Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2009, 09:44 PM   #1
brandonjb85
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
{eMac} Can't get it to boot from CD

Hello I bought a eMac from a teacher of mine and he gave me everything for it. I have had for several months and I am wanting to reinstall OS 10.4 on it and I can't get it to boot from the CD. I have put the first disc in and held down "c" key and nothing it ejects it and continues to load up can some one help me?
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2009, 06:14 AM   #2
Patmn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, ON
The CD drive in these eMacs are very prone to failure, try to see if you can get the DVD instead. The CD drive in mine no longer works, but DVDs will still work.
__________________
1.25 GHz eMac, 1.5 GB RAM, Leopard
iPhone 3G
Mac user since 1992
Patmn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2009, 05:11 PM   #3
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
It's got a new dvd drive in it.
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 03:12 PM   #4
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Still can't get it boot from cd I am really needing help
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 03:58 PM   #5
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
first i hope your new drive is mac compatible as thats very important
http://forums.xlr8yourmac.com/drived....drivedb.lasso
i assume you got the grey discs so put it into the drive when osx is running and press install
that should work too

i hope you have pressed the "c" long enough right from startup not later at some point as its surprising how long that takes to has effect , basically you absolutly need to hold down the key already before hitting the start button and hold it until something is happening if really nothing then


try booting to open firmware (Apple-Option-O-F) and passing the command:

0> boot cd

Or, if that doesn't respond/work, try:

0> boot cdrom

Or, if that doesn't respond/work, try:

0> boot dvd

Those may force the computer to poll the cdrom/optical drive for bootable volumes


but when i reinstalled tiger on my eMac it took me about 20 attempts with the c key to get it booting...maybe a safety feature to make sure you really want to reinstall..dont know
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Dec 26, 2009 at 04:34 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 04:36 PM   #6
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I hold down the c key with or without the disc and nothing happens. It just sits there when the cd is in and spins and spins and spins then ejects. See I am not using a normal mac keyboard its a logitech keyboard it has control alt windows key so which of them would i need for option and apple?
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 04:59 PM   #7
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
that may cause the problem
but i never used a pc keyboard on a mac (bought for my emac the usb alloy keyboard from apple and on my other macs i use the apple pro- keyboard )

but usually the windows (on some keyboards also "start")key triggers "command"
and ALT key triggers "option"


btw i hope you dont use a wireless keyboard with usb dongle
or a ps2 keyboard with usb adapter as it wont work at startup
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Dec 26, 2009 at 05:18 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 10:44 PM   #8
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
that may cause the problem
but i never used a pc keyboard on a mac (bought for my emac the usb alloy keyboard from apple and on my other macs i use the apple pro- keyboard )

but usually the windows (on some keyboards also "start")key triggers "command"
and ALT key triggers "option"


btw i hope you dont use a wireless keyboard with usb dongle
or a ps2 keyboard with usb adapter as it wont work at startup
Nope I use a plan jane wireless keyboard know i do have a wireless mouse but yeah hold the c key down and nothing even when i restart it from the log in screen and hold the c key own just nothing wiht or without a cd
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 10:48 PM   #9
thiagos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC (Manhattan)
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonjb85 View Post
Hello I bought a eMac from a teacher of mine and he gave me everything for it. I have had for several months and I am wanting to reinstall OS 10.4 on it and I can't get it to boot from the CD. I have put the first disc in and held down "c" key and nothing it ejects it and continues to load up can some one help me?
Try holding the X key..

Check this out

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=9911951
__________________
Proud New Yorker
thiagos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 01:20 AM   #10
irontony
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Zealand
The eMac has a new DVD Drive in it?
eMac's are quite a few years old so that DVD Drive must have been installed recently?

When I installed a new DVD Drive into my eMac I did not select the correct IDE setting so I couldnt boot from CD/DVD either. Perhaps whoever installed it did the same thing? I dont remember whether I had to choose master/slave/ cable select?

The other problem I had is that the firmware had a security lock in place that prevented you from booting from a Install Disc. But you would know it, as a strange symbol would appear on the screen if you did.

Just my experience

Peace
__________________
Macbook Pro 13" (2010) 2.4GHz, 10.8.2, 4GB Ram, 500GB 7200rpm - Tower Quad 2.83GHz, 10.8.2, 8GB Ram, GTX560 non-Ti version
irontony is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 02:36 AM   #11
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
first i hope your new drive is mac compatible as thats very important
http://forums.xlr8yourmac.com/drived....drivedb.lasso
i assume you got the grey discs so put it into the drive when osx is running and press install
that should work too

i hope you have pressed the "c" long enough right from startup not later at some point as its surprising how long that takes to has effect , basically you absolutly need to hold down the key already before hitting the start button and hold it until something is happening if really nothing then


try booting to open firmware (Apple-Option-O-F) and passing the command:

0> boot cd

Or, if that doesn't respond/work, try:

0> boot cdrom

Or, if that doesn't respond/work, try:

0> boot dvd

Those may force the computer to poll the cdrom/optical drive for bootable volumes


but when i reinstalled tiger on my eMac it took me about 20 attempts with the c key to get it booting...maybe a safety feature to make sure you really want to reinstall..dont know
Okay I did all three and the only one that got a response is a boot cd when i tried the other two i got a gray screen with a circle and a line through it. When I did boot cd with the cd in it siad it couldn't boot from cd so what should I do? Should i go on mac sales and get a different cd/dvd drive for it? This is what the emac says it has when I go to the info about the emac.

Quote:
PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D:

Model: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-116D
Revision: 1.04
Detachable Drive: No
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 06:10 PM   #12
hughvane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Banks Peninsula, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonjb85 View Post
When I did boot cd with the cd in it said it couldn't boot from cd so what should I do? Should i go on mac sales and get a different cd/dvd drive for it? This is what the emac says it has when I go to the info about the emac.
That Pioneer drive should be A1+, and I doubt the problem is with the wireless keyboard.

From what you've posted, and from what others have replied, I suspect the boot disk. MacHamster has mentioned the issue of grey disks, which are machine-specific, so I hope you've been given the correct ones.

Covering possibilities, and someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought Tiger (retail) came on DVD only. What are the specs of your eMac? Only the very last model of eMac, the 1.42, came with Tiger already installed [source: Mactracker].
__________________
G4 eMac 1.25, 2 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.11
G3 iMac 600, 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.3.9
G3 PPC 350 b/w, dual drives, OS 10.3.9, OS 9.2.2
Numerous peripheral gadgets - all working.
hughvane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 06:20 PM   #13
brandonjb85
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Well I am moving on from trying to run them. I got a dmg file of mac os x 10.5 and I am trying to burn it to the dvd+r dl and it keeps ejecting them I am hoping to get a usb dvd player and fixing the problem. Or I am gonna use a usb hard drive to try to install it.
brandonjb85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 06:41 PM   #14
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonjb85 View Post
Well I am moving on from trying to run them. I got a dmg file of mac os x 10.5 and I am trying to burn it to the dvd+r dl and it keeps ejecting them I am hoping to get a usb dvd player and fixing the problem. Or I am gonna use a usb hard drive to try to install it.
so now you want hep with piracy too?
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2009, 07:16 PM   #15
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
you can not install from a usb drive only from firewire
my guess is the same master slave cable select i think its master
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid-2010 MBP can't boot anymore. Boot screen with progress bar David2144 MacBook Pro 2 Oct 23, 2014 07:33 AM
eMac won't boot OS9.2.2 disc nimraynn PowerPC Macs 5 Dec 1, 2013 10:50 PM
eMac 10.5.8 boot time Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 11 Oct 19, 2013 10:51 AM
2011 iMac will not boot past white screen, ignores all boot options Glass! iMac 8 Oct 2, 2012 05:46 PM
eMac won't boot, even from original Software Install DVD jrippon PowerPC Macs 5 Sep 6, 2012 04:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC