Why is there no HDMI input on the iMac!? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 23, 2009, 07:50 AM   #1
agr5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Why is there no HDMI input on the iMac!?

I really want to buy a 27" iMac i5 but I am not going to do so until Apple puts a HDMI input on the machine. I feel that it is unacceptable that they didn't include one already. I mean the screen is gorgeous and should be able to be used for a display for a HDMI device.

Apple put HDMI input on the iMac!!!! and I would gladly spend $2000+ on your machine
agr5 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 07:58 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Then you'll probably have to wait forever.

DisplayPort is more advanced than HDMI so Apple won't jump on that technology.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:00 AM   #3
BaldiMac
macrumors 604
 
BaldiMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Buy an adaptor.

Last edited by BaldiMac; Dec 23, 2009 at 08:06 AM.
BaldiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:02 AM   #4
bigjnyc
macrumors 68040
 
bigjnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Apple made the decision to go with displayport sorry. Look for an alternative monitor with HDMI, there are plenty on the market.
bigjnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:04 AM   #5
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjnyc View Post
Apple made the decision to go with displayport sorry. Look for an alternative monitor with HDMI, there are plenty on the market.
I know there are plenty on the market... Thats why I don't know why Apple won't do it.
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:04 AM   #6
BaldiMac
macrumors 604
 
BaldiMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjnyc View Post
Apple made the decision to go with displayport sorry. Look for an alternative monitor with HDMI, there are plenty on the market.
That's just silly. An adaptor is $12.
BaldiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:06 AM   #7
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Then you'll probably have to wait forever.

DisplayPort is more advanced than HDMI so Apple won't jump on that technology.
If it's more advanced then why can't I run a PS3, 360 or Bluray player through it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaldiMac View Post
That's just silly. An adaptor is $12.
I don't think a $12 adapter will allow you to run a PS3 on the display...

Last edited by WildCowboy; Dec 23, 2009 at 12:02 PM. Reason: post merge
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:06 AM   #8
BaldiMac
macrumors 604
 
BaldiMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr5 View Post
I don't think a $12 adapter will allow you to run a PS3 on the display...
Why not?
BaldiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:08 AM   #9
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaldiMac View Post
Why not?
If it will then why is there a huge thread of people trying to figure out how to use the iMac as a display for a ps3, 360 or bluray player?? I would think a $12 adapter would have been tried already.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=806175
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:11 AM   #10
themoonisdown09
macrumors 601
 
themoonisdown09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Georgia, USA
Did you happen to look at the end of the thread you posted? This Engadget article link was posted:

http://www.engadget.com/2009/12/15/b...mini-displayp/
themoonisdown09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 08:14 AM   #11
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by themoonisdown09 View Post
Did you happen to look at the end of the thread you posted? This Engadget article link was posted:

http://www.engadget.com/2009/12/15/b...mini-displayp/
I did see that, but there isn't a release date or price... Why can't apple just include this feature instead of having to spend more money on a third party solution.
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 09:49 AM   #12
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr5 View Post
Why can't apple just include this feature instead of having to spend more money on a third party solution.
Probably because Apple would rather put its weight behind a royalty-free standard like DisplayPort than a royalty-due one like HDMI.
__________________
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 09:52 AM   #13
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dejo View Post
Probably because Apple would rather put its weight behind a royalty-free standard like DisplayPort than a royalty-due one like HDMI.
Alright well, if they don't want to use HDMI, then at least make it easy to use the computer as a display.
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 10:10 AM   #14
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Why should they? You seem to have a very strong sense of how things "should" be.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 10:14 AM   #15
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Why should they? You seem to have a very strong sense of how things "should" be.
Um...okay Whats wrong with that?

And I only said "should" once

Quote:
I mean the screen is gorgeous and should be able to be used for a display for a HDMI device.
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 10:20 AM   #16
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Because you also don't seem to accept that other people feel differently, especially those that can do anything about the situation. If you really wanted an HDMI input on your machine, you shouldn't have bought an iMac. It's not like it was a secret that there's no HDMI.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 10:23 AM   #17
agr5
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
Because you also don't seem to accept that other people feel differently, especially those that can do anything about the situation. If you really wanted an HDMI input on your machine, you shouldn't have bought an iMac. It's not like it was a secret that there's no HDMI.
Did you even read the OP? It clearly states I want to purchase one, not that I did purchase one...

Also, if other people don't want to use the computer as a display for PS3, 360 or bluray player they don't have too. I just think it should be an option.
agr5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 10:33 AM   #18
Yvan256
macrumors 601
 
Yvan256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
The main thing is, a monitor usually lasts a lot longer than a computer. Given the size of the display on the iMacs, a video input to use the iMac as a monitor would be a green option, i.e. recycle your iMac into a monitor.
Yvan256 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 11:18 AM   #19
trip1ex
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
hdmi is a bag of hurt.
trip1ex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 11:24 AM   #20
God of Biscuits
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr5 View Post
I really want to buy a 27" iMac i5 but I am not going to do so until Apple puts a HDMI input on the machine. I feel that it is unacceptable that they didn't include one already. I mean the screen is gorgeous and should be able to be used for a display for a HDMI device.

Apple put HDMI input on the iMac!!!! and I would gladly spend $2000+ on your machine
Seriously? You're going to hold off on buying an entire computer because you can't use it as monitor for your TiVo?
God of Biscuits is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 12:09 PM   #21
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr5 View Post
I really want to buy a 27" iMac i5 but I am not going to do so until Apple puts a HDMI input on the machine. I feel that it is unacceptable that they didn't include one already. I mean the screen is gorgeous and should be able to be used for a display for a HDMI device.

Apple put HDMI input on the iMac!!!! and I would gladly spend $2000+ on your machine
That's the beauty of the displayport you can you any connection you want.
want VGA...got it
want DVI...got it
want HDMI...got it (use a DVI to HDMI adapter)

Apple doesn't want a hundred different connects on the back of an iMac.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 12:21 PM   #22
strike1555
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
DisplayPort is the biggest failure Apple has signed on to, almost as big of a failure as firewire.

No control via CEC (one of the most innovative features of HDMI), no YCC, and piss poor bandwidth (LOL, 8.6 gb maximum at only 2 meters?).

HDMI 1.3a trounces the junk that is called DisplayPort. Expect Apple to move over soon, when they also add Blu Ray.

Apple fails miserably in the home theater department.
strike1555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 12:25 PM   #23
StruckANerve
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Quote:
Originally Posted by skubish View Post
That's the beauty of the displayport you can you any connection you want.
want VGA...got it
want DVI...got it
want HDMI...got it (use a DVI to HDMI adapter)

Apple doesn't want a hundred different connects on the back of an iMac.
Some people would like to be able to hear what they're watching.
StruckANerve is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 12:41 PM   #24
Badger^2
macrumors 68000
 
Badger^2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike1555 View Post
DisplayPort is the biggest failure Apple has signed on to, almost as big of a failure as firewire.

No control via CEC (one of the most innovative features of HDMI), no YCC, and piss poor bandwidth (LOL, 8.6 gb maximum at only 2 meters?).

HDMI 1.3a trounces the junk that is called DisplayPort. Expect Apple to move over soon, when they also add Blu Ray.

Apple fails miserably in the home theater department.
LOL. Maybe cause they dont want to be in the home theater market where you can buy a "home theater system!" for $99 at wal*mart
__________________
27" 2.93 iMac/24 gigs/1 TB+24" Dell 2405
24" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/640 gig+20" Dell 2405
20" 2.4 iMac/4 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2001
20" 2.13 iMac/3 gigs/320 gig+20" Dell 2007
Badger^2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2009, 12:44 PM   #25
JamesGorman
macrumors 65816
 
JamesGorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike1555 View Post
DisplayPort is the biggest failure Apple has signed on to, almost as big of a failure as firewire.

No control via CEC (one of the most innovative features of HDMI), no YCC, and piss poor bandwidth (LOL, 8.6 gb maximum at only 2 meters?).

HDMI 1.3a trounces the junk that is called DisplayPort. Expect Apple to move over soon, when they also add Blu Ray.

Apple fails miserably in the home theater department.
I semi agree with you.
1. How is firewire a failure? I dont mind it, but I think it will become obsolete after usb 3.0 is out. Or at the very least FW will be on the way out.
2. HDMI 1.3 has only a 10.x GB/s Bandwidth, which compared to MDP isnt that much better. And I believe technologies aren't even using that much yet. (Besides maybe, 1080P at 240Hz, which isnt even at 10 GB/s I believe).The apple display is not 240Hz, so that argument becomes non existent.
3. I completely agree about wanting to have an all in one audio/video connection too, and thats the only knock I have on MDP. MDP can do audio too, but apple has turned it off. If they activated it, with firmware possibly, than MDP would be no different that HDMI..Besides if intel has its way, LightPeak will be a standard in a few years to come. For now if you need HDMI, get a connector, and if audio was a huge deal to you anyway, youd use an optical connection.
JamesGorman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best HDMI input available? Andy Greenow Digital Video 6 Feb 26, 2014 10:21 AM
HDMI input to a 2013 iMac 27? sinitry23 iMac 3 Oct 24, 2013 09:30 PM
Video (HDMI) input through Thunderbolt - Will it ever be possible? MacRazySwe iMac 17 Aug 29, 2013 02:53 AM
HDMI Input on MBP 13" rawfuls MacBook Pro 6 Jan 26, 2013 10:40 AM
Will my Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) do HDMI input (With a moshi HDMI adapter?) MarkGibbons Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 6, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC