Mac OS X Certified 10.5, 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9
iOS Hardware and Software Certified
Butler Trumpet is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 08:20 PM   #22
bigsteve3
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: IL
So one time my friend who's a music composition major needed help printing some musical scores the day before his senior composition recital because his printer died. I shared my printer over the LAN at college and went to his room to print the music score to my printer. So I went to the Chooser to select my printer (back before OS X) and the computer froze while he was gone to use the bathroom. Well, I force restarted it with the key combo and when it started rebooting, the sad mac with x's for eye came up and little hex numbers were under it. It played a couple notes from the twilight zone theme and then died...Needless to say my friend was ticked (WHAT DID YOU DO TO MY COMPUTER!). Well, I ended up saving his composition to disk after using a boot CD (his recital went fine), but the computer never worked right again...

-S
bigsteve3 is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 10:09 PM   #23
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
My worst problem was when I was showing off to a friend, showing how you can't screw up a Mac. I dragged the System folder into the Trash, and it actually let me put it in there!

I immediately clicked the Trash can so that I could pull it back out again, but it wouldn't open, presumably because the file necessary to open the Trash were in the Trash.

I did fix it though. I rebooted into OS 9 and dragged the OS X System folder back to its proper place.
Nermal is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 10:14 PM   #24
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
I hate it when McDonald's screws up your Big Mac order, or worse yet gives you a stale/cold Mac.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2004, 10:16 PM   #25
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewm
We never got it to work after that. I feel regret to this very day.
You should've been able to boot from the OS 8 CD and do a clean install.
Nermal is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Worst E-Bay Experience Ever MeatRocket Community Discussion 60 Jun 24, 2013 12:17 PM
Worst Apple customer care experience ever! Applefanboy8153 MacBook Pro 19 Mar 31, 2013 07:13 PM
Worst Upgrade Experience Ever - IOS6 davids8477 iOS 6 4 Sep 23, 2012 08:07 AM
Whats your worst out of box experience with your mac? bsen4961 MacBook Pro 29 Jun 29, 2012 05:09 AM
Worst iMac order experience sloncek iMac 16 Jun 14, 2012 08:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC