Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2009, 04:32 AM   #1
psburley
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
2 hdmi devices but only one hdmi input on tv

I have one spare HDMI input on my panasonic TV but want to connect 2 devices, and apple tv and a panasonic HDD/DVD drive. Can someone recommend a low cost 2 in to 1 hdmi please. I have read some auto switch but some are unreliable can anyone make a recomendation and do they work ok for the purpose above?
psburley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 05:47 AM   #2
GilesM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I have a HDMI switcher (two inputs to one output) from this company;
http://www.hdcable.co.uk/hdmi/hdmi-d...dmi-switch?p=1
They no longer seem to do the model I have, it was their own brand and has performed very well over the last year or so.
I guess the newer models would be just as good.
GilesM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 05:54 AM   #3
GilesM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hello, looking closer, I think this is the one I have, it threw me because the image is of a silver unit, mine is black. The rest of the unit is the same though.
http://www.hdcable.co.uk/auto-switch-2-pro2.html
GilesM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 08:26 AM   #4
Rich1963
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Not to hijack this thread, but is anyone still having HDMI issues with AppleTV anymore? There used to be issues right after the 2.0 update where the appleTV would suddenly not play purchased media via HDMI, and would simply give a "You are not authorized to view this content" or some such warning.

I haven't seen any threads on this lately; actually, in a long time...
Rich1963 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 03:06 PM   #5
topmounter
macrumors 68000
 
topmounter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FEMA Region VIII
I bought a 3x1 manual HDMI switch from Amazon earlier this year. It works great, but I wasn't sure whether an 'auto' switch would work for me since I don't turn off my Tivo.
topmounter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2009, 12:29 AM   #6
mscriv
macrumors 68040
 
mscriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
HDMI switchers are available from monoprice.com for great prices. I have a remote control unit I bought from them over a year ago and it's great. My Panasonic HD TV only came with two HDMI connections and getting this switcher solved all of our problems. Not to mention you can also get your cables from them for really cheap.
__________________
I'm a professional therapist. If I deem our forum interaction to be professional in nature then I will bill you. Prompt payment is expected.
mscriv is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best HDMI input available? Andy Greenow Digital Video 6 Feb 26, 2014 10:21 AM
HDMI input to a 2013 iMac 27? sinitry23 iMac 3 Oct 24, 2013 09:30 PM
HDMI input that's lag free? Radiating MacBook Pro 2 Jun 16, 2013 08:40 AM
HDMI Input on MBP 13" rawfuls MacBook Pro 6 Jan 26, 2013 10:40 AM
Will my Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) do HDMI input (With a moshi HDMI adapter?) MarkGibbons Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 6, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC