Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2009, 09:40 AM   #1
xDLiam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Exclamation PowerBook G4 wifi problems? Help?

Hey, I bought myself a PowerBook G4(FW800 1GHz 15") the other day, because I haven't got the cash for a new apple computer. Anyway I set it all up and that, then I went to connect to my wifi(netgear) and I put n the password(which was correct) then I got a message saying 'cannot connect to airport network 'NetGear' ' or something like that anyway. Yeah so that's my problem, also when I tried connecting to it in other ways it said my password was incorrect but it wasn't.

I've been searching for the past couple of the days if there is anyway to fix this but I haven't found any solution.. I've notice loads of other people have had this same problem! It's really annoying. And to be honest I'm not a computer wiz at all, so if anyone is kind enough to help please make it easy? Oh yeah I have an airport extreme card and a Netgear WGR614 router. I know it can't be the routers fault because we have 3 other pc laptops that are connected no bother, a ps3 connected with no bother and two iPhones connected with no problem..

I really really want some help with this?. Thank you so much in advance!.
xDLiam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2009, 09:49 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
What Mac OS X version is on that computer?

Go to the on the top left, select About this Mac.



If it is older (<10.3.3) it might have a problem with the router.

Also have you tried connecting to the router via an ethernet cable and checked what settings the router has?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2009, 10:27 AM   #3
jodelli
macrumors Demi-God
 
jodelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Windsor, ON, Canada
I'm not familiar with Netgear other than the ethernet switch I have.

However I have had to drop the MAC address filtering temporarily on my D Link router to 'let in' a computer or two at times.

BTW, I have both Airport Extreme and Ethernet active on this particular computer which is also a 15" G4 (last gen)

Your Network setting look something like this>
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	w.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	207940  

Last edited by jodelli; Dec 20, 2009 at 10:32 AM. Reason: explanation
jodelli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2009, 04:13 PM   #4
xDLiam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I'm running on Panther 10.9 I do plan to ugrade but not atm maybe late January. And I don't think it's anything to do with letting another computer in and my settings don't look like that, well they do but they're blank with no addresses in.

I've tried my pb through Ethernet and it worked fine and connected to the Internet, but I haven't connected my router to my pb because I only have one Ethernet wire wich is connected to the modem and I thought that if I disconected it from the modem and into my router it'd just be connected but the Internet wouldn't work and that I wouldn't get any addresses? :S
xDLiam is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 won't connect to school WiFi sucramdi PowerPC Macs 5 Nov 5, 2012 10:37 AM
Wifi problems Matt8045 iOS 6 0 Oct 20, 2012 01:05 PM
iPhone 5 wifi problems Rubenk iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Oct 8, 2012 10:02 AM
Wifi problems ajbarrows MacBook Pro 3 Oct 3, 2012 10:06 PM
Wifi Problems Still!!! mkd79 iOS 6 13 Sep 20, 2012 07:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC