Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:27 AM   #1
pjdaoust
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Send a message via Skype™ to pjdaoust
Power Mac G4 and iPhone SDK

I am new to the Mac world and need to know ...

Can I use a Power Mac G4 to develop iPhone applications ?

I have a 400 mhz Power Mac with 512 meg of RAM and a 20 gig HD. Is this enough to run the OS that the iPhone SDK requires. I have a .dmg file that is named iphone_sdk_3.1.2_with_xcode_3.1.2_snow_leopard_10m2003.dmg.

Will this G4 run Snow Leopard effectively or at all ?

Am I barking up the wrong tree with this old dog ? I'd rather know now so I don't waste my time chasing my tail and instead get the right hardware and software to get going with this.

PJD
__________________
Paul J. Daoust
pjdaoust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:29 AM   #2
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
You can't install Snow Leopard on non-Intel machines.

And Leopard (by default, but you can get around this) will refuse to install on machines less than a G4 800mhz (or 867).
__________________
Official MR IRC
Slow news day? Never fear, Digitimes is here. Serving up free hits for techblogs everywhere.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:42 AM   #3
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Leopard or Snow Leopard required.

You can get a MacMini.

No need to pirate the sdk. You can get the sdk from Apple. Software requirement is listed.
http://developer.apple.com/iphone/
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:47 AM   #4
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post
Leopard or Snow Leopard required.

You can get a MacMini.

No need to pirate the sdk. You can get the sdk from Apple. Software requirement is listed.
http://developer.apple.com/iphone/
Wuh? Pirate? That's the filename you get when you download it from Apple. Now that I mention it, I did download mine from TPB, but only because my internet was flaky and I'd lose my sign in after a period of time and my download would cut out.
__________________
Official MR IRC
Slow news day? Never fear, Digitimes is here. Serving up free hits for techblogs everywhere.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 07:58 AM   #5
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Doesn't the iPhone SDK require an Intel Mac?
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Mac G4 Cube? Apple1000 PowerPC Macs 15 Nov 11, 2012 12:25 PM
Using a G4 iMac hard disk in a Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 5 Aug 6, 2011 02:58 AM
USB or FireWire booting a Power Mac G4 Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 7 Jul 8, 2011 12:58 PM
Power Mac G4 and a wireless card icecreamcono PowerPC Macs 2 Nov 17, 2009 07:50 PM
FS/Feeler: Power Mac G4 and G3 Systems jtfolden Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 6 Jul 15, 2005 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC