Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 18, 2009, 05:36 PM   #1
geekindisguise
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Send a message via AIM to geekindisguise Send a message via Yahoo to geekindisguise Send a message via Skype™ to geekindisguise
What type of RAM for my eMac?

I just recently bought an eMac 1.42Ghz. I heard they can have up to 2GB RAM, but I am not sure where and what type of memory I need to buy. Most places say its PC2700, but in System Profiler it says I have PC3200U-30330. What does that mean? So can I have PC3200 memory also?

And what is a good place to buy memory? Good prices.

I just want to buy another Gigabyte to speed it up...
Also, is there anyway I can get a Bluetooth module to put in it?

THANKS!
__________________
geekindisguise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 05:38 PM   #2
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
emacs take DDR ram
your best bet for DDR is either ebay or craigslist, retailers usually charge a high premium for DDR now a days
as for blu tooth you could buy a small usb adapter for a very small amount of money on ebay and use that, not sure if emacs are directly capable of supporting blu-tooth
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 05:45 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
If this is the eMac model number...

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP44

then it will operate at PC2700 speed.

All faster memory does is downclock to a multiple of speed of the FSB.

The profiler is just reading the chip off the RAM.

---

Faster memory operates at the slower speed, and if you try to put memory too slow in, it doesn't overclock it, it disables it.
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2009, 06:23 PM   #4
geekindisguise
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Send a message via AIM to geekindisguise Send a message via Yahoo to geekindisguise Send a message via Skype™ to geekindisguise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sun Baked View Post
If this is the eMac model number...

http://support.apple.com/kb/SP44

then it will operate at PC2700 speed.

All faster memory does is downclock to a multiple of speed of the FSB.

The profiler is just reading the chip off the RAM.

---

Faster memory operates at the slower speed, and if you try to put memory too slow in, it doesn't overclock it, it disables it.
Ok, so basically, the person I bought my eMac from just put a faster speed of RAM in it. And it actually works at the speed of a 2700?

Well.... Does any PC2700 DDR work? OR do I have to have a special ECC stuff... I want to buy the right type, the first time.
__________________
geekindisguise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 06:17 PM   #5
hughvane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekindisguise View Post
Does any PC2700 DDR work? OR do I have to have a special ECC stuff... I want to buy the right type, the first time.
High density RAM, which is cheaper, will not work, or it will work for a while and then fail.

I recommend going to OWC http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgr...=Show+Upgrades for the correct type of RAM. You may pay a *little* more, but you'll get the right stuff. Even from way down here in NZ, I buy from OWC. I've recently added two 1 Gb DDR PC2700 modules to my 1.25 eMac - brilliant! The RAM is Hynix brand btw.
__________________
G4 eMac 1.25, 2 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.11
G3 iMac 600, 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.3.9
G3 PPC 350 b/w, dual drives, OS 10.3.9, OS 9.2.2
Numerous peripheral gadgets - all working.
hughvane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this RAM fit in an eMac 2005 1,42 Ghz? Mac Hammer Fan PowerPC Macs 4 May 6, 2013 04:08 PM
What type of RAM? SPNarwhal iMac 2 Nov 8, 2012 07:25 PM
1.5 gigs of ram in 1.25 ghz emac KingKen1986 PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 23, 2012 04:56 PM
Possibility of a new type of RAM in new iMac? Nihilist101 iMac 3 Aug 27, 2012 08:32 AM
2009 ram type Drich290195 MacBook 4 Aug 23, 2012 07:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC