Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2009, 11:15 AM   #1
Viltgance
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Wich hard drive to replace a broken one....

Good day to everybody. This is the first time I post on this forum and I hope you'll help me.

I recently bought a MBA but after some months the HD gave up. So I bought a generic Samsung HS082HB 1,8" zif HD to replace the broken HD. I thought I bought the right one but my MBA wasn't able to recognize the new HD. This new HD is a generic Samsung while the original was the one with the apple () printed on the label. So I ask you: do I need the certified one or did I miss something in replacing the HD?

Many thanks to everyone!
Viltgance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:46 PM   #2
nep61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
I'll ask a silly question... After installing the new HD... did you restart the computer with the Original OS backup disk in while holding down the "C" key?... Hold on, I just re-read your post...you have an MBA. You'd need an external CD/DVD drive to install the OS on your new HD.
nep61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2009, 04:49 PM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
If you boot from the CD and then go to Utilities and then Disk Utility, does the hard drive show up on the left panel?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 02:55 AM   #4
Viltgance
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nep61 View Post
I'll ask a silly question... After installing the new HD... did you restart the computer with the Original OS backup disk in while holding down the "C" key?... Hold on, I just re-read your post...you have an MBA. You'd need an external CD/DVD drive to install the OS on your new HD.
Yes, I did. I also used an external drive. I read several guides before doing this and I think I've done everything correctly but for some reason the installation procedure doesn't see my Samsung. I tried two of those new hard drives.

Viltgance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 03:00 AM   #5
Viltgance
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBookG4user View Post
If you boot from the CD and then go to Utilities and then Disk Utility, does the hard drive show up on the left panel?
No, the Disk Utility shows no ATA HD in the machine, still the HD is fully connected (zif cable hooked and black stripe down, all cables connected). I also tried to format the HD using my Asus EEEPC 901 with Macdrive 8.
Viltgance is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth it to replace hard drive again? MacNewbie03 iMac 10 Apr 7, 2014 11:24 AM
Replace Hard Drive to SSD? kasmokia Mac Basics and Help 8 Feb 18, 2013 10:46 PM
Have to replace hard drive AGAIN!! Goglin iMac 9 Jan 4, 2013 01:09 PM
Failed Hard Drive - How and with what should I replace it? ckooiker MacBook Pro 6 Dec 1, 2012 01:24 PM
need to replace hard drive on imac please help! ngraysva iMac 8 Nov 8, 2012 12:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC