Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 3, 2004, 07:40 PM   #1
pighuddle
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
What's bad about bad RAM?

While in a buying frenzy I went for the "free" RAM (Lifetime warranty either Samsung or Elixir) when I ordered my computer from PowerMax. Was that a mistake? If the RAM's "bad" how does it manifest itself? From what I can tell when RAM is bad the symptoms are fairly dramatic. If it shows up and doesn't cause panics I'm thinking it should be ok. Is that correct or could bad RAM effect performance too? Are Samsung and Elixir substandard brands? -thanks

Last edited by pighuddle; Aug 3, 2004 at 08:36 PM.
pighuddle is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 08:06 PM   #2
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
yeah if your ram is bad it should manifest itself rather quickly either in kernel panicks or not even showing up

i believe apple uses samsung.
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 08:35 PM   #3
Nspace
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via MSN to Nspace
Since I am new to macs I am not sure of all the disadvantages bad ram may have. In terms of pc's bad ram or just generic cam will often not run at agressive or the fastest ram timings. If it does not, you have to lower the ram timings for all of the ram installed to capacitate the lowest. This can reduce performance. I have bought generic ram in the past and in 2 instances I have had problems where the particular chips havent been compatible with the motherboard i was using, either causing instability with the system or causing it not to post.

Ever since I have tried to stick with quality names such as crucial, corsair, and kingston for example. A little extra can go along way.
Nspace is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 08:39 PM   #4
Macmaniac
macrumors 68040
 
Macmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: A tiny spec in the "Garden State", 1 square mile in area, somewhere on the outskirts of town by the railroad tracks
Bad RAM can equal the computer not booting correctly, getting stuck on boot, and freezing in programs. A lifetime warranty can go a long way.
__________________
The customer is NOT always right
Macmaniac is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 08:46 PM   #5
pighuddle
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Thanks

So in other words it should be pretty self-evident right away.

Nspace. Like I say I already bought the RAM From what I can tell it's not 'crap' or generic ram but it's also not the name brands I've heard of.
pighuddle is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 09:11 PM   #6
Golem
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney,Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by pighuddle
Thanks

So in other words it should be pretty self-evident right away.

.
Most times.

But not allways.

We had a machine that was flawless for 12 months then over the course of 3 months started becoming unreliable. Unreliable= crashing once a week. So not exactly problematic but for a server running (24/7) that had previously run 3 months between OS upgrades without restarting it was a problem. We then started having data issues showing up. Reinstalled OS several times,cleared PRAM ran all the tests etc, No improvement. Since all the problems were fairly subtle a few months went past while this went on. Eventually we pulled all the ram and replaced it and all the problems went away.
Golem is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 09:50 PM   #7
AssassinOfGates
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A cardboard box.
Send a message via AIM to AssassinOfGates
Its not always obvious. When I was troubleshooting the airport problem, first thing I checked was the hardware and discovered that the Viking ram I've been using for 2 years is bad. (Tho it was a software problem in the end) Meh. Works flawlessly in OS 9, 10.2, and 10.3 so I really don't care. YMMV
__________________
“Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job.” -D. Adams
AssassinOfGates is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 10:13 PM   #8
jared_kipe
macrumors 68030
 
jared_kipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle
Send a message via AIM to jared_kipe
"bad" ram can also overheat and cause problems. You can put it through a ringer with your hardware test cd. Just put it through an extended test. If it shows nothing but you still suspect, you can take it to an apple store where they can run an extended test.

I do believe memory takes the blame for some problems that might not be memory related, its almost as common as the "fix your premissions" excuses.
jared_kipe is offline   0
Old Aug 3, 2004, 10:23 PM   #9
Timelessblur
Banned
 
Timelessblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nspace
Since I am new to macs I am not sure of all the disadvantages bad ram may have. In terms of pc's bad ram or just generic cam will often not run at agressive or the fastest ram timings. If it does not, you have to lower the ram timings for all of the ram installed to capacitate the lowest. This can reduce performance. I have bought generic ram in the past and in 2 instances I have had problems where the particular chips havent been compatible with the motherboard i was using, either causing instability with the system or causing it not to post.

Ever since I have tried to stick with quality names such as crucial, corsair, and kingston for example. A little extra can go along way.
bad ram on a mac will have the same effect as bad ram on a PC just more so since mac are ram hungery
Timelessblur is offline   0
Old Aug 4, 2004, 12:15 AM   #10
kanker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Indy
Hey, I think I saw this exact question on another board, my exact answer -

Bad RAM is becoming a bigger problem as Apple shrinks the tolerances for RAM's performance. Bad RAM will generally result in kernal panics. When I buy RAM, I get Crucial, since they not only guarantee the RAM, but also guarantee that it will work with your particular computer for life. That said, if they're throwing in free Samsung RAM, I'd feel pretty confident in the RAM's quality, as I believe that Samsung is one of the vendors that Apple uses for RAM. I don't know anything about Elixir, so I won't try to speculate.


__________________
The first computer I ever touched was an Apple ][+. I've never really had to use a DOS/Windows box. Some guys have all the luck.
kanker is offline   0
Old Aug 4, 2004, 01:12 AM   #11
pighuddle
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jared_kipe
"bad" ram can also overheat and cause problems. You can put it through a ringer with your hardware test cd. Just put it through an extended test. If it shows nothing but you still suspect, you can take it to an apple store where they can run an extended test.

I do believe memory takes the blame for some problems that might not be memory related, its almost as common as the "fix your premissions" excuses.
That's a good idea. I guess I've never had bad ram or any big hardware problems (knocking on wood) so I don't think I've checked out the hardware test cd and didn't know there was a ram tester utility. So that's included w the system disks etc. huh? Lern sump'm new ery day.

and yes kanker, pighuddle = dix (from the DP forum) and vice versa. ...are you stalking me?

Thanks!!
pighuddle is offline   0
Old Aug 4, 2004, 01:27 AM   #12
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Buy from Crucial, that is where I get mine. My brother's eMac had some trouble with bad RAM. Sent it back, got a replacement, and voila! Fast eMac. Same with my PowerBook, but without the bad RAM part. All you need to do is run some diagnostic software. Or, I've found that using Xbench (a benchmarking utility) works well too in discovering RAM that works, but but well enough.
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think my RAM is bad? mossme89 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 8, 2013 04:37 AM
Bad ram or something else? cheeserandyburg MacBook Pro 0 Jun 24, 2013 11:53 PM
iMac G5 bad capacitors or bad power supply the problem? jpa66 PowerPC Macs 28 Jan 14, 2013 10:33 PM
iMac G5 bad capacitors or bad power supply? jpa66 iMac 4 Jan 7, 2013 09:05 PM
Bad RAM? Delorean2006 MacBook Pro 1 Nov 5, 2012 07:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC