Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sothos

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 4, 2009
I am having a bit of trouble deciding what to buy.

I am a university student, so I switch frequently between classes. Portability is one of my priorities, so I am leaning toward the Air with the ff. specs:

2.13 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
Nvidia 9400M Graphics Processor
128GB Solid State Drive
2GB RAM

I have the following concerns:

1. I will be creating the occasional video every now and then (sometimes it's needed for school), so will the system be able to handle that? It's just light editing and I don't mind if it's slow, but can just finish it. I also want to do some gaming, but I'm not too much into that.

2. Is 2GB RAM enough for current processing needs and for the next two years? I don't like doing too much multitasking (makes you less productive.)

3. I do not mind not having an optical drive as I have an external one. Will an LG optical drive work with the Air or do I need to purchase the SuperDrive?

4. Is the screen really better than the one on the MBP 13"?

5. I do not mind the lack of ports.

6. I really prioritize portability, and price is not much of an issue.

7. I might use it on a bed or couch, does it heat up that much?

These considerations in place, should I buy a macbook air?

Also, can someone provide a Microsoft OneNote substitute?

wako

macrumors 65816
Jun 6, 2005
macbook air IMO is the worst investment you can ever make on a computer. aside from aesthetics, its honestly has nothing else going for it. If I were you, I would just buy a Dell Mini and just install Mac OSX on it. Its 10% of the price, better battery life, smaller, a little bit thicker and if you can get the right model so that everything will run properly, it will work exactly like the MBA in terms of multitouch and what not.

pol0001

macrumors 6502
Apr 15, 2008
London