TimeCapsule NAS problem with Windows 7 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2009, 04:03 AM   #1
Plain Lazy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
TimeCapsule NAS problem with Windows 7

Hi Guys,

first post on MR, so please be gentle...

Post is as the title says - I'm having problems using the NAS features of the TC once my other half’s laptop was upgraded to Windows 7. The TC is a first gen DualBand. It was working perfectly OK using windows vista home premium, and continues to work perfectly on snow leopard on my Mac.

The problem is that access to the drive is REALLY flaky. I was eventually able to map the TC drive within windows, but copying files to the TC, or even browsing the TC errors out at random times, but mostly during the start of a filecopy.

I have tried lots of things so far:

1. Changed the registry key for "LmCompatibilityLevel" as discussed in http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc960646.aspx - this does the same as the group policy editor changes which aren’t available to windows 7 home prem users. This allowed me to actually map the TC share - but gave the same access problems.

2. Tried mapping the share using "net use" at cmd level, by mapping via explorer and by browsing via UNC sharename. All showed the same problems.

3. Tried downgrading the firmware to 7.3.x - unfortunately this isn't possible as the DualBand TC base firmware cannot be below 7.4. Problem still exists on 7.4 and 7.4.1. Firmware 7.5 exists, but just for DualBand MiMo TC owners.

4. Tried both windows 7 home premium 32 and 64 bit, same problem.

5. Tried different WiFi drivers (MS WHQL and Intel WHQL). Same problems.


Anybody got anything different to try? I've run out of ideas. Its becoming a real pain now, as it defeats the object of having a NAS that only 1 machine can access.

Thanks for reading.
Plain Lazy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2009, 06:51 PM   #2
DanielCalladine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney
Hello,

Sorry I can't offer any advice but I have been experiencing the same problems, perfect on Vista but won't work on Windows 7.

It normally causes my girlfriends Dell to blue screen when accessing the TimeCapsule or its attached Airdisk.

It's the Sim Dual Band TimeCapsule and a new Dell with Window 7 Professional.

I came across your post while searching for a solution.

Hopefully someone's got an answer, Cheers, Daniel
DanielCalladine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2009, 08:31 AM   #3
strathmore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hi, there
I'm suffering from the same problem with Windows 7 and AiportExtreme / Airdisk.
No problems with XP or OS 10.5 / 10.6
Virtual Windows 7 with VM-Ware Fusion 3 under Snow-Leopard as well as Hardware Windows 7 on MSI-Wind Netbook.
strathmore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2010, 07:31 PM   #4
Plain Lazy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Solution Maybe?

OK, so after playing about with windows again this afternoon, I'd had a minor success.. see:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....t=105&tstart=0

page 8, second post down under my apple ID of Rob BW.

I'd be interested to see if anybody else has any success too.
Plain Lazy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2010, 02:29 AM   #5
tenderidol
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I'll be damned! I turned off "Windows Search" and restarted the computer. I have been moving files back and forth (sizes ranging from 10KB to 1.2GB) between the desktop and TC and it's working fine. I dont want to jinx it, but if it works like this it's great!

By the way, I am using the most recent refresh of the 2TB TC (firmware 7.5 I believe) and Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. I didn't "map the TC". I am just opening it from My Computer and so far it works. I'll schedule some backups now to see if Windows is able to access and use the TC as a back up drive. We'll see...

Thanks!
__________________
MacBook Pro 15.4" (mid 2009) | Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz ▪ 8GB DDR3 ▪ 9400m + 9600m GT 512MB ▪ Intel X25 G2 160GB SSD

Last edited by tenderidol; Jan 24, 2010 at 03:00 AM.
tenderidol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2010, 04:21 AM   #6
DanielCalladine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney
Thanks tenderidol,

That has seemed to have fixed it for me also!

Is there anyway of only excluding Windows Search from the Time Capsule or does it have to be disabled for everything?

Now all I have to do is to find out how to backup to a network drive again since Microsoft has removed it from the Home Premium version!

Thanks again, Daniel
DanielCalladine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 03:18 PM   #7
greezychicken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by strathmore View Post
Hi, there
I'm suffering from the same problem with Windows 7 and AiportExtreme / Airdisk.
No problems with XP or OS 10.5 / 10.6
Virtual Windows 7 with VM-Ware Fusion 3 under Snow-Leopard as well as Hardware Windows 7 on MSI-Wind Netbook.
I'm also having problems with this with an Airport Extreme (non-dual band) and Windows 7 Home 64 bit. I've tried disabling Windows Search and the LmCompatibility registry hack and they didn't work. Downgrading my AE firmware to 7.3.2 seemed to help with the problem but then my internet would lockup whenever my Macbook Pro (10.6.3) fired up a Time Machine backup.

Both external drives (the one Windows 7 keeps failing on file copy to and the Time Machine drive) are hooked up as Airdisks to the Airport Extreme.
greezychicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS vs TimeCapsule for backup and non-backup storage DutchguyJoost Mac Peripherals 6 Apr 20, 2014 07:38 AM
TM not updating to timecapsule software problem?? guido.coza Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 14, 2013 10:05 AM
Run Windows Bootcamp from NAS? johnphillips81 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Apr 9, 2013 07:37 AM
what is the best NAS for mac, windows and linux? hajime Buying Tips and Advice 5 Feb 5, 2013 07:34 PM
Serious problem with a TimeCapsule HD mortenjensen MacBook Pro 3 Nov 30, 2012 01:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC