Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2009, 04:18 PM   #1
unklebilly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hard starts on g5

My powermac g5 dual 2.0 has "cold starts". In the morning it takes as many as 10 tries before I get a successful start. Pretty much after that if I shut it down it will start the first time for the day. I was thinking maybe a video problem cause sometimes it seems to start and I can eject the tray I just have no screen. I am using an apple cinema screen. It has a flashing light on it that signifies the backlamp is going out however it has done this for years. I thought maybe a ram problem as well so I reset the pram to no avail. Any light? I hate the repeated force quits to get it to start everyday.
unklebilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 05:50 PM   #2
unklebilly
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
am i posting in the correct place?
unklebilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 05:56 PM   #3
rjames86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Francisco
I believe you're in the right place. Sadly I have nothing else to offer you here. I've never come across a problem like that before. Good luck!
rjames86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 07:28 PM   #4
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Dying hard drives on PMG5s are notoriously hard to diagnose. Try a new one.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 07:46 PM   #5
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Backup all of your personal data and then do a fresh install. If you have problems, it could be a dying hard drive. Be sure to back up ASAP! Are you using Leopard 10.5? Time Machine is a great backup utility.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 08:25 PM   #6
MacVidCards
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
There is a guy on the Apple forums who found a way to use a hair dryer to solve a very similar sounding problem.

While lead has been bad for us healthwise, removing it from our electronics has been bad for long term health of these devices.

The guy found a specific place on logicboard that if heated before boot, led to a happy machine.

Basically, the lead free solder isn't as resilient as the old deadly stuff. Before long, thermal changes create a small crack in a solder joint under a chip. Once heated the BGA attached component stays in contact due to expansion from heat.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 09:02 PM   #7
unklebilly
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I have an external with an old os on it. ill give it a try. if it boots normally from that then the dying hd is a great possibility. Otherwise I can solder and have some flux just show me the way!
unklebilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2009, 09:49 PM   #8
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
As long as that external HDD is Firewire then it will boot. Otherwise you can just remove it and install it in the second HDD bay or if it's an IDE drive, you can install it in the optical drive bay if you want it to boot.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:42 PM   #9
unklebilly
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Here's a helpful update. Since the tray opens even when it appears it failed to start I performed a test. I set itunes to open automatically when a cd is inserted so if it has started but I just have no screen all I have to do is hit space bar and music should play. So I hit space bar and music played. So now what? Is my cinema screen dying or is it my video card? Or neither? IS there any way to narrow it down more without having another screen or card?
unklebilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 04:51 PM   #10
MacVidCards
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
If backlight has failed you can use a flashlight to examine screen.

The image will still be there....just very dark and only partially visible when illuminated by flashlight.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 10:46 PM   #11
unklebilly
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I will check that. is this something that can be intermittent? it does work after several tries.
unklebilly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External hard drives on network not recognized scisport iMac 2 Mar 18, 2012 08:08 AM
Boot MacBook off desktop hard drive emettsantucci MacBook 2 May 25, 2011 12:52 AM
Need help replacing hard drive on G5 fireshot91 PowerPC Macs 12 Jun 20, 2009 09:20 PM
Need nubs to install second hard drive on G5 ppc oldmanmax Mac Peripherals 1 Dec 30, 2008 07:56 AM
SixtyForce won't start on G5 10.4.8? ShopJockey Games 2 Feb 12, 2007 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC