Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
geekindisguise
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Send a message via AIM to geekindisguise Send a message via Yahoo to geekindisguise Send a message via Skype™ to geekindisguise
What type of RAM for my eMac?

I just recently bought an eMac 1.42Ghz. I heard they can have up to 2GB RAM, but I am not sure where and what type of memory I need to buy. Most places say its PC2700, but in System Profiler it says I have PC3200U-30330. What does that mean? So can I have PC3200 memory also?

And what is a good place to buy memory? Good prices.

I just want to buy another Gigabyte to speed it up...
Also, is there anyway I can get a Bluetooth module to put in it?

THANKS!
__________________
geekindisguise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 04:38 PM   #2
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
emacs take DDR ram
your best bet for DDR is either ebay or craigslist, retailers usually charge a high premium for DDR now a days
as for blu tooth you could buy a small usb adapter for a very small amount of money on ebay and use that, not sure if emacs are directly capable of supporting blu-tooth
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 04:45 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
If this is the eMac model number...

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP44

then it will operate at PC2700 speed.

All faster memory does is downclock to a multiple of speed of the FSB.

The profiler is just reading the chip off the RAM.

---

Faster memory operates at the slower speed, and if you try to put memory too slow in, it doesn't overclock it, it disables it.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 05:23 PM   #4
geekindisguise
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Send a message via AIM to geekindisguise Send a message via Yahoo to geekindisguise Send a message via Skype™ to geekindisguise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked View Post
If this is the eMac model number...

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP44

then it will operate at PC2700 speed.

All faster memory does is downclock to a multiple of speed of the FSB.

The profiler is just reading the chip off the RAM.

---

Faster memory operates at the slower speed, and if you try to put memory too slow in, it doesn't overclock it, it disables it.
Ok, so basically, the person I bought my eMac from just put a faster speed of RAM in it. And it actually works at the speed of a 2700?

Well.... Does any PC2700 DDR work? OR do I have to have a special ECC stuff... I want to buy the right type, the first time.
__________________
geekindisguise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 05:17 PM   #5
hughvane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekindisguise View Post
Does any PC2700 DDR work? OR do I have to have a special ECC stuff... I want to buy the right type, the first time.
High density RAM, which is cheaper, will not work, or it will work for a while and then fail.

I recommend going to OWC http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgr...=Show+Upgrades for the correct type of RAM. You may pay a *little* more, but you'll get the right stuff. Even from way down here in NZ, I buy from OWC. I've recently added two 1 Gb DDR PC2700 modules to my 1.25 eMac - brilliant! The RAM is Hynix brand btw.
__________________
G4 eMac 1.25, 2 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.11
G3 iMac 600, 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.3.9
G3 PPC 350 b/w, dual drives, OS 10.3.9, OS 9.2.2
Numerous peripheral gadgets - all working.
hughvane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where and what type of ram for macbook? Jdm_rsx Buying Tips and Advice 4 Jan 13, 2007 02:59 PM
What type of RAM for powerbook g4 ??? 10-Dee-Q PowerPC Macs 5 May 18, 2006 12:07 PM
What type of Ram for Intel iMac? (details inside) kntgsp Buying Tips and Advice 5 Feb 24, 2006 12:17 PM
Exactly what type of memory does the eMac take? jamdr Macintosh Computers 3 Jun 30, 2005 01:07 AM
What type of ram for G4 imac internal slot? RandomDeadHead Macintosh Computers 5 Nov 14, 2003 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC