Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2009, 07:22 PM   #1
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Games That Run on MBA

Note: These are games tested on a MacBook Air with the following specs: 2.13GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR3 Integrated Ram, 256MB Shared nVidia GeForce 9400M Video Card, Windows Vista SP2 Business x86. This DOES NOT include the Rev. A (1.6GHz/1.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2 Integrated Ram, 144MB Shared Intel X3100 Video Card) models.

Rating scale: 1-5 (FPS Based off lowest possible graphics settings)

1 - Poor/Won't Run. (>10 FPS)
2 - Runs but poorly (10-15 FPS)
3 - Playable (16-25 FPS)
4 - Very Playable (25-40 FPS)
5 - Go crazy (40+ FPS)

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - 5
Call of Duty 5: World at War - 3
Call of Duty 6: Modern Warfare 2 - 5
Counter Strike: Source - 5
Day of Defeat: Source - 5
Colin McRae: DiRT2 - 4
Grand Theft Auto 4 - 2
Left 4 Dead - 4
Left 4 Dead 2 - 4
MotoGP 2008 - 4
Need for Speed Undercover - 5
Sid Meier's Civilization 4 (All expansions) - 5
Sins of a Solar Empire (Includes Entrenchment Expansion) - 5
Star Trek DAC - 3
Star Wars Empires at War - 4
Test Drive Unlimited - 4
X3 Terran Conflict - 4
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.4, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 5 | White, 64GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1.2
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, T-Mobile, iOS 7.1.2
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 05:53 AM   #2
lucifiel
macrumors 6502a
 
lucifiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In your basement
Batman AA is a 4
Dragon Age: Origins is a 4
Borderlands is a 3 or 4

those are my current additions.
lucifiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 09:23 AM   #3
WotanAgain
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Using an MBA for playing 3d accelerated games is just silly.

Last edited by SilentPanda; Dec 9, 2009 at 01:47 PM. Reason: removed insult
WotanAgain is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 11:10 AM   #4
sportsfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Think a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WotanAgain View Post
Using an MBA for playing 3d accelerated games is just silly
Beats packing up your rig when going on a trip.

Last edited by SilentPanda; Dec 9, 2009 at 01:46 PM. Reason: removed insult
sportsfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:04 PM   #5
MacModMachine
macrumors 68000
 
MacModMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by WotanAgain View Post
Using an MBA for playing 3d accelerated games is just silly
because it probably plays them better then your desktop
__________________
MBPr - 13" 2.5/8GB/128GB (Swapped for 480 OWC Aura)

Last edited by SilentPanda; Dec 9, 2009 at 01:47 PM. Reason: fixed quote
MacModMachine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 02:03 PM   #6
lucifiel
macrumors 6502a
 
lucifiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: In your basement
Quote:
Originally Posted by WotanAgain View Post
Using an MBA for playing 3d accelerated games is just silly.
totally useful comment, we have all be thoroughly enriched by this.

I am so glad that this was posted, now I know I've been doing it wrong.
lucifiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 03:07 PM   #7
Jayomat
macrumors 6502a
 
Jayomat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
cod:mw2 "rated" 5 ? wow.. not bad^^
Jayomat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 06:29 PM   #8
ayeying
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayomat View Post
cod:mw2 "rated" 5 ? wow.. not bad^^
Not sure why but MW2 plays so much better than WoW with the same settings
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" | 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Iris Pro + GT 750M 2GB, Retina, 10.9.4, 8.1 Pro Update 1
iPhone 5 | White, 64GB, AT&T, iOS 7.1.2
iPad Mini | White, 32GB, T-Mobile, iOS 7.1.2
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 02:00 AM   #9
zunairryk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
Not sure why but MW2 plays so much better than WoW with the same settings
what settings do you play it on?
zunairryk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 02:22 AM   #10
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
I saw Plants vs. Zombies playing on one just fine
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run old pc games on a mac apple mac user MacBook Pro 7 Feb 9, 2014 02:33 AM
OS X: Will my Mac run games smoothly? Batsassin Mac and PC Games 3 Dec 9, 2013 05:15 AM
Will my MacBook run games Applepie047704 MacBook 7 Jun 17, 2013 08:56 PM
Run Fullscreen Games in a Window Morshu9001 OS X 0 Jan 20, 2013 11:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC