Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:30 PM   #1
MattMK45
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Dual drives in a powerbook g4?

Now, before I start. I do not intend to do what i am about to say if it can be proved possible. I also don't want anyone saying, 'just get a new mac' for this is an experiment.

Ok, so I know it is possible to take the superdrive out, which to me seems a bit of a gamble (because you never know when you will need it) in place for a second hdd/ssd.

What i would like to know is if, with the extra space, get an ide to sata converter and then hook a more powerful sata ssd as your boot up drive and use the intended hard drive space for a second hard drive for more storage.

I would like to know if you think this could work, or even if you have tried it yourself.

Thanks
MattMK45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:37 PM   #2
Gabriel GR
macrumors 6502a
 
Gabriel GR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
If you don't feel like experimenting with custom brackets, adapters etc there is the optibay for this exact purpose.

http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/m...roduct_Count=4
__________________
Gabriel. 13" Macbook Pro 2.26GHz, 8GB RAM, Intel X-25M 160 GB
Gabriel GR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 01:04 PM   #3
MattMK45
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
sweet! thanks! Geez i did not even think to wonder if they made these, does it automatically swith it to sata then?
MattMK45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 01:12 PM   #4
rowsdower
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
From the site:

Quote:
# OptiBay Bare Enclosure with IDE Hard Drive Interface requires a 2.5" IDE/PATA hard drive 9.5mm or less in height.
# OptiBay Bare Enclosure with SATA Hard Drive Interface requires a 2.5" SATA hard drive 9.5mm or less in height. Please note that this is not the same type of (IDE) hard drive required for this system's standard internal hard drive.
I assume this means that it does not do any conversion.
rowsdower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 03:13 PM   #5
Gabriel GR
macrumors 6502a
 
Gabriel GR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
I think that the optibay connects to your mac with a PATA cable. Yet it gives you the option to chose between a PATA (IDE) or SATA drive. I think in the long run, spending more fore the SATA version is more cost effective because you can put bigger, cheaper and faster drives in it.
__________________
Gabriel. 13" Macbook Pro 2.26GHz, 8GB RAM, Intel X-25M 160 GB
Gabriel GR is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4x IDE Drives in PowerMac G4 (Dual 1GHz QS) mseth PowerPC Macs 30 Jun 22, 2014 05:29 AM
How to back up a Mac mini with dual drives TheRealUni Mac mini 14 Jan 28, 2014 09:07 AM
Which iMacs can utilize dual drives? comatory iMac 0 Oct 13, 2013 01:16 PM
Benefit of fusion drive vs dual drives? tmanto02 Mac mini 46 May 6, 2013 11:55 AM
Backup system for dual drives macstatic OS X 0 Jan 6, 2013 06:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC