Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:30 PM   #1
MattMK45
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Dual drives in a powerbook g4?

Now, before I start. I do not intend to do what i am about to say if it can be proved possible. I also don't want anyone saying, 'just get a new mac' for this is an experiment.

Ok, so I know it is possible to take the superdrive out, which to me seems a bit of a gamble (because you never know when you will need it) in place for a second hdd/ssd.

What i would like to know is if, with the extra space, get an ide to sata converter and then hook a more powerful sata ssd as your boot up drive and use the intended hard drive space for a second hard drive for more storage.

I would like to know if you think this could work, or even if you have tried it yourself.

Thanks
MattMK45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 12:37 PM   #2
Gabriel GR
macrumors 6502a
 
Gabriel GR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
If you don't feel like experimenting with custom brackets, adapters etc there is the optibay for this exact purpose.

http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/m...roduct_Count=4
__________________
Gabriel. 13" Macbook Pro 2.26GHz, 8GB RAM, Intel X-25M 160 GB
Gabriel GR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 01:04 PM   #3
MattMK45
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
sweet! thanks! Geez i did not even think to wonder if they made these, does it automatically swith it to sata then?
MattMK45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 01:12 PM   #4
rowsdower
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
From the site:

Quote:
# OptiBay Bare Enclosure with IDE Hard Drive Interface requires a 2.5" IDE/PATA hard drive 9.5mm or less in height.
# OptiBay Bare Enclosure with SATA Hard Drive Interface requires a 2.5" SATA hard drive 9.5mm or less in height. Please note that this is not the same type of (IDE) hard drive required for this system's standard internal hard drive.
I assume this means that it does not do any conversion.
rowsdower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 03:13 PM   #5
Gabriel GR
macrumors 6502a
 
Gabriel GR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
I think that the optibay connects to your mac with a PATA cable. Yet it gives you the option to chose between a PATA (IDE) or SATA drive. I think in the long run, spending more fore the SATA version is more cost effective because you can put bigger, cheaper and faster drives in it.
__________________
Gabriel. 13" Macbook Pro 2.26GHz, 8GB RAM, Intel X-25M 160 GB
Gabriel GR is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put a 500gb hard drive in my Powerbook G4 1.5ghz? touchmanic PowerPC Macs 10 May 16, 2012 03:48 PM
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
will this hard drive work in my powerbook g4? MattMK45 PowerPC Macs 5 Sep 29, 2009 07:19 PM
Hard drive advice for Powerbook G4 liketom PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 22, 2006 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC