Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HenMaster6000

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 16, 2003
OK, I'm thinking about making a big audio purchase. First however, I thought that before I blow a couple hundred bucks I'd consult the collective intelligence of the MacRumors forum goers. So here goes...

Essentially, I want to connect my Powerbook G4 (1Ghz, 1gig) to a relatively simple home theater system. Here are my goals...

1.) 5.1 Channel Dolby Digital Sound (for DVDs) synced with video on my monitor
2.) Stereo and Dolby Pro-Logic surround modes for my iTunes music

I've been researching for a couple months and here's my plan. First, buy an M-Audio Transit "bridge" for my computer. The M-Audio adapter will connect to my USB port and output my computer audio to an optical cable. This optical cable will then attach to a Sony DAV-FR1 receiver. The sony connects to its speakers and plays the music.
It sounds like it will work, but I just wanted to ask a few questions-

Will this work? Will my music be delayed through all this equipment?
Does anyone have a set up at all like this?

Thanks alot,
Henry

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
Henry,

The setup you describe will work well with, as far as I can gather, minimal delay through the M-Audio (Sonica Theater, perhaps?).

Perhaps you are firm about the Sony. It's a nice setup. However, it would appear that you cannot upgrade the speakers, as they seem to have odd-shaped plugs.

I would suggest the Onkyo HT-770 (links are all to Crutchfield, though of course you might find better deals elsewhere). The Onkyo unit will have greater quality than the Sony, is 6.1 vs 5.1 (for future expansion), has three optical inputs, etc. However, you need to buy a separate DVD, thus making it about $100 more, effectively.