Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

taran420

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 8, 2008
Toronto, Canada
So I will be switching to a Mac for the very first time and am looking at buying a 13inch MBP

Should I buy the low end 13inch or the higher end? i dont care about the space, but the RAM and proceesor is better in the higher end. Does it really make that much of a difference? Im a uni student that will be using it to do normal things, play music, web browse, homework and stuff

thanks

and is it truly worth waiting till jan 26 (speculation i know) for the lower end model?

kellen

macrumors 68020
Aug 11, 2006
Seattle, WA
What is or isn't released is anyones guess on January 26.

That said, the base one is fine. The extra mhz aren't worth it. But the ram separately and upgrade it yourself, its easy to do.

tersono

macrumors 68000
Jan 18, 2005
UK
Standard answer. If you need it now, buy it now. If you don't need it until February, wait.

Whatever you buy is going to be outdated in a few months anyhow, so just quit worrying and get what you need.

As to which one to get the low end model should be more than powerful enough for the vast majority of tasks - even stuff like Photoshop. I'd suggest low end - add RAM later if you feel the need.

DOUGHNUT

macrumors regular
Jan 8, 2006
low end, high end, it really won't make much of a difference in terms of real world usage unless you do heavy processing-intensive work or gaming. Get the computer with the largest amount of memory you can afford and in terms of processors, any thing out there right now will perform respectably. having a 2.5 ghz C2D or an i5 down the line really won't let you surf the web any faster than a 2.26 ghz C2D

thegoldenmackid

macrumors 604
Dec 29, 2006
dallas, texas