Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2009, 06:32 PM   #1
hakr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
Moving from one iMac to another...iMac...

I have an iMac 3.06Ghz and once the "problems" with the new I7 iMacs are fixed, I plan to buy one.

Will there be a way to simply and gracefully move my applications from the old iMac to the new iMac, or will I have to reinstall everything the old fashioned way, from scratch?
__________________
I7 iMac with 8GB of RAM, 15" Macbook Pro, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM. ISO software that will provide Resolution Independence on my iMac!
hakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 06:38 PM   #2
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
There are a few ways. One using an ethernet cable to connect the two and another is Time Machine.

The cable method involves starting your new iMac and when it asks if you want to transfer information just tell it to do so from another Mac and it should find the ethernet connection. It will take some time, depending on the amount of information, and both iMacs will be unusable at the time but this is the fastest way in my experience.
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 06:43 PM   #3
MatLane
macrumors 6502a
 
MatLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: England, United Kingdom
Send a message via AIM to MatLane Send a message via Yahoo to MatLane Send a message via Skype™ to MatLane
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheeto View Post
There are a few ways. One using an ethernet cable to connect the two and another is Time Machine.

The cable method involves starting your new iMac and when it asks if you want to transfer information just tell it to do so from another Mac and it should find the ethernet connection. It will take some time, depending on the amount of information, and both iMacs will be unusable at the time but this is the fastest way in my experience.
I agree with this user. The fastest way also.


Also if you have a time machine backup of the other Mac you can just restore that on the new mac

Good step by step guides on Apples website about Time Machine
Mat L
__________________
2013 iMac 27 inch 3.4GHZ 16GB 3TB Fusion / 2008 Unibody Macbook Pro 15.4 inch / iPad with Retina 16GB WiFi White / iPad 2 WiFi Black / iPhone 4S White 16GB / iPod Classic 160GB (2006)
MatLane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 06:49 PM   #4
hakr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatLane View Post
I agree with this user. The fastest way also.


Also if you have a time machine backup of the other Mac you can just restore that on the new mac

Good step by step guides on Apples website about Time Machine
Mat L

I don't use Time Machine...I use superduper. I don't mind hooking the machines together, if that really works...the "transfer via cable" method, I hope, "reconstructs" the older machine onto the newer machine?

That would be terrific. Does everything end up working the way it should?
Forgive my naivete on this...I'm just trying to avoid a massive headache followed by lots of time reinstalling everything.

Standard ethernet cable ?
__________________
I7 iMac with 8GB of RAM, 15" Macbook Pro, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM. ISO software that will provide Resolution Independence on my iMac!
hakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 07:00 PM   #5
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I'm sorry I've made a mistake. Connecting FIREWIRE between the two is the only direct-wire method.

Connecting your new iMac to the same router that your old one is using will put them on the same network, thus you can use the Migration Assistant via the network. I recommend wiring both iMacs rather than using any WiFi

Apple Support

The first time you start the new iMac it will guide you to the option to transfer files. At that point you will select From Another Mac and select the Network option.
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 08:17 AM   #6
hakr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
Might someone point me to the precise Time Machine documentation on the Apple site that explains how to back up my current iMac so that the backup can be "restored" to a new iMac?

I might be selling my old iMac before the new one arrives...

I have not used Time Machine before...I can back it up to a spare Lacie exterior hard drive I have that currently is connected to my iMac via firewire.

Thanks
__________________
I7 iMac with 8GB of RAM, 15" Macbook Pro, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM. ISO software that will provide Resolution Independence on my iMac!
hakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 08:21 AM   #7
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
If your external drive is large enough to back up alllll of the files on the system, sure.

Time Machine Basics
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 08:42 AM   #8
hakr
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Western shore, Chesapeake Bay. Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheeto View Post
If your external drive is large enough to back up alllll of the files on the system, sure.

Time Machine Basics
Thanks...doing my first TM backup now... it can't be this easy...
__________________
I7 iMac with 8GB of RAM, 15" Macbook Pro, 2.4 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM. ISO software that will provide Resolution Independence on my iMac!
hakr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 09:15 AM   #9
neilhart
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SF Bay Area - Fremont
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakr View Post
I have an iMac 3.06Ghz and once the "problems" with the new I7 iMacs are fixed, I plan to buy one.

Will there be a way to simply and gracefully move my applications from the old iMac to the new iMac, or will I have to reinstall everything the old fashioned way, from scratch?
I am not a time machine user. I use sata external drives in a sata/usb dirve dock and make bootable clone copies. If I were in your position, I would make a clone copy of the your current machine, make a clone copy of the new machine (test boot to both from the original machine just as a check). Then on the new machine with the external drive clone copy of the old machine mounted I would use Migration Assistant.

Migration Assistant gives you choices of what you want to move over. In this case where you have clones of the originals, you can experiment between moving only applications, user accounts, and data.

If you do not already have them, go download SuperDuper and Carbon Copy Cloner; both are user friendly donation ware.

And some are going to pick at using USB instead of firewire. My method is cheap and nearly fool proof.

neil
__________________
Currently 15" rMBP 2.7/16/512 Have owned 17" UMBP and 32GB iPhone, 16GB iPAD, 12" PB, original MiniMac, several 15" and 17" MBPs and the original MBA. I love OS X.
neilhart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 09:34 AM   #10
iWoz
macrumors 6502a
 
iWoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: East Midlands, U.K
Send a message via MSN to iWoz
I did mine using an external hard drive and Time Machine, worked a treat and only took 30 mins
__________________
27' iMac Quad-Core i5
iPhone 5 Black-Slate 64GB
[ iPad 4th Gen 64GB WIFI + Black Leather Apple Smart Cover
iWoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 10:51 AM   #11
tunerX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I used time machine as well. During the initial setup of my i7 it asked where I wanted to get files from. I selected TM and was able to choose what I wanted to restore.

Quick and painless.
tunerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 04:01 PM   #12
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakr View Post
it can't be this easy...
Well...it's Apple
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 05:03 PM   #13
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Apple Migration Assistant.

Apple actually invests money into usability which saves user time and headache (unlike windows).
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 05:09 PM   #14
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Apple invests in impressing me every step of the way

I invest in opting for Apple products whenever I can

I'm very strong-feeling when it comes to brand/company pride but at the same time I'm reasonable and unbiased. Apple and Best Buy and Intel are on the top of my list of people that just don't let down
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 05:55 PM   #15
expergo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCheeto View Post
I'm sorry I've made a mistake. Connecting FIREWIRE between the two is the only direct-wire method.

Connecting your new iMac to the same router that your old one is using will put them on the same network, thus you can use the Migration Assistant via the network. I recommend wiring both iMacs rather than using any WiFi

Apple Support

The first time you start the new iMac it will guide you to the option to transfer files. At that point you will select From Another Mac and select the Network option.
I believe you can actually connect both directly via ethernet as well.
expergo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 05:56 PM   #16
MrCheeto
macrumors 68030
 
MrCheeto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
That's what I thought but it doesn't mention it anywhere on Apple's site =\
MrCheeto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Moving iMac Backup to a new computer VideoBeagle iPad 2 Sep 12, 2013 02:56 PM
Moving from iMac to mac mini nzreg Mac mini 5 Nov 29, 2012 11:20 AM
Moving to iMac from WinXP baxlobs iMac 8 Nov 24, 2012 11:57 AM
Moving from a central iMac to MacBooks... nathanbal Buying Tips and Advice 6 Aug 27, 2012 05:50 PM
Moving to iMac soon Apple fanboy Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 5, 2012 11:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC