Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2009, 07:56 PM   #1
bcemail
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Trouble adding Powerbook to network

I just inherited a 15" Powerbook G4, and I have a mini current gen. When I start the powerbook, it finds my Airport network, asks me for the password which I put in, and it says it's connected. I can also see the mini and my shared folder in Networks, so I know the powerbook is on the network. When I open Safari, it can't load a page. I run Network Diagnostics, and it gets to the point where it asks if I'm using a DSL or cable modem (I am) and it tells me to reset the device (the modem?), which I do, but it still won't work. What am I doing wrong? I don't understand why, if I'm connected to my network, I can't get online. Am I supposed to be restarting my mini when I reset the modem?

Also, on the powerbook, when I try and unlock the little lock in Network Prefs, etc., it asks for my admin name and password. I put in my user name and password, and I get an error message. It let me change my password, so I know it's right. Is it possible that my admin name is not my user name? If so, is there a way to find out the admin name, because I know the password! I'm looking for my OS X disc, to do a reinstall, if necessary.

Thanks for the help!
bcemail is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 08:55 PM   #2
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcemail View Post
I'm looking for my OS X disc, to do a reinstall, if necessary.
I suggest starting here. No matter where the computer comes from, it's always good to start with a clean install. I do so even when I get a new computer from Apple, since I don't use half of the crap the installer includes, such as printer drivers and iLife apps.

Bear in mind that you can't use your Mini's install disks on any other computer, and certainly not on a PowerPC computer like your PowerBook. If you don't have the PowerBook's restore disks and don't have a retail copy of Mac OS X (Leopard or before), you'll have to find something. Sooner or later, you'll need the restore disks, even if you don't reinstall now. eBay might be a good bet.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 09:08 PM   #3
bcemail
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Well, I have the Powerbook's original discs, but they are OS 10.3, but the computer has been updated to 10.5. So the mini restore disc, which has 10.5 on it, won't work for the Powerbook? Would I have to buy a copy of Leopard? I'm assuming my uncle (who owned the computer before) bought Leopard at some point, so maybe he has the disc? Argh.

And there was obviously a pretty clean reinstall done, because everything is like new. My uncle set up a user account with my name, but it doesn't seem to be the admin name. If that's possible.

Last edited by bcemail; Nov 21, 2009 at 09:18 PM.
bcemail is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2009, 09:34 AM   #4
bcemail
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just wanted to add that I have an Airport Express hooked up to my stereo and my printer. Wasn't sure if that would interfere at all, such as I would connect to that and not to the mini's Airport?
I also had similar problems a week or so ago trying to get a PC onto my network. Not sure what the heck I'm doing wrong. Maybe security or something?!?!
bcemail is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble adding fonts to MS Word khunsanook Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Yesterday 11:17 AM
Trouble moving files to network drive 351Windsor Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 26, 2010 08:10 AM
So I'm having trouble adding funds to my wallet (PSN Store)... Captain Planet Console Games 4 Jun 22, 2010 05:34 AM
Trouble Adding photos to iTouch - 2nd gen. alexlynnx3 iPod touch 0 Jul 7, 2009 01:27 AM
Adding Printer to Network mattmcd Mac Peripherals 2 Mar 12, 2009 01:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC