Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 19, 2009, 12:50 PM   #1
plong
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
G5 Hard Drive transplant to new Mac Pro

My G5 processors just failed (unfortunately, that seems to be going around). I just ordered a new MP.

Is there any reason why I can't just take the HDs from my old PPC G5 and stick them in the new Mac Pro? I want to keep all my data, and erase what I don't need. Obviously, one of them will have all the operating system files on it (10.4.11).

Will this work?

My initial thought is "of course it will work", but just wanted to check that there isn't some strange PPC vs Intel format compatibility issue.
plong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 01:11 PM   #2
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
They'll install OK, physically and you'll be able to use them just fine. Your mac pro probably won't boot off of your old hard drive but you should be able to transfer your files painlessly using the migration assistant.
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 01:38 PM   #3
plong
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Thanks, that's about what I had hoped to hear.

Cheers.
plong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 02:36 PM   #4
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Your Mac Pro definitely won't boot off your existing boot drive. You'll have to migrate all your files over to the Mac Pro and move to 10.5 or 10.6.

Be sure all your software is Intel compatible and 10.5 or 10.6 compatible.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2009, 04:32 PM   #5
promoose
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by plong View Post
My G5 processors just failed (unfortunately, that seems to be going around). I just ordered a new MP.

Is there any reason why I can't just take the HDs from my old PPC G5 and stick them in the new Mac Pro? I want to keep all my data, and erase what I don't need. Obviously, one of them will have all the operating system files on it (10.4.11).

Will this work?

My initial thought is "of course it will work", but just wanted to check that there isn't some strange PPC vs Intel format compatibility issue.
Worked fine for me. Install your G5 boot disk before your first start up, and the set-up assistant will recognize it.
promoose is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Mac Mini and hard drive enclosure to make bootable drive for Mac Pro sssssshhhhhh OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 May 27, 2014 12:55 PM
2.5" Hard Drive in Mac Pro littlecody8 Mac Pro 6 Feb 9, 2014 04:57 PM
Mac Pro Hard drive temperatures Studio K Mac Pro 4 Jun 10, 2013 01:14 PM
Mac Pro Hard Drive BrioBriss Mac Pro 3 Jan 30, 2013 08:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC