Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2009, 05:34 PM   #1
LexieMSU08
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East Lansing
Can I connect a router to second ethernet port?

Can I connect a wireless router to the second ethernet port of my MacPro?

I have the main ethernet cord from the modem connected to my ethernet port 1, then I connected my router to my computer through ethernet 2, thinking that it would broadcast the internet connection. However, it is not working. The router is broadcasting, but the internet isn't working (and the light indicating internet connection on the router is yellow, not green). Is this something that isn't possible? Or do I need to change settings (not just plug and go)?

Thanks!
LexieMSU08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 05:44 PM   #2
Tiki35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
Power down your modem, router, and computer.

You connect your broadband modem to the WAN (or Internet) port on your router. Then you connect the ethernet cable from your MacPro to one of the available other ports on the router.

Turn the modem on first, wait for it to show that it is online, then power up your router, wait for it boot up, and then turn on your computer.
Tiki35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 08:39 PM   #3
LexieMSU08
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East Lansing
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki35 View Post
Power down your modem, router, and computer.

You connect your broadband modem to the WAN (or Internet) port on your router. Then you connect the ethernet cable from your MacPro to one of the available other ports on the router.

Turn the modem on first, wait for it to show that it is online, then power up your router, wait for it boot up, and then turn on your computer.

I just wanted to bypass my router because I hate it so much, and have the internet directly into my computer, but yet still have wireless for my laptop and my roommate.
LexieMSU08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 09:47 PM   #4
Tiki35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
Nope, sorry that's not going to work, unless you're going to piggyback off of one of your neighbor's wireless routers that has not setup security.
Tiki35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 09:50 PM   #5
Willis
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
I would have advised as suggested above.

However, try sharing your internet from ethernet 1 to ethernet 2, then plugging into your router's LAN port. This could work but I don't know as I've never done it before
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 10:29 PM   #6
Tiki35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
Besides allowing you to share your internet amongst your LAN, it also acts as a hardware firewall. They are so ridiculously cheap, if you don't like your current router, why not purchase another one for security sake.
Tiki35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 10:50 PM   #7
Tomorrow
macrumors 603
 
Tomorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Always a day away
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexieMSU08 View Post
I just wanted to bypass my router because I hate it so much, and have the internet directly into my computer, but yet still have wireless for my laptop and my roommate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki35 View Post
Nope, sorry that's not going to work, unless you're going to piggyback off of one of your neighbor's wireless routers that has not setup security.
Unless I misunderstand the OP's question, this is most certainly possible.

Connect the ethernet cable from the modem to the WAN port of the router and configure the router accordingly.

You can then run an ethernet cable from your computer to the router and plug it into one of the other ports, and still configure the wireless for your laptop and roommate.
__________________
I would scream just to be heard, as if yelling at the stars - I was bleeding just to feel.
You would never say a word, kept me reaching in the dark - always something to conceal.
Tomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 11:24 PM   #8
Tiki35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
That's exactly what I said.
The OP does not want to use the router at all though.
Tiki35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2009, 11:36 PM   #9
LexieMSU08
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East Lansing
I only want to use my router to broadcast wireless to the roomie and laptop. I want to have the ethernet from the modem connected to my desktop, the computer I work from and the one I want the best internet for. I don't want to buy a new router right now, I am saving for a time capsule.

I tried sharing from ethernet 1 to port 2, but with no success, but then again I didn't power everything up in the right order. So I'll try again tomorrow.
LexieMSU08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2009, 12:59 AM   #10
Tomorrow
macrumors 603
 
Tomorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Always a day away
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexieMSU08 View Post
I only want to use my router to broadcast wireless to the roomie and laptop. I want to have the ethernet from the modem connected to my desktop, the computer I work from and the one I want the best internet for. I don't want to buy a new router right now, I am saving for a time capsule.

I tried sharing from ethernet 1 to port 2, but with no success, but then again I didn't power everything up in the right order. So I'll try again tomorrow.
I'm a bit puzzled, what do you mean by "best internet?" It sounds like what you're proposing gives ONLY your computer internet access and locks your roommate and laptop out - is that what you're going for? If so, you'll need a router with an uplink port to connect the second wireless router - although if the router you have is wireless you could accomplish the same thing.
__________________
I would scream just to be heard, as if yelling at the stars - I was bleeding just to feel.
You would never say a word, kept me reaching in the dark - always something to conceal.
Tomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet port keeps getting self-assigned IP address and wont' connect to internet. DramaLLama Mac Basics and Help 8 Dec 19, 2013 06:47 PM
Problem with Ethernet Port nitronce MacBook Pro 5 Jun 18, 2013 07:51 AM
how to get 2 ethernet cables into 1 MBP ethernet port malch MacBook Pro 10 May 2, 2013 12:12 AM
Connect an AirPort Express to an ethernet port to share internet... possible? vodkaPT Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 7, 2013 02:17 PM
Connect to wifi via MacBook Ethernet port sammy.d Mac Peripherals 1 Dec 31, 2012 09:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC