Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rkitect

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2009
Hi all,

I am a PC using architect and I am looking to change my battered old HP for a spankin' new Apple iMac. However, I have a slight dilemma in choosing between a new 21.5in standard model or a 24in model which is on sale at my local PCWorld.

Now, I am not much of a techie for want of a better word so I would really appreciate your input on the specifications as shown below and the screen quality etc. I will mostly be using Autocad 2010, 3D Viz and Photoshop.

New 21.5in Standard Model Specs:-
* 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
* MAC OS X Snow Leopard v10.6 Operating system
* 4GB Memory
* 500GB/1TB Hard Drive
* iLife 09 pre installed
* NVIDIA GeForce 9400M Graphics Card/ATI Radeon HD graphics
* LED backlit display
* Built in iSight camera
* Slot loading SuperDrive
* Wireless Keyboard & mouse included

24in Model Specs:-
* 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
* Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard - Operating system
* 4GB Memory - Run more applications
* 640GB Hard Drive - Load up on photos,videos
* 24'' Widescreen display - Vivid colours
* NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics
* iLife 09 Software - Includes iPhoto, iMovie
* 8x double layer superdrive - DVDs slide in
* Built-in Wi-Fi - High-speed wireless
* iSight camera - iChat,iMovie or Photo Booth

Any comments you can give me will be massively appreciated!!

Cheers, Rkitect.

xSPRINTERx

macrumors regular
Dec 14, 2009
Leicester
Hi all,

I am a PC using architect and I am looking to change my battered old HP for a spankin' new Apple iMac. However, I have a slight dilemma in choosing between a new 21.5in standard model or a 24in model which is on sale at my local PCWorld.