Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 27, 2009, 08:51 PM   #1
celticpride678
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Switches Spaces freezes computer

I have noticed that since upgrading to 10.6.2, I have had an issue with Spaces. Let me try to explain as well as I can. Here it goes:

When switching Spaces, you'll get that little image on the bottom, telling you which space you just switched to. However, sometimes, when switching spaces on SL 10.6.2, that little image will stay there and no disappear like it should. When it just stays there, the entire keyboard stops working because Mac OS X still thinks I am performing the Spaces switch. A logout is required.

Does anyone have any ideas/fixes for this? It happens a lot

Running 10.6.2 with all updates applied.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 09:08 PM   #2
Simplicated
macrumors 65816
 
Simplicated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON
Same problem I am experiencing.

Normally I would go to Secrets.prefPane and kill the Dock there.

This had never happened to me in Leopard (And I start to think Leopard is much better).
Simplicated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2009, 10:08 PM   #3
celticpride678
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Does anyone think that applying the latest Combo Updater might fix it?
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2009, 08:35 AM   #4
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
When 10.6.3 comes out, maybe.

Reapplying the 10.6.2 updater probably won't fix it. I've seen several threads on problems with Spaces and Snow.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2009, 01:27 PM   #5
celticpride678
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg2 View Post
When 10.6.3 comes out, maybe.

Reapplying the 10.6.2 updater probably won't fix it. I've seen several threads on problems with Spaces and Snow.
It kinda stinks and 10.6.3 is far away
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2009, 04:59 PM   #6
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Not so far, really.

Patience!
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:18 AM   #7
monti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by celticpride678 View Post
It kinda stinks and 10.6.3 is far away
10.6.3 is out, and the bug is still there. Doh.
monti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2010, 01:32 PM   #8
devaler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Verified

Quote:
Originally Posted by monti View Post
10.6.3 is out, and the bug is still there. Doh.
Same here. I've discovered unplugging my keyboard and plugging it back in will fix it temporarily. It's not an ideal solution, but for now it will do.

Question: for those of us having this issue, are you running any java programs?
devaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2010, 04:45 PM   #9
celticpride678
Thread Starter
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by devaler View Post
Same here. I've discovered unplugging my keyboard and plugging it back in will fix it temporarily. It's not an ideal solution, but for now it will do.

Question: for those of us having this issue, are you running any java programs?
I have not had the issue since 10.6.3 was released, but that might be just for me.
celticpride678 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 07:13 PM   #10
Stevamundo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Startly idiots keeping erasing this message from me on their forum

I was simply trying to inform people, that if you have QK X3 3.2.3 that you should go back to it. At least for me 3.2.3, spaces and Snow Leopard works perfectly. I think there's something wrong with QK 4.0.7.

Basically that's all I said and they kept erasing my message, IDIOTS!

Also I got an e-mail from them basically blaming Snow Leopard for the bug.
__________________
Steve Harper-Webmaster: http://madentec.com/intro/
Get the latest and greatest in assistive technology.
Stevamundo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 01:41 AM   #11
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
I am still having this problem as of 10.6.5. Does anyone know of a workaround? It is very annoying.

Basically when switching spaces, as described, the space graphic which shows which space has been moved to freezes and wont disappear and the keyboard freezes and wont allow any input at all.

Although using fast user switching rectifies the problem it is not an ideal fix at all and this problem happens a lot, albeit at seemingly random times.

Any ideas?
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2011, 07:47 PM   #12
Phasma Felis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Closing and re-opening the lid on a MacBook breaks it out of this state, as does opening Activity Monitor and killing the dock. Neither one is at all optimal.

The closest I've found to a practical solution is to install Hyperspaces and use its keyboard shortcuts, disabling the native Spaces shortcuts. It's stupid, but it works.
Phasma Felis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2011, 10:04 AM   #13
kdum8
macrumors 6502a
 
kdum8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phasma Felis View Post
Closing and re-opening the lid on a MacBook breaks it out of this state, as does opening Activity Monitor and killing the dock. Neither one is at all optimal.

The closest I've found to a practical solution is to install Hyperspaces and use its keyboard shortcuts, disabling the native Spaces shortcuts. It's stupid, but it works.
Thanks for the tip about closing the lid. I am amazed that there isn't more of an uproar about this. I guess that it isn't happening to that many people or this would have been fixed by now. It makes my mac somewhat unusable though.

Is Hyperspaces any good?
__________________
15" MBP 4.1, 2.5 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM 750GB HD, OS 10.8.3 - iPad 3. iOS 6.1.3 - iPad Nano 6G.
Have a question? First run a search!
kdum8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer freezes if update - so ipad cannot connect to Itunes , HELP globalmark Mac Basics and Help 0 Dec 7, 2013 02:33 AM
streaming video constantly freezes computer gitrjnke MacBook Pro 3 Dec 3, 2013 02:49 PM
Computer consistently freezes within 10 minutes MCabZ Mac Basics and Help 4 Jun 8, 2013 01:58 AM
Little switches on the Mobo gorgiopro MacBook Pro 4 Jan 16, 2013 03:11 AM
iPad switches off randomly. gponter79 iPad Accessories 1 Jul 23, 2012 03:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC