Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 25, 2009, 08:49 PM   #1
JarinS1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Using AT&T iPhone 3GS in Australia

Hi,

I'll be working in Australia for 2 months and would like to use my U.S. AT&T iPhone 3GS as my cell phone. Can I unlock/jailbreak the phone using redsnow and use a prepaid Telstra SIM card? Are there better options?

Thanks in advance for your help!

JS
JarinS1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:08 PM   #2
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Yes.

I did the same thing not too long ago, but I already had mine jailbroken with T-Mobile here in the US. I used a Yes Optus SIM card.
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 6 16GB Space Gray Sprint::MacBook Pro 15"::iPad mini White & Silver 16GB Wi-Fi + 4G Sprint::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:14 PM   #3
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Telstra Pre-Paid? You'll be pre-paying a lot. Telstra are super expensive though the network is really good.

I'm on Optus Pre-Paid on my iPhone and get a pretty good deal out of it.

The iPhone is available on the five major networks down here and none of them will have any issue with you bringing an unlocked phone to the network.

It's expensive in comparison to the US prices but still reasonable in the grand scheme of things. Things to remember:

1. You do not pay for incoming calls or texts. Any company who tried to implement such a system would be run out of town.

2. Most plans will give you a bunch of money to spend however you want, none of this minutes + SMS stuff. Make sure you're aware of the calling and flagfall rates of all the networks so you can figure out exactly what you'll be paying.

3. There is no such thing as long distance or local calls from a mobile. All mobile phones have the same (04) prefix so you can tell if you're calling a mobile and calls within Australia are the same price regardless of origin.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:26 PM   #4
rtc872
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I've just unlocked my phone and am using a vodafone sum but the 3g won't work. Only edge. I am looking for a fix. Does anyone else have an idea.

So my advice would be to go with optus.
rtc872 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:30 PM   #5
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtc872 View Post
I've just unlocked my phone and am using a vodafone sum but the 3g won't work. Only edge. I am looking for a fix. Does anyone else have an idea.

So my advice would be to go with optus.
Where are you? Voda's 3G network is terrible outside of major cities.

Telstra have a network that covers about 98% of the population and goes up to 21Mbps.

Optus goes to maybe 14Mbps (Maybe 7.2Mbps) and covers about 96% but costs about a third of what Telstra charge.

Virgin piggy-backs off Optus.

Voda have terrible 3G but it's growing, they do have the advantage of their own edge network though.

3 have reasonable 3G coverage, great prices but once you're off their 3G network you roam on Telstra 2G at about a million billion dollars a bit.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:42 PM   #6
rtc872
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I'm in bowral between Canberra and Sydney. I have just heard that my problem may be that I need to set the apn. All I know is that despite telstra's speed the cost is rediculous.
rtc872 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 09:45 PM   #7
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtc872 View Post
I'm in bowral between Canberra and Sydney. I have just heard that my problem may be that I need to set the apn. All I know is that despite telstra's speed the cost is rediculous.
That's where my family is from, I get decent Optus 3G in town but I'm pretty sure there's no Vodafone 3G in the highlands.

Telstra's cost is indeed "rediculous" (spelt ridiculous by the way )

EDIT: Voda shows the whole of the highlands covered (I think it's a load of bollocks) but it shows 2100MHz 3G coverage almost everywhere until you get south of Mossy.

Check your network settings, you may need to reset them.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 12:17 AM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Where are you? Voda's 3G network is terrible outside of major cities.

Telstra have a network that covers about 98% of the population and goes up to 21Mbps.

Optus goes to maybe 14Mbps (Maybe 7.2Mbps) and covers about 96% but costs about a third of what Telstra charge.

Virgin piggy-backs off Optus.

Voda have terrible 3G but it's growing, they do have the advantage of their own edge network though.

3 have reasonable 3G coverage, great prices but once you're off their 3G network you roam on Telstra 2G at about a million billion dollars a bit.
21 Mb/s??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! I wish I would fly over there and use my iPhone to experience it.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2009, 07:40 PM   #9
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
21 Mb/s??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! I wish I would fly over there and use my iPhone to experience it.
The iPhone 3GS only supports 7.2Mbps.

21Mbps is available in the capital cities and only with 3G modems for computers. It's pretty quick though.

They're going to 42Mbps sometime this year.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 11:21 AM   #10
JarinS1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Wow! Thanks for all of the advice! Much appreciated!
JarinS1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 04:05 PM   #11
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
The iPhone 3GS only supports 7.2Mbps.

21Mbps is available in the capital cities and only with 3G modems for computers. It's pretty quick though.

They're going to 42Mbps sometime this year.
That's the point, trying to use it at full 7.2Mb/s.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2010, 06:32 AM   #12
surroundfan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Telstra Pre-Paid? You'll be pre-paying a lot. Telstra are super expensive though the network is really good.

I'm on Optus Pre-Paid on my iPhone and get a pretty good deal out of it.

The iPhone is available on the five major networks down here and none of them will have any issue with you bringing an unlocked phone to the network.

It's expensive in comparison to the US prices but still reasonable in the grand scheme of things. Things to remember:

1. You do not pay for incoming calls or texts. Any company who tried to implement such a system would be run out of town.

2. Most plans will give you a bunch of money to spend however you want, none of this minutes + SMS stuff. Make sure you're aware of the calling and flagfall rates of all the networks so you can figure out exactly what you'll be paying.

3. There is no such thing as long distance or local calls from a mobile. All mobile phones have the same (04) prefix so you can tell if you're calling a mobile and calls within Australia are the same price regardless of origin.
Eh? Telstra expensive on prepaid? It's actually one of the great bargains in Australian mobile telephony...

For $40 every 30 days on Talk and Text, I get:
- 150 minutes (none of the 'spend $20, get $100 credit* *$90 for calls to other mobile users with us, $10 for calls to anyone, calls charged at $1/min, 50c flagfall' crap that plagues another carrier that springs to mind)
- 150 SMS
- the ability to use the $40 credit to buy data packs totalling 400MB (100MB/$10) (you need to access voicemail by dialling your own number though)
- free tethering to burn through those data packs
- unused credit and bonuses rolling over provided I recharge before 30 days
- access to the only 850MHz 3G network in Australia (which means 3G pretty much everywhere, and significantly better battery life from not switching between 2G and 3G).

It's actually difficult to find a better deal than Telstra pre-paid IMO.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro: 13" 2.5GHz 8GB RAM 256GB SSD; Mac mini: i5 2.3GHz 8GB RAM 240GB SSD and 500GB HDD; iMac: G4 17" 1.25GHz 2GB RAM 160GB HDD; iPhone: iPhone 5 32GB; iPad mini 64GB LTE

Last edited by surroundfan; Jan 7, 2010 at 06:52 AM.
surroundfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 02:47 AM   #13
HeyheyHi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I am in a similar situation and will be moving to sydney for 12 months. I'm still in the states. How do I unlock my ATT iPhone? Will I still be able to use it here once I unlock it?

Also what is a pretty good plan I can get on in Sydney for phone and data? I'm willing to spend around $75 a month. I'll be doing some domestic and international travel while I'm there.

Thank you soooo much for any help and advice you can share!! Thanks!!
HeyheyHi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 05:01 AM   #14
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Or you could get an official unlock from one of the tele company there.
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 12:29 PM   #15
AppleHack23
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
No he can't, he has to Jailbreak and unlock to unlock the phone. The foreign carrier will not unlock the iPhone. iPhones can only be unlocked by the carrier they are purchased from, in the country they are purchased in, and that country has to have a law against selling phones locked, or if they offer a factory unlock. AT&T does not offer this.
AppleHack23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 01:08 AM   #16
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleHack23 View Post
No he can't, he has to Jailbreak and unlock to unlock the phone. The foreign carrier will not unlock the iPhone. iPhones can only be unlocked by the carrier they are purchased from, in the country they are purchased in, and that country has to have a law against selling phones locked, or if they offer a factory unlock. AT&T does not offer this.
Weird. They asked if my iphones need to be unlock or not when i walked in to get a prepaid card from Vodaphone. They say they can do it for me. But my phone is already unlock so i said no.

According to Apple's website, Australia company is allow to unlock iphone.
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 02:06 AM   #17
aki
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Japan
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by gngan View Post
According to Apple's website, Australia company is allow to unlock iphone.
Ok hang on I want to make sure I got this right. I'm currently in Japan with a 3GS. What you are saying means when I go to Australia, I can waltz up to a phone store and say "Please unlock this for me, I wanna sign up with yer network" and they'll do it? No jailbreak/yada necessary?

Coz that would be cooooool.
aki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 08:34 PM   #18
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by aki View Post
Ok hang on I want to make sure I got this right. I'm currently in Japan with a 3GS. What you are saying means when I go to Australia, I can waltz up to a phone store and say "Please unlock this for me, I wanna sign up with yer network" and they'll do it? No jailbreak/yada necessary?

Coz that would be cooooool.
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1937

Click Asia-Pacific and look at Australia. It says, "Carrier offers
authorized unlocking".
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 01:49 PM   #19
jrm27
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
This is intersting! So, I'll be travelign to Australia the first week of July and will have a 3g that is no longer activated on ATT since I'll have my iphone 4 by then.

I'd like to be able to have a phone to use while over there that I can call back home on (probably skype or something) as well as tether up to my netbook if needed. So would I be able to walk up to a store (or whatever) and have them unlock my phone and put a pre-paid SIM in there? Would I lose all my contacts and apps with the new SIM?

I woudl imagine that woudl have to be cheaper than using ATT and international voice and data rates....
__________________
Flickr
jrm27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 01:19 PM   #20
donmr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gngan View Post
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1937

Click Asia-Pacific and look at Australia. It says, "Carrier offers
authorized unlocking".
I would be very surprised if they would unlock an AT&T iphone. Don't count on this unless you contact the Australian carrier and have them confirm the unlock. I think they can only unlock iPhones sold in Australia.
I have several iPhones including 2 with AT&T for use in USA and a couple with Telstra in Australia. I had no luck getting my AT&T iphones unlocked in Sydney.

this from the Vodaphone site in Australia...

Vodafone can only unlock devices purchased from a Vodafone outlet in Australia.

Your device may be locked to the Vodafone Australia network. If you wish to use your mobile on other networks, Vodafone will supply your device unlock code.

There may be a charge associated with unlocking your device.

The unlock code can be obtained online via the vodafone.com.au/unlock website or by calling Vodafone on 1555 or dialling 1300650410 and selecting the device unlock option. Both options require you to have a credit card to make the payment. Accepted cards are Visa, MasterCard, AMEX, Diners.

Issues Unlocking?

If you experience any issues once the Handset Unlock instruction page is presented, please click on the grey 'Difficulties' button to submit your issue for resolution by the Unlock team.

By requesting to have your device unlocked online you'll save $25 on any unlocking fees.

The unlock fee is structured as follows for devices:

A basic fee of $50 to unlock the device at any time, reduced to $25 if you obtain your unlock code using Vodafone's website at vodafone.com.au/unlock. Plus additional $50 to unlock your device within six months of purchase.

See below for AppleŽ iPhone™ 3G Unlocking.

If AppleŽ iPhone™ 3G is less than 6 months old and if:

Unlock is via self-service on website, the charge is $75 dollars

Customer care completes unlock request, the charge is $100 dollars

If AppleŽ iPhone™ 3G is Older than 6 months and if:

Unlock is via self-service on website, then charge is $25 dollars

Customer care completes unlock request, the charge is $50 dollars

For Prepaid Mobile Broadband Customers:

If you unlock your Prepaid Mobile Broadband device online within the first six months of purchase, your unlock fee will be $75.

If you unlock your Prepaid Mobile Broadband device online at any time after the first six months of purchase, your unlock fee will be $25.

Please Note: The Blackberry Storm is locked to the Vodafone network and cannot be unlocked.

Last edited by donmr; Jun 14, 2010 at 01:37 PM.
donmr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 07:13 PM   #21
nebo1ss
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm27 View Post
This is intersting! So, I'll be travelign to Australia the first week of July and will have a 3g that is no longer activated on ATT since I'll have my iphone 4 by then.

I'd like to be able to have a phone to use while over there that I can call back home on (probably skype or something) as well as tether up to my netbook if needed. So would I be able to walk up to a store (or whatever) and have them unlock my phone and put a pre-paid SIM in there? Would I lose all my contacts and apps with the new SIM?

I woudl imagine that woudl have to be cheaper than using ATT and international voice and data rates....
Carriers can only unlock phones locked to their network. Vodaphone Australia cannot lock an ATT phone or any other carriers phones.
nebo1ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use AT&T iPhone in Australia--options? hoffmant iPhone 2 Jul 18, 2013 08:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC