Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2009, 11:23 AM   #1
pvmacguy
macrumors 65816
 
pvmacguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PVB
powermac g5 question

So I just got my dad a powermac g5 dual 2.0 ppc. It doesnt have an airport card installed and I was wondering if anyone has ever installed a linksys or d-link wireless pci card in one? Thanks for info guys!
__________________
| iPad2 32 gb wifi | iPhone 4S 16 gb | Macbook Air 11": 1.4ghz; 4gb ram|
GadgetMac
heatware feedback
pvmacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2009, 12:13 PM   #2
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
No i haven't, at least not on a PowerMac G5. I did do this however on an older PowerMac G3 MT a long time ago. It worked but didn't have that great of a signal, or maybe range?


If you are considering buying one, i would first look into finding an Airport Express card, on LEMswap or maybe even here. I think the G5 will have a better antenna, since it wraps around the case on the inside. I think you should be able to find one cheap enough, i just bought one not long ago for $25.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2009, 05:27 PM   #3
pvmacguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pvmacguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PVB
Thanks for the info. I might pick up a generic on cheap pci card and try if it doesnt work return it. I don't want to have to run the antena around the case and find a airport card.
__________________
| iPad2 32 gb wifi | iPhone 4S 16 gb | Macbook Air 11": 1.4ghz; 4gb ram|
GadgetMac
heatware feedback
pvmacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2009, 06:06 PM   #4
gugucom
macrumors 68020
 
gugucom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
You can use any card that uses a Ralink chip. They do very good 300 Mbit/s cards with MIMO technology and three external antenna on the PCI backplane. You can also get USB 2.0 sticks with 300 Mbit/s technology and extension socket. Those do work almost as well. For the high speed versions it is 25-40€ here in Europe. Ralink provide Mac drivers on their web site. Google for products with their chips inside.

http://www.kab24.de/kabel-adapter/ar...il~wkid~1.html

http://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/a404243.html
__________________
MP4,1●3,33GHz Octad●2*160GB SSD●12GB RAM●Blu-Ray●FireDTV-S2●SL/Vista64
uMBP●SL/Vista64
TC 2TB iPhone●16GB

Last edited by gugucom; Nov 27, 2009 at 06:15 PM.
gugucom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2009, 07:23 PM   #5
pvmacguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pvmacguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PVB
Thank you for the replies. I think what im going to do is move my linksys range extender to where the powermac will be and use the front mount ethernet adapter and have a direct connection. Save some $$
__________________
| iPad2 32 gb wifi | iPhone 4S 16 gb | Macbook Air 11": 1.4ghz; 4gb ram|
GadgetMac
heatware feedback
pvmacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
PSU replacement for PowerMac G5 1.8 DP 2004 >>> PM G5 2005? netsurfz PowerPC Macs 3 Sep 7, 2011 09:26 AM
NVIDIA GeForce and PowerMac G5 Question Mac2004 Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 6 Jul 4, 2004 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC