Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2009, 02:12 PM   #1
aldorande
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
no display on iMac G5 (iSight)

Hello all

today I tried to exit the sleep mode in pressing a key(as usual), but it shows no display, and after a few seconds the fans have become noisy.
I have been using my Mac for bout four years (I almost never turn it off) so I wonder if it is coming to his life's end.

I tried a PRAM reset using the Apple+Alt+P+R keys: I got the second bong but no luck, the display stays black and eventuelly turns off.
I unplug it for a long time, and replug/power on: no luck
I unpluggued all the peripherals (keyboard): same issue, but the power LED blinks/stays off

I'd like to try an SMU reset as mentionned in step 5 of this article:
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2094

I removed the memory access cover as per User guide. But then it mentions two rings in the RAM slots and I think they're inside. So I cannot remove the RAM or take off the back cover.

Any ideas on that or on my issue in general?

Thanks!
aldorande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2009, 04:07 PM   #2
quantum003
macrumors 6502a
 
quantum003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Superposition
Hi,

Does it sound like your machine is working just fine, other than the screen being black? Press the sound keys up and down, etc. If so, take a flashlight and shine it at the screen, look very closely. Do you see a very faint image? If so you just need to replace the display inverter, and you are a very lucky cat indeed.

http://www.google.com/search?q=iMac+...splay+inverter
__________________
busratio=22
quantum003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2009, 01:51 PM   #3
aldorande
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Post

It seems like you said
I hear the bip when pressing the volume key

I am doing a target mode and I'll think I need a quote for the display inverter
aldorande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2009, 10:26 AM   #4
aldorande
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
just a recap. Target mode has worked : I was able to retrieve my 400GB data. It only took my about 14 hours.
Removing the additional RAM would not help.

I believe that it is the display inverter even if I look very closely it's REALLY black. So now I can think of 2 solutions :

1/ getting my new chrismas present: an iMac 21,5'
2/ buying the display inverter on eBay (or selling the parts if I apply solution 1 )
aldorande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2009, 10:31 AM   #5
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Why not do both? Try to fix the G5 up and then sell it on eBay. If it doesn't work you are out at most the cost of the inverter. If it does, you will get a lot more for a working G5. Its probably time to move on to Intel anyway you cut it.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2009, 10:28 PM   #6
aldorande
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
is there any website that will explain how to open a broken mac?
aldorande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 02:13 PM   #7
aldorande
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
any update?
I bought the display inverter but I don't how to open the iMac.
aldorande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 03:01 PM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Look here
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 03:05 PM   #9
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
ifixit has a guide specifically for the inverter

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/I...lacement/979/1
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 04:10 PM   #10
Jordan6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
iMac

I've had both iMac's(pre-isight & iSight) and experienced the same problems and more. I had to keep mine on for weeks-months at a time.I would put it to sleep and it would take about 1-2 days to come back on.I took it to a apple repair center and was told the logic board is fried and the power supply was on it's way out also. The capacitor's exploded. VERY common for these particular iMac's. From what I was told you have to replace the Logic Board, and power supply. Logic board is pretty expensive, so you might be better off saving for a new computer.
Jordan6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Display vs 2011 27" iMac in Target Display Mode? Saint.Icon Mac Peripherals 11 May 29, 2014 09:10 PM
iMac G5 iSight 20". urbis PowerPC Macs 4 May 27, 2014 10:01 AM
iMac g5 20" iSight no display loud fans white light LeeCT iMac 0 Jan 13, 2014 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC