Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2009, 11:49 PM   #1
secretanchitman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
itunes 1600 error help. tried everything...:( - SOLVED!

every single time, whenever i try to restore, i get the itunes 1600 error.

i have no clue what im doing wrong. i have jailbroken/unlocked my 3GS before. i had to get a new one the other day because the battery kept draining too quickly (at stock, every setting was off), and somehow, mine just refuses to accept custom firmware. i literally can jailbreak/unlock any other iphone but my own. in fact, i just jailbroke and unlocked an iphone 3G at 3.1.2 using the exact same method ive done for my 3GS. ive tried my windows machine, my dads macbook pro, and my own macbook pro, and they ALL say that my phone has the 1600 error. i dont think its my usb cable or port, because ive tried both ports and my usb hub, as well as different cables.

last time i got this error, i believe i just turned off the internet. but now when i do that, itunes refuses to see my iphone (when its in DFU/recovery mode) because it cant connect to the internet.

of course, i can restore just perfectly with the stock firmware. i KNOW this phone is jailbreakable...what the heck should i do now?
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4

Last edited by secretanchitman; Dec 9, 2009 at 01:31 AM.
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:04 AM   #2
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Sounds like you got one of the more recent 3gs with the modified iBoot. You'll need to use blckra1n to jailbreak it, and it'll be a tethered jailbreak.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:21 AM   #3
secretanchitman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Spring View Post
Sounds like you got one of the more recent 3gs with the modified iBoot. You'll need to use blckra1n to jailbreak it, and it'll be a tethered jailbreak.
thats the thing...i have the older iboot

http://i45.tinypic.com/j7yu5z.jpg
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:26 AM   #4
Night Spring
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by secretanchitman View Post
thats the thing...i have the older iboot

http://i45.tinypic.com/j7yu5z.jpg
Wow, that's weird!

I'd try blackra1n anyway. I think pwnage tool sometimes had problems with previously unjailbroken 3gs.
Night Spring is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:35 AM   #5
secretanchitman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Spring View Post
Wow, that's weird!

I'd try blackra1n anyway. I think pwnage tool sometimes had problems with previously unjailbroken 3gs.
i think i will. thats the only thing i didnt do. if that works, guess ill have to settle for that.

thanks for the input man, i appreciate it!
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:31 AM   #6
secretanchitman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
i re-ran blackra1n, got it to work, then after installing winterboard, it got stuck at the apple logo and kept restarting. i put it to recovery mode (turned it off manually, then held down just the home button and then plugged it into my computer), and i restored using custom firmware, and holy mother of god, it accepted it.

this has been the absolute most weird iphone ive ever seen.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:32 AM   #7
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
If your phone is not currently already jailbroken, you have to use PwnageTool to pwn your phone before you can install a custom firmware. Only a pwned phone can accept a pwned firmware. Tondo this, make sure your phone is connected to your computer, create a new custom firmware, and, when asked, say that your phone is not previously pwned. PwnageTool will then plement the 24Kpwn to bypass the signature check.

ETA: the reason installing the custom furmware worked after you used blackra1n is that blackra1n implements the 24kpwn, just like PwnageTool. This breaks the chain-of-trust and allows a custom firmware to be installed.
__________________
Late 2008 (Penryn) 13" White MacBook 2.4 GHz Core2Duo, 4 GB Ram, Samsung 840p SSD; iPhone 4S 64 GB, AppleCare+
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 02:32 AM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
160x errors are USB errors. I know the problem is solved, but it's better you know.

Next time you see 160x error, try another port, doesn't work, try rebooting laptop/desktop, doesn't work, try another computer.

If by this time it doesn't work, call Apple.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 10:26 AM   #9
Moi un Mouton
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bracknell UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
160x errors are USB errors. I know the problem is solved, but it's better you know.

Next time you see 160x error, try another port, doesn't work, try rebooting laptop/desktop, doesn't work, try another computer.

If by this time it doesn't work, call Apple.
Even demi-gods should read the thread, not just the title
Moi un Mouton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 11:35 AM   #10
secretanchitman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
160x errors are USB errors. I know the problem is solved, but it's better you know.

Next time you see 160x error, try another port, doesn't work, try rebooting laptop/desktop, doesn't work, try another computer.

If by this time it doesn't work, call Apple.
already did so and stated it in my OP

the latinist - trust me, i was doing exactly that. ive been jailbreaking/unlocking for years now and its never ever failed on me until now. thats what i thought too, but pwnage tool didnt even see my iphone 3GS when i wanted to put it in DFU mode (had to do it manually). it saw literally every other iphone but mine. i actually created 2 custom firmwares - one that i said no to if it was previously pwned and the other that i clicked yes to, just to see if that would make any difference. my old 3GS just accepted the custom firmware without any problem.

well now the issue is thankfully resolved
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:28 PM   #11
thelatinist
macrumors 603
 
thelatinist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Connecticut, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by secretanchitman View Post
already did so and stated it in my OP

the latinist - trust me, i was doing exactly that. ive been jailbreaking/unlocking for years now and its never ever failed on me until now. thats what i thought too, but pwnage tool didnt even see my iphone 3GS when i wanted to put it in DFU mode (had to do it manually). it saw literally every other iphone but mine. i actually created 2 custom firmwares - one that i said no to if it was previously pwned and the other that i clicked yes to, just to see if that would make any difference. my old 3GS just accepted the custom firmware without any problem.

well now the issue is thankfully resolved
Clearly your other 3GS was already pwned. I don't think you understand: the pwning doesn't do anything to the custom firmware, it does something to iBoot. It happens right after you click "No" in PwnageTool. If you didn't have your phone plugged in or if it wasn't recognized by your computer at that time, it would not have been pwned. Unless PwnageTool told you your phone was pwned, it wasn't -- and that is why it wouldn't accept a custom firmware until after you blackra1ned it.
__________________
Late 2008 (Penryn) 13" White MacBook 2.4 GHz Core2Duo, 4 GB Ram, Samsung 840p SSD; iPhone 4S 64 GB, AppleCare+
thelatinist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2009, 10:07 PM   #12
scottuf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL
i am having this exact problem right now. i was having issues with my already pwned 3gs, so i decided it was time to start anew. i also decided the partition size i used before was too big, so i created a new ipsw with the default 608MB partition. pwned it just fine, but as with the last time i used the default partition size, sync speeds were painfully slow (i mean PAINFUL). don't know if it was due to the partition size, but last time i increased it and that solved all of my problems with USB transfers, so decided i'll just use the same ipsw as last time. well, fun fun, i go to reboot and put into recovery mode, and it won't go. just refused to get past the boot logo into recovery. so after trying like 10 times, i try DFU, and all i can get from that is the 1600 error.

what to do, what to do. unlike OP, I can NOT NOT NOT get into recovery mode, and can't get past 1600 error.

thinking, i still have my old 3.0 ipsw. AH HA! I'll use Saurik's server to validate my downgrade to 3.0, and then re-JB 3.1.2. 3.0 bing installed right now, and i get to save by 4.11 BB.

happy once again. just going to take an extra hour or so. oh well.

EDIT: Not so happy right now iPhone REFUSES to update to my custom ipsw, giving a 1604 error on 2 different computers while in Recovery mode and 1600 error if in DFU. So mad right now!!! at least our buddy Geohot got Blackra1n for us, though I didn't want to update my BB. Doing an iTunes 3.1.2 restore now, and its taking that for whatever reason. Don't understand why the pwnage tool ipsws wouldn't work (tried several). UGH!!!

Last edited by scottuf; Dec 13, 2009 at 11:24 PM.
scottuf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2009, 11:17 PM   #13
secretanchitman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottuf View Post
i am having this exact problem right now. i was having issues with my already pwned 3gs, so i decided it was time to start anew. i also decided the partition size i used before was too big, so i created a new ipsw with the default 608MB partition. pwned it just fine, but as with the last time i used the default partition size, sync speeds were painfully slow (i mean PAINFUL). don't know if it was due to the partition size, but last time i increased it and that solved all of my problems with USB transfers, so decided i'll just use the same ipsw as last time. well, fun fun, i go to reboot and put into recovery mode, and it won't go. just refused to get past the boot logo into recovery. so after trying like 10 times, i try DFU, and all i can get from that is the 1600 error.

what to do, what to do. unlike OP, I can NOT NOT NOT get into recovery mode, and can't get past 1600 error.

thinking, i still have my old 3.0 ipsw. AH HA! I'll use Saurik's server to validate my downgrade to 3.0, and then re-JB 3.1.2. 3.0 bing installed right now, and i get to save by 4.11 BB.

happy once again. just going to take an extra hour or so. oh well.
lol jailbreak first using blackra1n. i was then able to put pwnage tools custom ipsw on it after .

to get into DFU mode, turn off your iphone first first, then turn back on, holding down the power and home buttons together for exactly 10 seconds, then let go of the top power button, and then keep holding the home button until itunes says youve entered recovery mode. if it says it cant detect an ipod, just unplug and replug it back in - your iphone will stay in recovery mode still.

to get into recovery mode, leave itunes open and then unplug your iphone from the cable and turn it off. before turning it back on, hold the home button down while plugging the cable back in. itunes will then detect it in recovery mode.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB (Space Grey) on Sprint
Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2013) | Core i7 2.6Ghz | Nvidia Geforce GT 750m 2GB | 16GB DDR3-1600 | 1TB PCI-E SSD | 2880x1800 Retina | OSX 10.9.4
secretanchitman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2009, 11:55 PM   #14
scottuf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by secretanchitman View Post
lol jailbreak first using blackra1n. i was then able to put pwnage tools custom ipsw on it after .

to get into DFU mode, turn off your iphone first first, then turn back on, holding down the power and home buttons together for exactly 10 seconds, then let go of the top power button, and then keep holding the home button until itunes says youve entered recovery mode. if it says it cant detect an ipod, just unplug and replug it back in - your iphone will stay in recovery mode still.

to get into recovery mode, leave itunes open and then unplug your iphone from the cable and turn it off. before turning it back on, hold the home button down while plugging the cable back in. itunes will then detect it in recovery mode.
thanks, but this i know! itunes/iphone still don't want to play nicely. finally got it to 3.1.2 with the 5 BB (wanted to keep my 4.11 - oh well), just ran BR, now waiting for Cydia to reorganize. this is taking WAAYYYYYYY longer that it should have. i should be asleep by now.
scottuf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2009, 01:14 AM   #15
scottuf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL
i'm so upset right now - i've restored to 3.1.2 twice now, and it is having problems booting, just sits on the apple logo FOREVER! just restored it - AGAIN - and booted up. ran blackra1n, took about 2 mins just to get into recovery mode, again sat there with apple logo, black rain ran, said waiting for reboot, and now just sitting with apple logo again, not doing anything. WTF? why is it taking so long to boot? i guess i'll just go to bed now and hope its all booted up in the morning.

i really really really don't want to have to take this thing into apple and get a replacement with a new bootrom. that would really ruin my day. i love being able to be jailbroken.

anyone have any insight as to what may be going on here?
scottuf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2009, 12:34 PM   #16
scottuf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jupiter, FL
an update if anyone cares...

left the phone syncing overnight (1am-7am) and of my 6000+ songs, it only got thru about 2500 so something still isn't right. also, it takes 4-5 min to reboot. i'm going to try to reinstall the pwned firmware that i had on it last time that worked. the problem is getting it into recovery mode to install that. holding the home button 20-30 seconds isn't taking, i have a feeling that i'll need to sit on it for much much longer. it doesn't even show up in system profiler, but if i wait long enough it boots.

maybe i'll try to downgrade one more time before pwning 3.1.2. this time i'll re-run redsn0w before upgrading to "re-pwn" it. maybe that's the missing step. UGH!!!

any ideas?

EDIT - PROBLEM SOLVED!!!

for those interested - problem was when i downgraded to 3.0 i didn't follow saurik's directions properly, i only restored once, should've restored twice. the 2nd time reformats the nand. i think by not doing that step the iphone was having problems booting, and all usb sync connections. i am now happily back on 3.1.2 FW, even though i have 5.11 BB, thanks to geohot, i can still unlock if needed. all is good once again.

Last edited by scottuf; Dec 14, 2009 at 11:50 PM.
scottuf is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iTunes error 1600 and 1604 can't restore h4mza Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Apr 9, 2013 07:49 PM
iPhone: iTunes 1600 ERROR Reykor Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Feb 24, 2013 06:12 PM
iPhone: Having trouble Downgrading from IOS 6.0 to 5.1.1 with Itunes error 3194 and 1600 cap2587 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Dec 18, 2012 02:41 PM
iTunes restore error 1600 iClive iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 11 Oct 24, 2012 10:03 AM
iPhone: Constant itunes restore error 1600 bobhammer Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Oct 2, 2012 08:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC